17 Reviews

Wonderful! I didn't think I would find another asparagus recipe that could rival my favorite but this may be it. I did up the red pepper flakes a bit but I couldn't help myself! The asparagus tastes great with a bit of spice to it. And this recipe is so easy and tasty to make, it is sure to be a regular at my house! Thanks Bergy!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau April 08, 2003

Wonderful!!! I absolutely loved it, as did my mother. I didn't have any rice wine vinegar so used reg. vinegar & subbed rice wine for the sherry & it was still fab!! I also added some mushrooms.. just to use them up. I'll be making this again & again!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB March 18, 2003

Great recipe! Quick, easy and very tasty. I've made it twice, once using water as the recipe calls for and once using chicken broth instead and it tasted great both ways. I've been looking for a new asparagus recipe and this one will go in my cookbook.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. February 17, 2003

Excellent, I followed this recipe, but I usually don't measure things out. I felt that it had just enough kick, and everyone in my house really enjoyed it. Very easy and fast to make too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steph4575 April 02, 2013

This was soooooo good! I'll put it this way, my six year old cries when he finds out I'm making aparagus with dinner and he said he liked it and gave it a thumbs up! He said it tastes like Chinese food! LOL! I made a few slight changes - I used chicken broth instead of water, added some fresh gingerroot, and used apple juice instead of dry sherry. I added a pinch of cornstarch mixed in a little water at the end to thicken the sauce because it was a bit thin. I sprinkled the finished dish with toasted sesame seeds. It was great over jasmine rice and we had grilled steak and salmon. Best asparagus ever! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 September 21, 2009

I liked this recipe quite a bit. DH did not care for it, so my rating is a reflection of the combination of our opinions. I thought the asparagus was very easy to prepare and had nice flavor. I served it with a sesame chicken. I made no modifications. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 29, 2008

I just made this recipe with brocolli instead of asparagus as part of our Asian cuisine night. I thought it was good, but not as flavorful as I was hoping for. Maybe different results with asparagus?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quest4ZBest April 08, 2007

i modified this recipe a bit; i left out the oyster sauce and sherry, and it was still great! super easy to make and very flavorful. i also think that green beans would be a great substitute. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paige sullivan January 22, 2007

WOW! I only had a little over a 1/2 pound so I added mushrooms. This is truly scrumtrulescent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maniglory January 18, 2007
Asian Asparagus