13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks so much for your wonderful recipe! My boyfriend and I really, really enjoyed them. I made a bunch of changes to make them Weight Watchers-friendly, and I don't think they suffered at all for it. I used 12 oz of tuna instead of 6 but kept other proportions the same. I substituted Egg Beaters for the eggs, replaced the butter with 1 tsp of olive oil (I'd probably just skip it next time), used 3/4 lowfat plain yogurt and 1/4 light mayo for the sauce, and used about 1 T of sriracha instead of the hot pepper sauce to give it more kick. I also upped the garlic powder. Even with all these changes, they were delicious. In terms of serving size, I made 8 patties and served two per serving. They worked out to 7 points, which is spot on for a Weight Watchers lunch. Thank you for a great base recipe - I'm sure they'd be even better made as directed, but I was very pleased that even with modified ingredients, they had such good flavor. My boyfriend even requested to have them again. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilverOpera October 09, 2009

This recipes was very easy to make and very flavorful. Even my 5 years old twins liked them (except for the tiny pieces of oniont my son discovered). We serevd with rice but nect time will definitelyserve on a salad. This is a nice change from every day menu in our house. Definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mshaley January 30, 2010

Spectacular! This recipe just made my top ten list. I used sriracha instead of tobasco, and added whole seasame seeds in place of oil for an interesting crunch in the sauce. (Personal pref) Other than that, followed directions and saved for future repeated use in my menu rotation! Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forty2stars January 12, 2010

I had to add an extra can of tuna. My husband loved it. One 6 oz. can of tuna will not feed 6 people. At least the people I know. I added some siracha sauce to it as well. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest December 22, 2009

These were fantastic and so easy to prepare!! The rating was a toss up between 4 and 5's I wish you could do a half in here. We all loved the sauce that went with these little gems. It was so quick to put together and the resulting taste was so good and would have many possibilities, to be paired with other things. I served these for our dinner with a salad and it was perfect, but I can see how these would make for a quick and super lunch. Great combo JB and we will definitely be enjoying these again.. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef August 19, 2009

I thought this was good, as did one of my kids...the other two weren't so fond. I used the amount of soy sauce listed, but i think it could've used more, so I guess this is definitely a to each his own recipe! Sauce was great, and it was an easy lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy January 17, 2009

This was a lovely change from the usual potato based tuna patties, I left the butter out & didn't miss it at all. Even toddler DD ate hers all up even the sauce. Thanks for a great kid-friendly meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** December 04, 2008

The sauce really makes these tuna cakes! I reduced the soy sauce to 1/4 cup and left out the salt trying to cut out some of the sodium. These are very sturdy little cakes and hold together well. I had a little mishap when I tried to pipe the sauce using the little baggie- it exploded! That was no fault of the recipe however, just a faulty baggie. And I got more sauce on my plate- yum! Made for Aussie Swap '08.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog May 02, 2008

These were an interesting twist on tuna cakes. I love to make tuna cakes when I need a quick and fast supper. I like the addition of the panko and soy sauce. Mine got a tad dry, but they were still tasty. Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser May 26, 2010

These were ok, but the soy sauce was so overpowering. Was out of ziplocs so I just brushed some of the sauce on the patties with a basting brush. I did like the nutty flavor that came from cooking them in the sesame oil. I'll probably try that next time I make my regular tuna patties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mailbelle July 30, 2008
Asian-Inspired Tuna Cakes