169 Reviews

I thought this was excellent! I used miracle whip instead of mayo because of the comments that the meal was rich. I also added spinach and mushrooms into the mixture. I then topped the dish with breadcrumbs. This will definitely become part of the meal rotation at my house!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K James January 22, 2012

This has turned into my hubbys favorite meal, and has turned into a must have dinner. I just recently tried some of the tips on the other comments, and used 2/4 cup mayo (the kind made with olive oil) and the last 1/4 cup using light sour cream and it was fabulous! I also used the marinated artichoke hearts over the regular ones, the flavor is just delish! Truly one of my favorite meals to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jayde noctus October 25, 2011

I have a recipe for Artichoke dip that has the exact same ingredience (less the chicken) so I decided to try this. The only change I made was I added about a 1/4 cup of half and half to water down the artichoke mixture. I didn't make it runny, just a little less thick than it is. I served this over a bed of white rice along with side salads and garlic bread. It was a major hit!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alwayskissthecook October 17, 2011

As written, I give this recipe 4 stars, but dressed up it's defintiely worthy of 5. To the sauce I added some fresh herbs (oregano, basil) and chopped roasted red pepper and topped the whole thing with some itialian bread crumbs. It was defintely a hit and will be added to the regular rotation. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dubvanj November 18, 2010

I can see why this recipe is so highly rated! It is super delicious. I halved the recipe (2 chicken breasts for two people) and baked it in an 8" square dish. Worked out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneEyedDogMama May 11, 2009

made an error on first review with prep time sorry. pre time is 5 minutes and what a wonderful dish. easy and elegant. made it for my mom amd dad and they all raved. will be making this one again and again. thanks so much for sharing. i served w/ mashed potatoes and brocclli.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica Livesay October 11, 2003

This dish turned out to be among the best tasting chicken dishes we have ever made. Our first time ever to use artichokes in cooking. I used instead the hearts from fresh artichokes because the bottled artichokes had such a high sodium content. (I used fresh artichokes from Trader Joe's which were also cheap at $2.29 for a pack of 4). I also used trimmed chicken legs and thighs, fat free mayonnaise and light salt. I adjusted the ingredients and time to 6 to 8 servings and still baked at 375 deg as per recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
member5 October 24, 2013

I make this also, but I put all the ingredients into the crockpot until chicken shreds and is cooked through. I serve it with homemade noodles and mashed potatoes all piled into a bowl or on a plate. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wsegulin July 17, 2013

I loved this! I used half low fat sour cream and half smart balance mayo. I also added a good bit of basil and oregano as per other reviewers suggestion and I can't imagine making this without those spices. This is one of the better chicken dishes I have made in a while. I will definitely make this again, and probably soon! My hubs is obsessed with anything artichoke and he loved it too, btw. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenleighd August 30, 2011

The only thing I did differently was to add some fresh mushrooms. I think with that being said, I would use canned mushrooms instead or sauté them first, because it added a bit of water to the sauce. Oh, I also used artichoke bottoms instead of heart (what I had on hand). Per some reviews, I think I will try ½ mayo and ½ sour cream next time just to see how it turns out because I think it broke a bit. Very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom March 15, 2011
Artichoke and Chicken Bake