130 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I copied Yooper and served this bread with lasagna. This bread is gooey good! My friends and I enjoyed so much. It is a nice alternative to usual garlic bread. A keeper!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC August 26, 2002

This was super! I adore artichokes, and combined with the cheese, it was just great. I served this bbqed chicken and ribs and this was the talk of the table. I've never had anything quite like this before, and it really was deliscious!!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty January 12, 2003

This was dinner last night, along with some chicken noodle soup I had already made. Everyone loved it. I was wondering whether it might be a nice hors d'oevre, cut in small slices, but there wasn't any left to see if I could cut it up small; it was devoured right from the oven. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but substituted Smart Balance for the butter, and used all low fat cheeses.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie November 09, 2002

You really don't need another review of this recipe, but I can't resist. Yep..it's fantastic. I had to make a special trip to the store for the sesame seeds, and then was disappointed when I couldn't really taste them. So, all of you that don't have sesame seeds on hand, don't fret...make this anyway. However, do make sure to use the foil as it will dry out without it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema March 03, 2003

Cher dear do you have a WINNER here! All everyone could say was "Wow" I made this for Sunday dinner yesterday at my parents. Served with pasta, and I didn't eat barely any of my pasta got to filled up on this delicious bread!!! I can't wait to make it again, thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH January 06, 2003

This was fantastic and so easy to make. I had some reservations about trying it because nobody in the house has ever really been wild about artichokes, but they certainly add to this bread. Everyone loved it. We decided next time we could just make a meal of this bread and a salad. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. January 20, 2004

I made this for a stamping party and got rave reviews and several people asked me for the recipe! I didn't have sesame seeds and I don't think I would put the cheese on top next time. I also like spicy so I would probably throw in some green chilis or jalapenos, but this was a great and easy appetizer!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJBurns November 16, 2003

Wow!!! Simply amazing recipe! I had people over for dinner last night, and made lasagna and decided to try this instead of the usual garlic bread. It went over bigtime! Everyone gobbled it up and asked if I had a backup second loaf! Thanks Cher, you done good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper August 12, 2002

I made and served this at a luncheon for 30 people. It accompanied another recipe from this site, the Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta. What a pair! This bread is very filling and would be great served with soup, or on it's own as an appetizer. We made it just like the recipe called, except we omitted the sesame seeds. I think some fresh parsley or fresh chopped spinach would be great for flavor and color!! This is a definite winner in our circle of friends!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldieloxx7 August 15, 2010

I can see where this would be appealing based on preferences, but it was much too rich for us and our adult son, too. Thanks, anyway!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse July 15, 2010
Artichoke Bread