13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had a salad like this at an expensive Italian restaurant in Toronto. You can't get much simpler than this recipe and it is still so flavorful. Personally I like a bit more lemon juice so I added about a tablespoon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommycook April 16, 2004

I love arugula so this recipe allowed me to enjoy it without overpowering the distinct flavor of these greens. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp June 13, 2012

I absolutely LOVE arugula and this is my favorite way to eat it. I add some diced plum tomatoes and a little parmesan on top. I top it with a broiled piece of chicken breast and its a great lunch that I eat every week. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrittBall December 07, 2009

Perfect as is but I added some yummy fresh, diced tomatoes to the mix. I used fresh, home grown arugula which really makes a difference. I really didn't measure anything. I think this would be good with some shaved parmisan cheese or similar hard type cheese over the top (I have to keep it kosher tho). I served this along side my Simple Meat Sauce which worked well. In fact my youngest daughter enjoyed eating the salad with the meat sauce. I'll make this again and often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse July 05, 2009

This recipe is all about quality ingredients. I was give some fresh organic arugula by my neighbour. Add the local tropical lemons which are actually quite sweet and my best EVOO...YUM!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 01, 2008

I couldn't believe how good this was. It was so easy. Like some of the others, I also used a little more lemon juice because I like it tangier. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckybear206 May 29, 2008

We love this salad. The spiciness of the arugula is perfect with that tart bite of lemon. Like other reviewers, I enjoy a bit more tartness, so I increase the amount of lemon juice. I also add a good grinding of black pepper as we serve this. When we have arugula in the house, my kids will pick it over any vegie. This is their favorite way to have it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay November 17, 2007

This was fab, Bev! I love arugula, I love simple, so this is the perfect salad for me. I did grate parmesan cheese over the top, b/c I have to add cheese to everything. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com June 18, 2007

Bev, this is wonderful. I love the simplicity and the freshness. With so few ingredients, it was elegantly sophisticated, and I was delighted to serve it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Definately going into my t&t cookbook! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie February 22, 2007

This wonderful salad is sheer simplicity and packed with great flavour! I love arugula (called 'roka' here in Greece) and buy it up every week at our farmer's market. This is probably one of the best ways of making it - allowing the arugula to star, but a few shaved parmesan curls were a delightful addition!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 13, 2006
Arugula with Lemon and Olive Oil