9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really liked this (including our 13 month old baby)--the flavors aren't complex, but the soup is flavorful. We used tiny shell pasta instead of noodles, did not add bean sprouts (didn't have any), and used a healthy tsp of homemade ginger/garlic paste in place of individual ginger & garlic. Thanks for a quick and tasty soup that was super easy to put together and feed to my houseful of people who are feeling under the weather! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? September 26, 2011

I skipped the drizzle of oil and overall this is a healthy low-fat soup. 1 serving is a large bowlful and I just made a meal of it with a side fruit salad. I'd add an extra star if I could. This is definitely worth repeating! Made for Unrated Asian Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn July 09, 2009

This is a wonderful beef soup full of Asian flavor. I used very good quality thinly sliced beef normally used for shabu shabu ie rib eye beef for this soup. My husband who is not really that fond of soup except wonton, ramen, etc really thought this was an outstanding soup. Napa cabbage was used and right before serving squeezed a wedge of lime. Did not use 8 C beef stock and only used 2 (14 1/2 oz) beef broth along with water to come to 8 C liquid. Thank you mama smurf for posting this recipe. Made for Unrated Asian Recipe Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori July 05, 2009

Really good!!! Added spice, more soy sauce, and lime juice to the final product. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karin b. May 12, 2015

Yum, Yum Yum! Got a Rib Eye on sale and sliced it real thin. Used Udon Noodles and doubled the Garlic and Ginger. Added Red Pepper Flakes like another reviewer in the Soy Sauce Marinade. It was AWESOME! DO NOT Omit the Sesame Oil, it MAKES IT! Tasted like the soup I make with leftovers after a big Shabu Shabu meal but in minutes and without having to go full Shabu! Great Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'll Give It A Whirl! May 09, 2013

This soup was delicious and super easy to make . The ginger had a nice hint of flavor without being overpowering. Thank you for this recipe I will definitely be making this again !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvthesounds January 26, 2013

We all really liked this as did our 7, 2 and 1 year old! I shredded the veggies using the food processor and used both the cabbage and bok choy. Delicious the next day!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HuskerPower October 07, 2011

I give this only 4 stars due to it not being 100% of the way we have had it made by a Cantonese women and how we have made it. But due to misplacing her recipe and this is very close. (I am posting this after I have found her's.) For her's Beef cut anyway, (could even use ground and browned), she used only Fresh bean sprouts and cilanto...(may have miss spelled this) as toppers ( this cilanto is different then the normal italian cilantRo that we usually see and looks a lot like it.) She also put in thinly sliced fresh TRIPE. I have never had tripe before and only have had it in this soup but without if feels like something is missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JamieTND January 07, 2011

This was very, very good and will definitely be made again and again. My husband is still raving about it and we had it last week. :) Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhondapalooza August 25, 2010
Asian Beef Noodle Soup