Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Artichoke Chicken Calzones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Artichoke Chicken Calzones

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2012

      My family loved this! I didnt understand the recipe's instruction for what to do with the artichoke hearts and how to cook the chicken. So I diced up the chicken and cooked it in a pan with a liitle olive oil, a clove of freshly crushed garlic and salt and pepper. I then added that to the bowl of spinach and I chopped the artichokes into smaller pieces so that they would all blend together. Instead of Provolone I used mozzarella and Feta. And for my dairy allergic son I threw in a dollop of Tofutti's dairy free cream cheese. The pizza crust I use came from my Grocery store's bakery (Publix). They cooked up fast and perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Wow, this is great! The filling was perfectly moist and flavorful (I was afraid it might turn out dry and bland), and it was very filling with the healthy ingredients. We dip it in marinara, and last time we subbed fresh chopped basil for the spinach with marvelous results. This is our go-to recipe for leftover chicken and a eal we always look forward to - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      Deeelicious! I used mozzarrella but can't wait to try this with provolone. It is a great change from typical pizza ingredients and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I loved these! I made them the other day and it turns out that they freeze really well also. I know that I will be making these often because they are great to take to work for lunch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I'm giving this 5 stars though I changed the recipe a bit. I loved the idea of chicken with artichokes in a calzone. I made my own dough that had some nice italian-style spices, which kicked up the chicken (we felt). I left out the spinach leaves but added a bit of basil pesto, not much, just enough to make up for the greens. We did use marinara for dunking, a must for this recipe. I will be doing this one again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Oh my GAWD....SOOO good. I did add about a tablespoon of Mayonaise to get the filling to hold together a bit and used a 6 cheese italian mix. They re-heat well at 50% power for about 3 minutes so the crust doesn't get rubbery. Delicious...will make these at least once a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I used the Kittencal's Garlic-Lovers Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine recipe for my pizza crust and used a little less garlic because I wasn't sure if the garlic would be overpowering...it wasn't! I made too much filling though, so I'll probably use the rest up with a commercial pizza crust. But I really love these calzones. They are very nutritious and you could probably make them without the meat and use asparagus or some other vegetable as a filler. This is a nice change from the traditional pizza filling. I also added some extra garlic, basil and onion powder (as suggested by another reviewer) and it seemed to be a good blend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Oh My!!!! absolutely excellent. Used chicken tenderloins which I had on hand, sauteed in olive oil, garlic powder and pepper. My prepared dough came from Trader Joes. For my cheese I used an already shredded Italian blend cheese. I have left over filling that I froze and will be adding to an omelette this weekend> Thanks for an excellent post. Edit to post, I brought the leftover calzone to work and everyone asked where I got it.I split a bunch up to taste and everyone loved it. Guess what I will be doing next buffet??!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      I decided to review this again because the first time I did, I mentioned that they were excellent in combination with the marinara sauce, but alone, the calzones didn't have enough seasoning for me. The second time I made them, to suit my demanding taste buds, I added fresh basil, more garlic, and some onion powder and they were just perfect! This is such an incredible recipe that you can adjust over and over again to create different tastes. And like Longhorn Mama suggested, I waited a while before wrapping the leftovers and they were nice and crispy still the next day. This is an easy, healthy, and delicious recipe that everyone should try! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      From an article on what to eat after a workout and one of the CL's staff favorites, so you know it's good. Makes a good packed lunch, just reheat in a microwave or toaster oven. Directions also say to allow to come to room temperature before wrapping to keep it from getting soggy. I've made this several times and we've really enjoyed it, very easy too. Great for a quick dinner and a nice change from a sandwich in a packed lunch. Thanks, Tiffany, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Artichoke Chicken Calzones

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.8
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    43%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 34.9 mg
    11%
    Sodium 474.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prepared pizza crust

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites