Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arroz Mexicana (Mexican Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arroz Mexicana (Mexican Rice)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2013

      Good rice and not too spicy; just the way we like it. I used red pepper instead of green, but otherwise made as written. Made 1/2 the recipe since just DH and I eat rice. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Very good rice, made as per recipe except that I omitted the carrot and upped the green pepper. A good flavour without being overpowering, I doubled the recipe because we often eat rice and its good to have already cooked rice convenient in the fridge or freezer! Thank you, much enjoyed, made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      loved this just used frozen mixed veggies in this easy good flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      We thought this was a very nice version of Mexican rice. The ancho chile powder gave it just the right amount of heat and a good earthy/smoky flavor. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      Nice side dish! I used chicken stock and for the oregano Mexican oregano. Will make it again because it's a nice way to combine rice and veggies :) Thanks for sharing!
      Made for ZWT 8 / Mexico for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      I absolutely love this rice! I have tried to make Mexican rice a million different ways and never feel like it's just right. This was it! Have made it twice in a week's time and will make it again! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This was a nice side dish to the chicken fajitas recipe that I made tonight. I used fresh tomato from the garden and I followed the ingredient list as posted. It has just the right amount of heat. I thought it needed salt. I used a combination of beef and veal stock. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      We love our rice and I am always searching for new ways to make it for my family. This is just what I was looking for with lots of flavor and not mushy at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      A nice Mexican Rice! I added a few sprigs of cilantro and otherwise followed the directions. Next time I might add just a bit of salt. I loved the veggies in it. I'm taking this to a Mexican Fiesta tomorrow at work. ThAnks Chef PotP! ZWT 5 Viva las REynas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Wow easy and delicious! I would not change a thing about this recipe. I did add some green beans I had a bit frozen that needed using up. Excellent. This was my first time using dried ancho chile powder, had to go to 2 super markets to finally get it. Glad I went that extra mile. Thank you for sharing and will make again. I served this with Tex-Mex Pork Chops, and sweet carrots. Yummy dinner we had :yummy: Made for team "Cooks With Dirty Faces for ZWT5"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This was really simple and very good! Since I got my rice cooker I've been VERY lazy about making any rice dish stove top. For this one I sauteed the onion, garlic, and carrot and then added the rice for about 5 minutes as directed. Then I dumped everything in the rice cooker with the remaining ingredients, stirred, and cooked on the regular white rice setting. Turned out perfect! I cut the chili powder to 1 1/2 TBSP and the heat was fine for the kids (1 and 5). The 1 YO ate more than me I think! Thanks Pot Pie for yet another winner! Made for ZWT 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      this was a pleasant surprise, so flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Lots of flavor! I didn't have peas or corn and still came out wonderfully. I also used just regular chili powder. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      This was made for ZWTIII. As was pointed out by Rita, the 1 1/2 cups of broth is not nearly enough liquid to cook the 2 cups of rice. The ancho chile powder adds depth and color to the dish. For my personal preferance, I will reduce the amount of cumin next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Nice and spicy. You can make a meal out of this! I used 1 tablespoon ancho powder, red and yellow bell pepper in place of the green and I had to way more then double the water 1 1/2 cups just won`t do for 2 cups of rice. I loved the cumin in this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This was a good recipe and easy to cut in half I used green and red peppers and corn and added some jalepeno for added heat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arroz Mexicana (Mexican Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.2
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    10%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 310.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes