Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arroz Verde (Green Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arroz Verde (Green Rice)

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2003

      This is the best rice dish I have ever put in my mouth. It is different from anything I have ever eaten. The flavors are wonderful. I will now be serving this for guests (as well as family) from now on because it is so impressive. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      This really is a wonderfully imaginative way of fixing white rice. The flavor was incredible and went equally well with both chicken and steak, though I can definitely see how it would be satisfying alone with a glass of wine! Thanks, PetitFour. I will make this one again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This rice is absolutely delicious! A few months ago we had some extra cilantro and spinach in the house, so I came onto RZ to find something to use them for. I am so happy I came across and decided to try this recipe because it is now one of our family favorites. We've made it several times and it always comes out perfectly. I'd never made a rice dish with milk in it before, but don't let that turn you away! This one is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      I am a rice lover and this was exceptional, and beautiful too. I served this with grilled chicken breast and glazed carrots, I also served it on ice blue plates, it was a beautiful presentation. The cilantro flavour was so subtle, even non cilantro loving people would enjoy this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      I love cilantro and wanted to serve this to my vegan guests, so I substituted veggie broth from a dry mix (surprisingly good, btw) for the chicken stock and milk, and margarine for the butter. Delicious! I thought it was a very good Mexican rice side dish. Smelled wonderful while cooking, too! Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      this is a beautiful, incredibly flavorful rice dish. the green color looks wonderful and i didn't tell my sons that it was from spinach and cilantro. we all loved it and i will double it next time. we all wanted seconds! i served it with grilled sausages and marinated tomatoes - a nice, colorful plate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      This is stupendous! So beautiful and aromatic. I've been making this for years, since I first got the recipe from you on another cooking site. You have a talent for sharing the BEST recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      I made this the first time for my brother's fiancee's wedding showeer and everyone thought it was so yummy. I have made it several times since then. My husband hates cilantro and loves it. My kids hate things that are green and they love it. I serve it with stuffed pork tenderloin with cilantro-lime pesto. Big flavors, smells wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Yuuuuumm... this dish has a really authentic flavor. I made this with brown rice rather than white, so I increased the cooking times a little. I also subbed turkey stock and baby spinach leaves. Excellent, though. I'll be making this again! I actually had this with fish, but I think I will have to break out the recipe again next time I make enchiladas or tacos. Super easy, too! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      While I served this rice with grilled chicken, it's easy to imagine how good it would be with chicken enchiladas. I also plan to try it without cilantro as a base for florentine dishes. Since we're concerned about fat, I browned the rice in only 1 tbs. of butter which seemed to work fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Excellent rice! I used all olive oil and reduced the amount to about 2T. I also used fat-free milk. It is so fragrant and pretty...an excellent side dish. If served with crumbled feta cheese on top it could become a vegetarian main course (vegetable stock could be easily substituted for the chicken stock in that case).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      I tried making this once in my rice maker and failed horribly; I just tried again following the instructions exactly and got lovely, fluffy rice. The flavor is nice but understated, making this a good companion dish to something with a bit of kick. The only change I made was to use 3 more Tsp olive oil instead of the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Really good. I even had to improvise with several ingredients and it was still very good. Will definitely make again -- with the right ingredients. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      My sister made this with swiss chard and it was wonderful. I made it with the spinach and it's good too. This is a great recipe to use up your dark greens for summer BBQs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      My husband and I loved it. I used frozen spinach and still tasted absolutely delicious. Thanks for a great recipe, P4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Fabulous!! We eat green rice at a local Mexican restaurant a lot since it is my boyfriends favorite. He was so impressed when I made green rice with this recepi!! Sooo good:) I will definetly make it again...many times!! Thank you for the wonderful recepi!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This was excellent! I had to cook it a little longer than the 20 minutes with some more liquid so it would be soft throughout, but the taste was great! This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Definitely worth making once and will probably make again. Needs more water - unless you like your rice crunchy. Just use salty stock and forget that 1tsp salt! Can get away with half the butter too. Overall, pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      We liked this rice. The flavor is a little mild, but it is good and very fresh tasting. I used low fat milk & FF stock, added a little extra salt and 3 extra garlic cloves. I served with steak tacos, which was a good combo. It also would have been great in a burrito. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      While this is really good, I probably won't make again due to the amount of fat in it. Thanks for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arroz Verde (Green Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.5
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    32%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 35.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 738.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites