Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asian Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asian Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2003

      Wonderful! I didn't think I would find another asparagus recipe that could rival my favorite but this may be it. I did up the red pepper flakes a bit but I couldn't help myself! The asparagus tastes great with a bit of spice to it. And this recipe is so easy and tasty to make, it is sure to be a regular at my house! Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Wonderful!!! I absolutely loved it, as did my mother. I didn't have any rice wine vinegar so used reg. vinegar & subbed rice wine for the sherry & it was still fab!! I also added some mushrooms.. just to use them up. I'll be making this again & again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      Great recipe! Quick, easy and very tasty. I've made it twice, once using water as the recipe calls for and once using chicken broth instead and it tasted great both ways. I've been looking for a new asparagus recipe and this one will go in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      Excellent, I followed this recipe, but I usually don't measure things out. I felt that it had just enough kick, and everyone in my house really enjoyed it. Very easy and fast to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

    • on September 21, 2009

      This was soooooo good! I'll put it this way, my six year old cries when he finds out I'm making aparagus with dinner and he said he liked it and gave it a thumbs up! He said it tastes like Chinese food! LOL! I made a few slight changes - I used chicken broth instead of water, added some fresh gingerroot, and used apple juice instead of dry sherry. I added a pinch of cornstarch mixed in a little water at the end to thicken the sauce because it was a bit thin. I sprinkled the finished dish with toasted sesame seeds. It was great over jasmine rice and we had grilled steak and salmon. Best asparagus ever! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I liked this recipe quite a bit. DH did not care for it, so my rating is a reflection of the combination of our opinions. I thought the asparagus was very easy to prepare and had nice flavor. I served it with a sesame chicken. I made no modifications. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      I just made this recipe with brocolli instead of asparagus as part of our Asian cuisine night. I thought it was good, but not as flavorful as I was hoping for. Maybe different results with asparagus?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      i modified this recipe a bit; i left out the oyster sauce and sherry, and it was still great! super easy to make and very flavorful. i also think that green beans would be a great substitute. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      WOW! I only had a little over a 1/2 pound so I added mushrooms. This is truly scrumtrulescent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      delicious recipe!! I mixed asparagus with brocolli, so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      What a wonderful way to serve my fresh asparagus. Thank you for a delightful recipe. Any recipe that has this combination of ingredients is a winner with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      I made this with broccoli instead of asparagus, as it says you can do in the recipe description. This tasted GREAT, but I found the sauce to be too watery. Maybe the broccoli releases more water than asparagus, so next time, I not use the 1/4 c. water, but just a small splash. Otherwise, this is a wonderful recipe. I will make this again! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      Yummy asparagus recipe. I made as written. Wonderful flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      yummy! a pleasant alternative to standard steamed asparagus with butter, salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Excellent veggie stir-fry, Bergy. I did increase the red pepper flakes to 1 teaspoon but that was the only change I made. It was fast and easy to make and had a lovely Asian flavor. I can't wait to give this a go with broccoli. Will be used many more times for sure. Thanks Bergy! Happy Holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      This is a delicious method of doing asparagus...keeping it crisp is the best way, in my opinion! Mine were pencil thin and so I kept the cooking time a bit shorter than stated. Also, I used rice wine in place of the sherry as that's what I had on hand. Very good recipe. Thanks Bergy for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asian Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 49.8
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    43%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 174.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes