Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asian Chicken & Orzo Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asian Chicken & Orzo Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2014

      Good idea but needed some garlic and ginger. Was pretty bland even though I added red pepper flakes. Served with Baked Pot Stickers- Sweet Asian Dipping Sauce - Chicken Egg Roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This dish is off the charts! It's so easy to make and you can use whatever is in the pantry. I picked up a rotisserie chicken and diced it all up. As for the dressing, I prefer a stronger flavour and doubled the rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and hoisin and added 4 packets of Splenda to the mixture. I love the idea of adding a bit of sesame oil to the dressing and will do that next time. I forgot to pick up the sugar snap peas, and used broccoli florets, instead. Next time, I'm going to add some finely chopped Serrano or Cayenne peppers for a bit of a kick. I served this over a bed of torn Romaine and it was delish and paired it with a crisp Voignier. It made for a lovely meal. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This makes a refreshing change from the usual pasta salads! With the quantities quartered, I served the 2 of us a main course with just enough leftovers for my lunch. Aside from adding a couple of drops of Sesame oil, I made no changes to the dressing; it was delicious. I made some substitutions, based on availability - red & yellow peppers and frozen baby peas, which made the salad quite colourful. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I've made this twice now once with chicken and once with tofu, and both turned out wonderfully. I used it for for my lunches all week and am planning on taking it to potlucks this summer. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This makes a ton and would be perfect for potlucks or what-not family occasions. I made according to the recipe and thought the ingredients were in good proportion. I did think it needed just a touch of salt and pepper to bring the flavors forward. Loved the crunch and the bright colors were nice, too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Delicious recipe! I also added a dash or two of sesame seed oil to give an extra flavor. I also used green bell pepper cause this was what I had on hand. Will be making this again :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit to use what I had on hand. I left out the chicken. I substituted peanut oil for the vegetable oil, and used about half the amount called for. I didn't have any slivered almonds on hand, so I replaced them with peanuts. I halved the recipe (it's just for me). I added about half a teaspoon of toasted sesame oil to the dressing. The results were absolutely delicious. I threw the snap peas in with the boiling pasta for the last five minutes, saving me some effort. Thanks for posting! I can't wait to take some to school for lunch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This was a nice all in one bowl dinner. Very mild flavor which was good for the kids. I think next time I might experiment and add a little bit of sesame oil to give it a different flavor. I bought fresh sugar snap peas and I think I put way to many in there, my fault! Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I saw Paula Deen make this salad on her tv show and just knew that I had to try it. I'm so glad that I did because this is a delicious and very pretty salad! I'd never used hoisin sauce or rice wine vinegar, so I wasn't sure what to expect. But it had such a nice, mild Asian flavor - nothing too strong or overpowering. My kids enjoyed it also. The only substitution I made was to use a little vidalia onion cut up instead of the green onions. It does make a large amount of salad which is so nice - we had dinner for 5, then at least a couple lunches from the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This salad was terrific! It was so nice and crunchy with water chestnuts and sugar snap peas, with the oriental dressing. Thank you for posting such a nice recipe. Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asian Chicken & Orzo Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (1632 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.1
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    38%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 26.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 213.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes