Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asian Plum Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asian Plum Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2013

      I was given yellow plums and wanted to make something I could us as a gift. This was perfect. I make a Hawaiian style sauce that uses apricot preserves and will be modifying that recipe to use this sauce from now on. Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Wonderful! I have made it three times now and each has worked out beautifully. Perfect with salmon! (Either bake it in the sauce in wax paper or foil, or add a spoonful to the cooked salmon like a relish). The only thing I did differently (being very lazy) was to skip the processing (we like it lumpy) and cut out the cornstarch by slowly simmering it enough to reduce to a thick sauce. Just great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This plum sauce is so good! I made 5 batch's of it! I used pure maple syrup instead of the brown sugar as I don't like using sugar. It is a big hit with family and friends. One batch I made it with fresh squeezed OJ and rind with a hint of cloves. Love it ....Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      This sauce is to die for!! Being a real fan of plum sauce this is the best, it is hot to start with but once bottled it does mellow over time so would not recommend cutting the chillies down. Thanks so much of the recipe!! Kraus

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I used yellow plums.The ingredients are good it's just the quantity of the chilies, ginger and sugar is lacking. When the sauce was done I could not taste the ginger and it lacked sweetness and thickening.The spiciness could not be tasted. I added another 2 cups of sugar, doubled the amount of dried chilies; doubled the amount of ginger and doubled the cornstarch mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      Great flavored plum sauce! Used in recipe 137279 Thai Lettuce Wraps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Easy -- the taste is great and my kitchen smells wonderful!!! I mixed this finished sauce with a little more rice vinegar, sesame oil, and fresh cilantro and used as a salad dressing. My only question.........I made 1/2 batch and only got 2 cups.......where did the rest of mine go???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      In a word....GREAT! I serve this with my homemade lumpia shanghai and stuffed shrimp....and can never seem to put enough of this suace out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

    • on November 18, 2007

      This is so wonderful. I'm using it for my Thanksgiving turkey, but I plan to make a huge batch next year when the plums are ripe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Reduced this recipe to make 2 cups. This was really good. My dd loved it and she usually only likes the sauces that come out of a bottle at the store- grr Really really yummy Rita! Goes perfectly with your 101937 Deep Fried Tofu and I am looking forward to finding lots more uses for it! YUM Mama

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      Wonderful Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      Great recipe. I used plum juice and had to let it cook down a few hours. We had it on stir-fry veggies rolled up in a tortilla. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      We loved this! I served this with smoked tofu using Rita's Deep fried Tofu recipe, #101937. I only needed a small amount of sauce (which made for some interesting maths for some of the ingredients!), but I'll be making a big batch next time. Thanks, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      This sauce is great!! Made 6 1/2 pints. Changed the recipe a bit.Omitted the sesame oil (it was over $6 and I only needed a bit for this recipe) and there was a bit too much heat for my taste. It seemed to over ride the "pluminess" of this sauce. Sooooo added a cup of port wine to the end product to tone down the hotness and sweeten the sauce. (Next time I would halve the hot peppers.) These tasty jars will be an excellent addition to upcoming Christmas gift baskets! Thanks for posting! Barb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asian Plum Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.9
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    76%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 579.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 59.8 g
    239%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites