Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asian Steamed Dumpling Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asian Steamed Dumpling Filling

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2010

      These were just fantastic. For me they were quick to put together but I am use to making my dumplings for wonton soup so it didnt seem like too much work. I had cut the recipe in half because we were only two and I just wanted some to go with some lo mein soup for lunch. I had made the sauce and I also made some Peanut Sauce using Chinese Peanut Sauce (excellent) For the soya dipping sauce I had put all the ingredients in a mason jar and just shook it really well, turned out alot easier than just whisking it. For the dumpling mix I had put it in my small food processor and mixed for about 30 seconds. Turned out really well. I had sprayed Pam on the plate so while I was making them they wouldnt stick to the plate. When I was ready to steam them I sprayed the Pam on the steamer and the top of the dumplings. Steamed them in two batches and that worked out fantastic, nothing sticked anywhere. I really loved the taste of these dumplings, just the right amount of everything. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks so much for sharing Pot Scrubber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      i added an 1/8ts. of "Five Spice" to the mixture.... added some extra zip to these

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Pre-review ... Ok, I did taste, just haven't sat down for dinner yet. Ok, I made both your dipping sauce and French Bunny's Peanut Sauce. I figured I would make all the dumplings, and freeze the rest. I also had some leftover pulled pork (no sauce), so I figured I would add it along with some cabbage and some of the others toppings. Why not, I had just about 1 cup in the freezer so why not use it up. I made one already, steamed in just a small sauce pan and tried the sauce. Absolutely great! They were actually very easy to make, but I have made dumplings and ravioli many times, so not hard at all. I folded my up like a little triangle, and some like a Hersheys kiss,but you can fold any shape you want. Adding cabbage worked very well too, not too much, but very good. One note ... when I added the cabbage, I chopped mine separately, because it does have some water and I did not want the rest to become watery. I took the cabbage out after a rough chop and set on a paper towel to drain or dry then added to the pork and shrimp mix. I did make some exactly to your directions and from my taste test. EXCELLENT. I don't have a chinese steamer, but a metal one which fans out over a sauce pan. Added the dumplings and covered with a regular lid. No big deal. I got my fan steamer at Walmart for 2 or 3 dollars and use it all the time. I love it. Anyone can make these and I am looking forward to dinner tonight. A neighbor may stop over, so looking for having some good taste testing! I will definitely make these again. Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I loved these and so did my husband. Really not that hard to make, just got to make sure not to overstuff them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      These were much easier to make than I thought they would be. They were restaurant quality, inexpensive to make & very yummy! I made these for our Christmas eve dinner & they were a hit. I will be making these again & again, thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Thought this recipe was fantastic, and not too hard! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      These were very light and a super fun hubby and wife dinner project. The only thing I would recommend is reducing the dipping sauce to half, a third or even a quarter. With all 48 of the pot stickers dipped in sauce we still had 1.5 cups that went to waste. I'm guessing since the recipe came from a restaurant they make so much because one recipe's worth of stickers is probably 8 or 9 appetizers, each served with their own bowl of sauce. Sauce was a little bland, tasting mostly like soy sauce, will probably add some minced garlic next time. Still the filling was delicious. Steaming them was easier than I thought (I bought a chinese bamboo steamer at Ross for $6 a while back and have been waiting to use it) - less messy and more healthy than frying. Thanks for the recipe, and tip about using Pam (store brand olive oil spray worked just as well) was a bonus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      WOW were these great!! Well worth the effort it takes to make them. I made mine the day before serving, just steaming them and then stacking them in a container with wax paper so they wouldn't stick together. Then right before serving, I browned them in a bit of veg. oil to heat them up. They were a bit hit. I'll be making these for a long time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      UM-O. These were very good. Made these for Tastebud Tickling Travellers ZWT4. We steamed them and sauteed some. They were fantastic both ways. This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I made this for a challenge in ZWT4 and they were delicious! My DH said they taste just like they do when we go out! They were easy to put together and then I steamed them in my rice cooker... Can't get much easier that that. This is a definite remake! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      DH & DS thought these were ok but not great. I had a little trouble with the first batch falling apart after cooking them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I am just thrilled beyond words with this recipe! Loved everything about it and I just can't believe I was able to make them myself. I could do a little happy dance for this one. I used my brand new bamboo steamer and just sprayed it with pam. It does take a little time to make the dumplings but it really isn't that bad. Keeper!!!! Thanks Potscrubber!! Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I used ground pork instead of shrimp, and they turned out beautifully. I do prefer the gyoza wrappers, but I can't seem to find them anywhere. Made for ZWT4 Flying Duchess'

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Outstanding. I make these regularly and steam them in a vegetable steamer for ten minutes and they come out perfect. DELICIOUS!!!! Make these now! Deceptively simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      These are addicting, for sure, and taste very gourmet without a risk of messing anything up. They are fool proof guest food! In fact, they are so tasty that I've got them on my list of appetizers to serve in April when I host a dinner/Spades group for some of my girl friends that I really want to Wow. (Yeah.. these dumplings really are THAT good).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I could live at PF Changs!! I have made these more than a few times now (including the sauce) never straying from the recipe with YUMMY results!! Your directions are clear and easy to follow. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Just made these potstickers and my husband and I think they are terrific. I jiggered the recipe a bit by adding more cilantro, green onions, ginger and carrots and a couple cloves of minced garlic and emergency substituted fish sauce for oyster sauce. The recipe made enough to put two meals worth in the freezer and for dinner tonight. What a treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Made up a 1/2 quantity of this recipe but I should have gone for the full amount the way my family kept polishing them off! I took a previous reviewer's advice and also added a pinch of 5-spice powder to the shrimp filling. The dipping sauce is divine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      These are so good and worth every bit of effort. I would suggest at least doubling the recipe as they disappear so fast. I did not make the dipping sauce as my family likes bottled Thai chili sauce. I only had dry ground ginger and used 1 tsp. instead of the fresh. I made these by throwing all the vegetables into the food processor. After they were chopped I added the shrimp( mine were precooked,) and seasonings and pulsed so the shrimp were not pulverized. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Wooohoo. These were great. I have fried the dumplings in deep oil and they were absolutely fantastic. I've made half of the recipe and the 20 fried dumplings were gone within minutes. It is worthwile to take your time to make the dumplings. I love the flavors of cilantro, ginger and sesame oil in the mix and the salty character of the sauce. I prefer them hot, but even cold they are fantastic and so they are well suited for a number of guests (heat them up in the oven). And don't forget the wine. If you made them for the first time, the wine will help you a lot to make the dumplings. Thanks for sharing this delicious snack.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asian Steamed Dumpling Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 540.3
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    43%
    Total Fat 25.8 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 86.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 2650.6 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites