16 Reviews

I've never tried this either. But, i hope someone reads this - it's a great story!!! My ex-boyfriend misses me. I miss him too, but i never would have thought to do what he did. He did a search for me on the web & it brought him here (scary or what?!). So, he finds my recipe ('the easiest non-machine white bread in the world' by the way!!!) & rates it 5 *'s. Plus, in his review he asks me to marry him. Then he posts his own recipe. So i'm giving him 5 stars and saying 'yes'. Yaaaaaaay!!!

65 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Celine McGowan October 18, 2002

First of all,this was an awesome banana bread. I stumbled across the review Celine posted and was so touched by the online love story between Celine and the recipe poster, Scar Tissue, that I HAD to give this recipe a try. I am so glad I did - it was the loveliest looking banana loaf I have ever made and was very moist and tender. It tasted wonderful! I think that any spiced tea(such as Constant Comment or Earl Grey) would work equally well if you don't have any Chai flavor tea on hand. Thank you for sharing this delightful recipe and for sharing your beautiful love story! Hoping for the best for you both.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather October 23, 2002

I didn't try this recipe, I don't even know what it is because I didn't read it. But this guy is sooo sweet and so in love that it must be great whatever it is. I hope that these two are very happy. Print these pages and save them to a scrap book. Your children and grandchildren will love this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara November 06, 2002

This bread is great! I used herbal tea as well as chai tea and it still turned out good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
applesaucelove July 25, 2012

I made this tonight with my boyfriend. It turned out perfectly! Great banana flavor. I made it with a few differences :) Used sour cream instead of cream cheese, 1 cup of banana, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 cup coconut. Very, very good. I will be making this again :) Thanks for sharing the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell May 15, 2010

This is a very dense and moist banana bread. I had hoped that the brewed tea would add a different flavor dimension to the banana bread, as I love chai lattes, but in the baked loaf, I really couldn't detect any of the spices that I associate with that blend. I have more over-ripe bananas on my kitchen counter, and if I find the time, I may try to play with this basic recipe and add some cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, etc to the batter to play up that chai aspect. I do LOVE the sweet love story associated with the posting of this recipe and hope that life has been good to the lovebirds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. March 11, 2008

Very good! Dense bread with mild banana flavor. Chai compliments the banana nicely though I would add some chai spices to heighten the flavor. Thanks for the recipe! Hope it has all worked out for you two!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 28, 2006

I found the bread to be rather dense, but good. However I did make the fallowing changes: Instead of cream cheese I used fatfree yogurt, and instead of 1/4c of chia tea mixed, I added 1/2tsp (each) of ginger,pumpkin pie spice, cardimon, cloves, allspice and left out the liquied. The cooking time was about an hour and some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thedeath458 December 28, 2005

This was pretty good. However, I was expecting a little more spicy flavour. I could hardly taste the chai and I used two tea bags! I will be sticking to traditional banana bread recipes in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiphani December 08, 2005

Great banana bread, even with all the changes I made! I wanted to make something vegan, but was bored of the 'same old same old'. Instead of cream cheese, I used tofu; instead of egg, I used Ener-g Egg replacement; I mixed whole wheat and white flower and, because I used Oregon Chai concentrate, which is already sweetened, I used considerably less sugar. Finally, I added some apple sauce to keep it moist. We can't wait for it to cool properly - half of the loaf is already gone!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bohogirl March 22, 2005
Asian Banana Chai Bread