Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Art's Roast Beef - Anderson, Indiana (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Art's Roast Beef - Anderson, Indiana (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2008

      This is one of my favorite sandwiches ever....I eat at Art's all the time. One suggestion though. When Art's serves the sandwich the top the meat on the bread with cooked quarted bell peppers that have been boiled or steamed until soft. The peppers really add another dimension to the sandwich...try it...you will like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      I worked at Art's Pizza on Broadway in Anderson in the 70's making the pizza dough and roast beef. You hit the nail on the head with this one. You dip the bread in the broth and serve it open faced, eating it with a knife and fork. Plenty of napkins. It was good to find this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This works great for a filling meal. We did open face with melted cheese on top. It kinda taste like pizza. My family of 4 ate it once, then we put the leftovers in the freezer. Three wks the leftovers were yummy! I stored the leftover (which was enough for another meal) in a freezer bag. Thawed 24 hours in fridge. Put in crockpot on low 4 hours. Worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      One of the best recipes I've found on 'zaar -- and that's saying something! The roasts were all so small that I bought 2 (5# total), increasing most of the other ingredients by 50% so there would be plenty of juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Thanks for posting this great recipe! We enjoyed it and will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was easy, not sure how I liked the "tomatoey" taste to the roast beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      This is sooooo goooood,served this (open faced) on toasted homemade white bread,then put mozz.Slices on top,broiled till cheese melted,thank you !!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This tastes very much like the real thing. I incresed the sauce by one half as we like a lot on our sandwiches. Thank you so much for posting this. I've wanting this recipe for a long time. Nancy A Alexandria, IN

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Unbelievably delicious! My children (and husband) actually squeal with delight when I tell them I am making this. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      I made these the other day and the only change I made was after I sliced the beef up I added a small jar of pepperoncini with the juice to the broth and left out the crushed peppers. TO DIE FOR thanks for a great recipe, I will be making this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I've made these twice so far, and I've loved them both times. They also make great cold sandwiches the next day. I put them in hoagie rolls too and broiled them. Yum Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      The roast beef itself was phenomenal, but we found the sauce far too spicey, and I only used 1 tsp. red pepper flakes. Perhaps out stomachs are too old? Anyway, chances are I will not make it again, but if I do, I will experiment a bit - perhaps add a bit of brown sugar and vinegar. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I have made this recipe twice now and it is fantastic. The first time was a lot spicier than the second. I think the first time I must have put in 2 Tablespoons of red pepper flakes. But our family likes spicy and we actually liked that better. Once we made our sandwiches, we put cheese on top and microwaved it long enough to melt the cheese. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I made this about a week ago and thought it was alright. I doubled up the recipe so I could take it to work all week. Well you ever try taking a slow cooker full of food to work that sends a wonderfull aroma through the whole place and not plan on sharing? It don't work. I ended up letting every one I work with have some and they all loved it. One guy had to go get more french bread cause we ran out. I would recommend making enough so you have left overs for awhile cause this gets WAY BETTER and spicier when it sits and gets re-heated for a couple days. Every one else ate it now next week I don't have to cook cause their all taking turns feeding me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      My family really enjoyed these sandwiches. I've never been to Art's, but we loved the flavor of this roast beef. I followed the directions exactly and made no changes. I served the sandwiches with oven fries. Thanks Kathie for posting this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      My husband and I grew up in Anderson, Art's is a family favorite! We were so surprised to find this recipe. We LOVE it! It taste like the real deal. It's so simple to make and easy to fix a big batch to share with family and friends. We highly recomend this sandwich to everyone who loves a terrific roast beef sandwich!We make it in our roaster,works great.We were together with family and friends over the holiday's and made this for about 50 people and even added some brats and hot dogs to cook in the sauce, it was all a big hit. The seasoning is perfect!Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This was really good. The roast did get so tender it melted in the mouth. The juice was good to dip the sandwiches into also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This roast was the BEST! We all loved it! Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      super yummy, I sliced half the roast super thin and the other a bit thicker like i would for a roast dinner both cuts turned out very good and tender and easy to bite through i personally liked the thinner cut for the sandwich because it just melted in your mouth! great sandwich. I just changed from 4 to 5 stars because i just made a next day sandwich and it was evn better. the meat has been in the sauce for over a day and the seasoning marinated together making this a fantastic sandwich a real must have! thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Best roast beef sandwich I've ever had. Whole family agrees. Thanks Kathy for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Art's Roast Beef - Anderson, Indiana (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 732.2
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    28%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 127.5 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1321.6 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 51.4 g
    102%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites