Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Artisan Boule Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Artisan Boule Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2010

      Much better, now my reviews are in the right places, lol! I used this method for the dough to make Pita Bread -- Using the Master Recipe #309834, but when I was reviewing the pita bread, my phone somehow sent me to this recipe instead when I was in the middle of posting my review. ?!? Anyhow, the dough is very wet and sticky to work with, so having to actually roll it out (as with the pita breads) requires a fair amount of patience, but I think that not having to deal with the kneading in between multiple rises of regular bread dough is a great trade-off for needing to take a few "serenity, NOW" breaths while trying to roll out pitas, LOL. I'm definitely going to try out a couple of the other forms for this dough, because the breads made from this have such a great tang from the beer, and such a lovely texture, too. Thanks for posting :)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I loved, loved this bread. I made a regular loaf to make sandwiches, then I made some calzone type wraps, and last I made a cinnamon sugar crusted loaf. Thank you so much for posting, I know I'll be making it often :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Very nice flavour. I have baked it in a pyrex dish . The method with parchment makes it even more easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This recipe rocks! I used it to make bread for my church's VBS last summer, and it received rave reviews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I am giving this 5 stars because the bread turned out beautifully, but next time I will definitely decrease the amount of salt...1 1/2 tablespoons was too salty for me, but I have to say that the leftover bread made the best croutons, so none went to waste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I am trying my best to learn to make good breads. This was an excellent recipe. Mine was not as pretty as yours but the whole family loved it. I'm going to try the pita bread today.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This recipe was just what I hoped it would be. I tried this and then had to buy the Artisan Bread book because everything worked out beautifully. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      OK, this recipe intrigued me to the point that I HAD to make it. boy am I ever glad I did. What a nice flavor & great texture. The beer in the dough was what made me try it...had to know! I followed the recipe exactly & waited the time out while it did it's thing in the fridge. I will however decrease the salt next go round...not the recipe just me..over the years I have become salt sensitive & it was more salt taste than I like. I also baked this on my cast iron griddle..used it in place of a baking stone & it worked well so I got a double plus from this recipe...A great bread & a new used for my griddle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      FANTASTIC! This turned out really great. I had my doubts in the beginning with using beer, but the taste was wonderful. I followed the recipe as written and watched the mass of goo rise and fall then put it in the fridge and waited. After 4 hours I made the first trial loaf. OMG you should have seen the family, waiting over the cooling boule with plates waiting for me to cut it. I HATE baking in the house during the summer here in Texas, so I used my Wolfgang Puck convection oven that sits in the garage for my summer baking and rotisserie times. It took a bit longer but the bread was crispy and even talked to me when I took it from the oven. I already have requests for another loaf tomorrow to make roast beef sandwiches for lunch. Thanks for the recipe!

      Has anyone tried this for pizza cust? The flavor of the bread would make a great pizza dough... just wondering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      OMG GW, DH has declared this THE bread he wants from now on. PEFECT, you really rocked with this one. I followed the directions exactly (did reduce the salt just a bit to 1 1/4 tablespoons) then baked the Boule in my covered stone dish that I got at KA at the same time I got the raising buckets. Before covering and placing in the oven I sprayed the hot plate with water and it was awesome with that almost teeth shattering, but chewy resistance to the crust leading to an airy and light crumb with the slight tang of sourdough. I loved that I could make a small loaf since it's only DH and me and save the rest for later - this way we can have fresh bread EVERY day. Made for Enjoying Soups and Bread Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This recipe was easy but the bread was pretty tasteless. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This is just so easy. I'll definitely be making it again but with less salt. I've tried making is on a baking sheet (my stone cracked a long time ago) where it seemed to be too wet to hold it's shape and came out flatter than I was expecting. The next loaf I made in a loaf pan. It could be because my house was a bit cold but the loaves didn't rise as much as bread I've made using traditional methods. The flavour is very good. Made for Potluck tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I followed the instructions.. and I'm not sure if it's my yeast or not, but the bread tasted a little too yeasty to me. So, next batch I think I'll only use 1 tbl of yeast this time. (I used the bulk yeast, so who knows if it was standard or rapid rise). My loaf also didn't oven spring as much as I thought it should, but that I think it's because I didn't use the pizza stone (too many reports of cracking and I didn't want to risk it). But I still have more dough left, more room for trial and error!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Artisan Boule Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1575 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 793.1
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    64%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1756.8 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 160.0 g
    53%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes