Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Art's French Bread (NOT bread machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Art's French Bread (NOT bread machine)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2012

      The bread came out very soft on the inside and thick chewy crust on the outside. However, I think 2 Tablespoons of salt is too much and my bread tasted too salty. I would reduce it to 1 Tablespoon the next time. This recipe makes a lot of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      This makes a lovely loaf of bread. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Exquisite. Of course, I altered it some since I didn't have gluten flour (just regular), and I did use nonfat yogurt, but it was wonderful. Will be making it again for a French dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This bread is amazing. I tried it today and I am very pleased with the results. The crust, texture and flavor are excellent, and it has a perfect color too, thanks echo echo, for the recipe. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      OK, color me perverse - couldn't help it - I (hmmm, huh, err) used the DREADED bread machine to mix the dough! Turned out great! Had to dribble in a bit buttermilk when "ole reliable" sounded like she was straining a bit. Dough had to be dumped out after first mixing & second knead by hand as it was billowing out of the machine an hour into the dough cycle! This recipe turned out a fantastic chewy slightly sour loaf with a slightly crispy crust. One whole loaf (of the 2 made) was devoured at dinner - leftovers are soaking for overnight French Toast. Second loaf is gonna make awesome sandwiches. Will be using this recipe many times - using the...well you know! LOL! Thanks for the great recipe, echo echo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      At last... a french style bread recipe that packs some real flavor. I love the softer texture -- is that from the yogourt? -- especially as I like to use whole wheat flour in my bread. I will definitely be making this again, especially as soup season is beginning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      Very nice recipe. I learned a new technique from you about letting the bread rise twice BEFORE shaping into loaves. I wondered if it would rise again while baking and it did. Nice texture and crust. I used King Arthur bread flour and the yogurt which added a nice tang. DH loved this! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This is really good! I used nonfat yogurt for a more sour flavor like you suggested and Im glad I did! I had some trouble with the dough but it worked itself out. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Excellent French Bread. Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I used unbleached all-purpose flour and the full 7 cups of flour and the low fat yogurt. I made a fantastic loaf of french bread and about 10 french bread dinner rolls. I baked the loaf for about 40 minutes, let the rolls rise a third time (about an hour) and baked them for about 25-30 minutes. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      Love this recipe. I use fat-free yogurt for the extra sour. I've made it three times and it is getting better every time (I'm a novice with bread making). I have found that cutting it into loaves BEFORE the last rise makes mine fluffier. Thanks! I'm always looking for recipes that are NOT for a bread machine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Art's French Bread (NOT bread machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (1684 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1026.9
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    93%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 4802.8 mg
    200%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 189.0 g
    378%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes