Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asiago Cheese Bread, Excellent Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asiago Cheese Bread, Excellent

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2014

      I've been making this bread, sans the sugar, for about 3 years. It's the best cheese bread I have ever eaten. You can actually taste the cheese. I, like another reviewer, can make a meal of it. I love it for breakfast toasted and buttered. IMHO, no other cheese except Asiago will give you the great favor. I buy the wedge of Asiago at Walmart and can make two loaves from it. For me, nothing else is needed in this recipe. I cannot knead by hand any more but I make this in my KA with a dough hook and process for 9 minutes on the (2) setting once all ingredients are incorporated. Turns out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      Very good recipe! I made several times. First time the cheese tasted too strong for me, second time I made with 3/4 cup of cheese and 3rd time made with 1/2 cup (50 gr) of cheese and was perfect for my taste. Today I tried with parmesan because I want send the recipe to some friends in Brazil, in some cities there is hard to find asiago cheese, so I tried with parmesan but didn't taste the same, was good but not excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Made in the ABM on the dough cycle mixing in all the cheese. Increased the pepper to 2 teaspoons and the sugar to 2 tablespoons ~ added 2 teaspoons lemon juice, 1/4 teaspon garlic powder, and 4 tablespoons vital wheat gluten. Topped the (slashed) second rise with 4 table-spoons asiago cheese ~ Baked in two 10-5/8 x 5-1/2 x 2-3/4 Pyrex loaf pans at 325 degrees for 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      DH says a five, loved the flavor. I haven't tried it yet but will soon. I did use parmesan but will get the Asiago for next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Wonderful recipe not hard to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      This was so good ! We put a little garlic butter on the baked bread and toasted it for the most incredible garlic bread. We will make this many times again. Perfect with split pea soup and chili. I could actually just make a meal out of this bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      I have bookmarked this recipe and have tried several combination. I can't really afford buying asiago all the time so 1st I tried a 2 cup package of the Mexican mix. That was a waste of money. I think unless it is a strong cheese the flavor is lost. Next I used a full 2 cups of sharp chedder. It wasn't as cheesey as it was in a different recipe...don't know why, except maybe the other recipe also called for 1/4 cup of grated parmesan or a cheese powder. I'll add the parmesan next time. I also used 1/3 cup of sugar. I absolutely love the size this recipe makes. I can make 4 hamburger buns and still have enough for a loaf. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      This bread is fantastic, even though I actually made a mistake on the recipe. I made the dough in my bread maker and only scanned the recipe, so I ended up adding the egg to the mix on accident. I was surprised when I didn't need to add any more flour to get the texture right but the dough was smooth and silkly. I decided to make one large loaf instead of 2 smaller ones and then added shredded pecorino romano on top just before baking it. It was done after only 25 minutes as I baked it on a baking stone. It came out fantastic! The combination of the asiago and romano cheeses were amazing. Thank you so much for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      This is a dangerously delicious bread. I added some chopped fresh basil to the dough, which added a nice scent and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Fabulous bread. This made a delicious side for dinner. I baked on my baker's stone and found no problems. Thanks Jezski for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I really like it! I'm a beginner bread maker and found it to be easy to make. Don't forget to add the sugar.....it was left out of the directions....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Made this for a friend and she loved it! Thanks for posting. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I have little experience making bread, but this turned out beautifully! Excellent taste and pretty as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asiago Cheese Bread, Excellent

    Serving Size: 1 (873 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1108.6
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    17%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 144.8 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1962.3 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 189.8 g
    63%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    asiago cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes