Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asian Banana Chai Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asian Banana Chai Bread

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2002

      I've never tried this either. But, i hope someone reads this - it's a great story!!! My ex-boyfriend misses me. I miss him too, but i never would have thought to do what he did. He did a search for me on the web & it brought him here (scary or what?!). So, he finds my recipe ('the easiest non-machine white bread in the world' by the way!!!) & rates it 5 *'s. Plus, in his review he asks me to marry him. Then he posts his own recipe. So i'm giving him 5 stars and saying 'yes'. Yaaaaaaay!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      First of all,this was an awesome banana bread. I stumbled across the review Celine posted and was so touched by the online love story between Celine and the recipe poster, Scar Tissue, that I HAD to give this recipe a try. I am so glad I did - it was the loveliest looking banana loaf I have ever made and was very moist and tender. It tasted wonderful! I think that any spiced tea(such as Constant Comment or Earl Grey) would work equally well if you don't have any Chai flavor tea on hand. Thank you for sharing this delightful recipe and for sharing your beautiful love story! Hoping for the best for you both.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      I didn't try this recipe, I don't even know what it is because I didn't read it. But this guy is sooo sweet and so in love that it must be great whatever it is. I hope that these two are very happy. Print these pages and save them to a scrap book. Your children and grandchildren will love this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      This bread is great! I used herbal tea as well as chai tea and it still turned out good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I made this tonight with my boyfriend. It turned out perfectly! Great banana flavor. I made it with a few differences :) Used sour cream instead of cream cheese, 1 cup of banana, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 cup coconut. Very, very good. I will be making this again :) Thanks for sharing the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This is a very dense and moist banana bread. I had hoped that the brewed tea would add a different flavor dimension to the banana bread, as I love chai lattes, but in the baked loaf, I really couldn't detect any of the spices that I associate with that blend. I have more over-ripe bananas on my kitchen counter, and if I find the time, I may try to play with this basic recipe and add some cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, etc to the batter to play up that chai aspect. I do LOVE the sweet love story associated with the posting of this recipe and hope that life has been good to the lovebirds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      Very good! Dense bread with mild banana flavor. Chai compliments the banana nicely though I would add some chai spices to heighten the flavor. Thanks for the recipe! Hope it has all worked out for you two!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      I found the bread to be rather dense, but good. However I did make the fallowing changes: Instead of cream cheese I used fatfree yogurt, and instead of 1/4c of chia tea mixed, I added 1/2tsp (each) of ginger,pumpkin pie spice, cardimon, cloves, allspice and left out the liquied. The cooking time was about an hour and some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      This was pretty good. However, I was expecting a little more spicy flavour. I could hardly taste the chai and I used two tea bags! I will be sticking to traditional banana bread recipes in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      Great banana bread, even with all the changes I made! I wanted to make something vegan, but was bored of the 'same old same old'. Instead of cream cheese, I used tofu; instead of egg, I used Ener-g Egg replacement; I mixed whole wheat and white flower and, because I used Oregon Chai concentrate, which is already sweetened, I used considerably less sugar. Finally, I added some apple sauce to keep it moist. We can't wait for it to cool properly - half of the loaf is already gone!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Oh my goodness...sorry never tried the banana bread, maybe one day I will, but your story put tears to my eyes...good luck to you both and all the best...do as suggested and print all this and save it in a scrapbook....you'll look back one day and have a nice warm moment together....all the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      Celine & Scar. These are the craziest "Cherished Memories" I have ever heard of. Congrats to you both. What a beautiful love story.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2002

      Hi. I haven't made this yet, either, but I have often wondered what happened between you two! I stumbled across Scar's review of your bread and thought it was a fearless ( and slightly nutty) thing to do. So glad it worked out for you! Keep us posted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      Wonderful recipe and beautiful story! Congratulations you two!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      Scarface & Celine may you be ever so happy cooking up a happy life together - I'll even try your recipes to see how you are progressing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      How cute!! No, I haven't made the banana bread but believe me I will now! Celine and Scar I wish you both the very best in life. Long live the web!! God bless :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asian Banana Chai Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1914.4
     
    Calories from Fat 341
    17%
    Total Fat 37.9 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 18.1 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 456.0 mg
    152%
    Sodium 2780.4 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 350.7 g
    116%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 168.0 g
    672%
    Protein 46.7 g
    93%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes