15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this bread, sans the sugar, for about 3 years. It's the best cheese bread I have ever eaten. You can actually taste the cheese. I, like another reviewer, can make a meal of it. I love it for breakfast toasted and buttered. IMHO, no other cheese except Asiago will give you the great favor. I buy the wedge of Asiago at Walmart and can make two loaves from it. For me, nothing else is needed in this recipe. I cannot knead by hand any more but I make this in my KA with a dough hook and process for 9 minutes on the (2) setting once all ingredients are incorporated. Turns out beautifully.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DAR Lady February 09, 2014

Very good recipe! I made several times. First time the cheese tasted too strong for me, second time I made with 3/4 cup of cheese and 3rd time made with 1/2 cup (50 gr) of cheese and was perfect for my taste. Today I tried with parmesan because I want send the recipe to some friends in Brazil, in some cities there is hard to find asiago cheese, so I tried with parmesan but didn't taste the same, was good but not excellent.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nete June 16, 2014

Made in the ABM on the dough cycle mixing in all the cheese. Increased the pepper to 2 teaspoons and the sugar to 2 tablespoons ~ added 2 teaspoons lemon juice, 1/4 teaspon garlic powder, and 4 tablespoons vital wheat gluten. Topped the (slashed) second rise with 4 table-spoons asiago cheese ~ Baked in two 10-5/8 x 5-1/2 x 2-3/4 Pyrex loaf pans at 325 degrees for 30 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle January 04, 2009

First off, the egg is for an egg-wash...wisk up the egg with a little water and brush loaf before putting in the oven (helps to give the golden brown color).<br/><br/>I followed this recipe but also added (a little less than) 1/4 cup of minced garlic. I also made it into one loaf (about the size of an Italian bread). Fantastic ! Cooking time was about 35 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris G. January 24, 2015

I can't rate this yet. I just put it in my bucket to rise when I noticed the last ingredient - the egg. It isn't included in the directions. I'm a new baker, maybe someone more experienced would have caught it - I don't know. So right now I'm not sure if my bread will turn out okay. I will re-review once my bread is baked and I've had a chance to taste it......if it gets that far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa F. January 11, 2015

DH says a five, loved the flavor. I haven't tried it yet but will soon. I did use parmesan but will get the Asiago for next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 26, 2014

Wonderful recipe not hard to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pniefert_5620789 February 28, 2013

This was so good ! We put a little garlic butter on the baked bread and toasted it for the most incredible garlic bread. We will make this many times again. Perfect with split pea soup and chili. I could actually just make a meal out of this bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judyeric February 22, 2013

I have bookmarked this recipe and have tried several combination. I can't really afford buying asiago all the time so 1st I tried a 2 cup package of the Mexican mix. That was a waste of money. I think unless it is a strong cheese the flavor is lost. Next I used a full 2 cups of sharp chedder. It wasn't as cheesey as it was in a different recipe...don't know why, except maybe the other recipe also called for 1/4 cup of grated parmesan or a cheese powder. I'll add the parmesan next time. I also used 1/3 cup of sugar. I absolutely love the size this recipe makes. I can make 4 hamburger buns and still have enough for a loaf. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ooohman December 04, 2012

This bread is fantastic, even though I actually made a mistake on the recipe. I made the dough in my bread maker and only scanned the recipe, so I ended up adding the egg to the mix on accident. I was surprised when I didn't need to add any more flour to get the texture right but the dough was smooth and silkly. I decided to make one large loaf instead of 2 smaller ones and then added shredded pecorino romano on top just before baking it. It was done after only 25 minutes as I baked it on a baking stone. It came out fantastic! The combination of the asiago and romano cheeses were amazing. Thank you so much for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerena August 29, 2012
Asiago Cheese Bread, Excellent