32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

the cups didn't crisp as much as i was hoping but that might be because i drizzled the muffin tins in olive oil instead of coating the wontons with cooking spray, which i will do next time, possibly on both sides. very versatile recipe though, could use a little pepper imo. would be good with spinach to cut the richness i think. i may use this filled with my spinach artichoke dip
update:
the wontons crisp much better when sprayed/brushed lightly with oil on both sides, just be careful not to over grease. this time i went very simple with marinated artichokes, light cream cheese, a little light parmesan, and a bit of feta in a blender. much lighter and less greasy then the mozza and mayo and the marinated type have much more flavor then the canned

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto March 15, 2011

Really good!!! Took me about 45 minutes start to finish. I used my food processor to chop artichokes, then blend everything. I used artichoke hearts instead of quarters.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 October 08, 2011

These are great (and super easy) appetizers! I added some sauteed spinach and they were like little personal spinach-artichoke dip bites and also added a few dashes of hot sauce to the mix. So so so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDfoodie December 23, 2009

Awesome easy appy that comes together in a flash, but looks fancy smanchy! The only thing that I will add next time would be a little hot sauce to the mixture or you can add after once they are cooked if you like. Couple tips: I lined up the wontons on waxed paper to spray them first and may spray both sides next time. I also put the cheese mixture in a ziploc and cut off the corner for make-shift pastry bag for SUPER easy filling of the wonton shells. I will definitely be making again, Happy Cooking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dc lesucre November 30, 2009

Very good and very easy to make. I chopped everything up with a few pulses of the food processor. I baked the wonton wrappers ahead of time, and set aside. I finished them off when I got to the party. Worked out well and were enjoyed by all! Thanks for a great appy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour December 11, 2008

I made this for my Bunco group and everyone loved it. I used mini phyllo cups instead of wontons which made it super easy. Could have made 1/2 the filling with this approach. This is an easy appetizer that will be popular. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas November 18, 2013

Really liked these, although I was left wondering what phyllo would have been like in place of the wonton. May have to try that. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom August 05, 2009

I can't believe that I have not yet reviewed this awesome recipe! I have made these at least 10 times and they are one of my most requested appetizers! They are super easy to put together and so tasty! We have a few vegetarians in the family so these are always welcomed by the both the meat and not meat eaters. I usually sub the garlic and onion powders with chopped fresh garlic and green onions. I was just putting them on the menu for DD's graduation party when I realized I hadn't ever reviewed! Thank you for an appetizer we've been enjoying and will continue to enjoy for years to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM June 06, 2009

This was a GREAT recipe! I used frozen phillo pastry dough instead of wonton wrappers and put them into regular sized muffin tins to form cups. I baked them for 8 minutes at 350 to brown them. The phillo dough was such a crunchy flaky texture that added a lot to the dish and gave my guests four bites to enjoy rather than one bite sized app. I baked the mixture ahead of time since I had to travel with them and then put them back into the oven for 15 minutes once I arrived at the party to warm, they tasted GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin Bean April 13, 2009

Outstanding little appetizer here folks, and ones we will enjoy for many years!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlee February 14, 2009
Artichoke Wonton Cups