14 Reviews

Very nice salad. It's not quite as "Asian " as I would think it should be, so I added extra (fresh) ginger. I also added thinly sliced cucumber and used sliced scallions as a garnish. Marinating the chicken is imperative. Overall, this a I nice, easy salad meal. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 08, 2013

I have to agree with Jubes. I think that marinading the chicken over night would of made the salad even better. Not that I didnt love it because it was wonderful. I put dried cranberries and almonds in the salad,, This is a 5 stars for me

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keli in Indy June 27, 2011

* Reviewed for ZWT6 Whine and Cheese Gang * Totally loved it. Delicious. Minimal ingredients, minimal prep and cooking time. I prepared the marinade/dressing and cooked the chicken last night...in order to have a quick meal to put together for a busy family Friday night tonight. I actually thought the dressing had improved with the 24hours. I also used an extra marinated/cooked chiken breast for Broccoli and Chicken Stir-Fried Rice. A great recipe Syd- thanks for sharing. And it was great to cook a recipe that I didn't need to make any chages at all to be gluten-free suitable :) Photos also being posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 28, 2010

Soo simple to make, and delicious! I couldn't do the grill this time (buried under all the snow!), but I am eager to try it that way once the weather is nicer. Loved the flavor from the dressing/marinade. I added just a splash of sesame oil as others suggested. It was great. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 11, 2010

I really enjoyed this salad. The only "problem" I had was that it was almost too vinegary for me. However, I used a cheap red wine vinegar and that may have been the problem. Will make this again and try using a better vinegar. I also used a sesame oil and canalo oil mixture. Thanks for posting such a simple and good salad recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K in LA July 28, 2009

Outstanding! I used about half vegetable oil and half sesame seed oil to give it that real Asian flair. Confucius may have had a career change into cooking had he been onto this. Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 14, 2009

This was fantastic - the chicken becomes glazed in the dressing (I broiled mine on Lo) while it cooks. I reduced the worcestershire and used fresh ginger. Like CoffeeB, I marinated my chicken longer - the flavor was wonderful. Additionally, I added red pepper, tomatoes, celery and red onions to our salad. I'll be using this marinade again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 19, 2009

MMMmmmm..Syd..this chicken has some real zip to it, and I like it!!! I cut this recipe down to serve just myself as I had a pre-cooked chicken breast leftover. I marinated for about 1 1/2 hours and then just heated it thru on my stovetop. I used the x-tra sauce for a dressing on my salad which consisted of romaine lettuce, tomatoes, carrots and sugarsnap peas I just picked yesterday:-) A nice change up for my normal salad I have most nights. Made for MarketTag~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB June 17, 2009

This had a nice subtle taste, a nice mix between sweet and tangy. I had to grill it indoors, but it turned out just fine, plenty leftover for tomorrows lunch. I did add a little cheese, just couldn't resist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser May 04, 2009

Syd this was so, but bf had two complaints; marinate the chicken longer and more dressing! I halved the recipe, made exactly as directed except I only had canola oil and I had marinated the chicken for almost 1 1/2 hours (apparently bf still wanted it marinated longer). I grilled on my George Foreman. I used a Parisian Salad blend from the produce department and added some extra carrots to it. Very yummy, well-liked by both of us. Thanks for sharing. :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. I will make this again, for sure (with the bf's suggestions).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage December 08, 2008
Asian Grilled Chicken Salad