Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Artichokes Roasted Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Artichokes Roasted

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2012

      OMG! I loved these roasted artichokes! I must, first, admit that I subsituted the thyme with rosemary - and I loved the taste of the rosemary, with these artichokes. This was such a brillant way to cook the artichokes - I have never roasted artichokes, in the oven, before. I found that, this is, by far, the easiest and most stress-free way to cook artichokes. I can't imagine that I will cook them any other way again! The roasted taste was absolutely yummy. By cutting the artichokes in half, they also looked so beautiful, on the plate, with the cut side up. It is best to then turn the artichokes over (with the cut side down), in order to eat them; however, the presentation of the cut side up was lovely, almost looking like a flower. The presentation and the ease of cooking them (and also eating them) make it so much more dinner party-friendly, than some of the other ways of cooking/serving artichokes. I did add the 1/4 cup water that the posting chef mentioned that she would probably do next time - and I believe that it really added more moisture and allowed for more efficent steaming. I also did not have whole lemon (or lemon slices), on hand, so I used lemon juice and minced garlic, when placing them underneath each artichoke half, before placing them in the oven. Once the artichokes were finished roasting, I sprinkled only the salt on each one (I did not add the lemon slices or sprinkle additional garlic on them). Instead, once I had removed the artichokes from the pan, I added butter and garlic to the pan drippings (using enough butter to make a dipping sauce, for as many people, as needed). I stirred the butter, garlic, and pan drippings, while the pan was still very hot, until the butter was completly melted, and then poured the entire combination, into individual dipping bowels. Wow!!!! Was it fantastic!!!! (I must admit that, according the the diners at my table, the rosemary, in the dipping ssauce, really added to the flavor). This is a beautiful, extraordinary, absolutely yummy dish (that can be served, as either a side dish or as a whole, light meal). I highly recommend it and kudos to the chef, for posting, such an amazing recipe!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Thanks Barb,
      Living in CA I've cooked a lot of artichokes, and these are a keeper. They do need a bit of water (4 Tb for my 2 artichokes) to insure they steam properly, and checking every 5 min after about the 40 min mark is a good idea.

      Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      So very yummy. I've made these twice in the past two weeks and our artichoke plants are just starting to produce, so I will get to make more soon!! I just used 2 tsp olive oil and 2 cloves of garlic tonight with a small pat of butter added right before serving and it was wonderful as well. I can't imagine steaming my chokes ever again if they are going to be eaten plain. 50 minutes seems to be the magic cook time for me, and I definitely agree with adding the 1/4 cup of water to the pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      The crispy edges are really the best thing about these. I couldn't get mine to cook properly though. I had huge artichokes, so maybe that 1/4 cup of water just wasn't enough? I cooked them for 80-85 minutes and the top half was too al dente. The bottom half and heart were soft (almost too soft) and the garlic cloves were really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      Excellent way to prepare artichokes. My new go-to recipe. Super simple and comes out perfectly at the 40 minute mark for me. I make 3 at a time and wrap up the leftovers to microwave for lunch and I think they're even more tender and perfect when reheated than when fresh out of the oven! Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      I wanted to put some fresh artichokes on pizza but knew that boiling would leave them too wet. I roast most of my vegetables to bring out the best flavor but never thought of roasting artichokes. This was perfect ! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      This was really good and very easy. Next time I will add more lemon and possibly peppercorns as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for posting. This is a nice change from the usual stove top steaming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      My husband loved the intense flavor this recipe gave the artichokes. After cutting the vegetables in half I cleaned the fuzzy choke out of the artichoke. I placed extra crushed garlic cloves and sliced lemons around chokes, and a dozen whole pepper corns. After baked covered for 50 minutes I removed the foil, spooned out the soft garlic, salted the chokes and cooked them uncovered an additional 10 minutes. The garlic I mashed into 2 tablespoon of a good mayonaise and served it as a dip on the side. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      My family loved this and I loved how easy it was to make. I didn't use the thyme but the lemon and the garlic were cooked to perfection, my kids ate them also!!! Will make this often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      The best artichokes I've ever had. I loved the ease of roasting them in the oven, and loved cutting them in half for a beautiful presentation. I did remove the choke before baking, and next time I will rub the cut edges with lemon immediately - I can't believe how quickly they start to brown. I omitted the lemon slices and thyme for personal taste, but did add in the extra quarter cup of water as suggested, and baked them in a foil packet since I was only doing one artichoke. It was done to perfection in 50 minutes, and all I did was season with salt & pepper - no butter or mayo needed because they were so perfectly delicious. Thank you for this recipe - I will serve artichokes more often now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I think this is a great way to cook artichokes. The pan juices are so flavorful, you don't even need butter! I followed the other reviewers' lead and both lined and sealed the pan with foil. Thanks Barb, I'll definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      This is now my hands down FAVORITE way to cook artichokes. I followed the recipe exactly and even though no one else in my family cares for artichokes, I was in *pure heaven*!!!!!! They were cooked perfectly in 50 minutes and the flavor of the garlic and lemon was just perfect! I did add 1/4 cup of water in the metal pan when cooking and also sealed with foil. OH and I DID remove the "choke" (purple and stringy center) with a knife and spoon after I cut it in half then rinsed before roasting. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      We both loved the flavor, but found the 'chokes a little difficult to eat, relative to the usual way of doing them. I think you really need ultra-tender babies for this recipe. That said, I have to say the cold ones were fabulous for my lunch the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      What a wonderful way to cook artichokes! I normally just steam them in the microwave, but this method was quick and easy for six artichokes. The only thing the family didn't care for was the touch of lemon flavor. It was a bit of a distraction from the lovely artichoke flavor. I'll just leave it out next time. We served with melted butter, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      Scrumptious! I cooked 2 artichokes using this method, putting them into an 8-inch square pan....they didn't quite fit snugly, so I lined the pan with Release foil, laid the arties in there and bunched the foil up around them, then added a little water (as Barb suggested she'd do next time she made them) and then sealed the whole thing with foil on top. They were perfect after 50 minutes and I served them with melted butter. Very, very good. I'm so happy to have another method of cooking my favorite veggie! Thanks so much Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Artichokes Roasted

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.4
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    64%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 122.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites