Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arroz Doce (Portuguese Sweet Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arroz Doce (Portuguese Sweet Rice)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2006

      Traditionally, you're supposed to put the water and milk together to boil in the pot, along with a cinnamon stick and lemon rind. It makes a cinnamon-flavoured milk. Arborio rice (Italian rice) produces the best result since it needs to be "sticky". A staple dessert in Portuguese culture, and I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      Thank you so much Jennie for this great recipe. My DH is Portuguese and I have been trying to duplicate the Arroz Doce recipe for YEARS. My DH family cooks by "eyeballing it" therefor making it hard to duplicate perfectly. I did add vanilla and a bit more milk as I didn't use whole milk but 1% instead. My DH couldn't wait to eat it chilled as I am told how it should be eaten but he ate it warm and steamy. Our little one has fallen in love with another time honored portuguese dish not to mention we had fun together creating cinnamon designs on top. Obrigada!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      My mom used to make this dessert on some sundays and on special occasions. I saw this recipe and it is exactly how my mom used to make it. I made it for our Christmas Family Celebration and my family were impressed on how it was exactly the same. My mom is no longer with us but it sure did bring back fond memories. In regards to cooking the rice, it needs to be cooked just as if you were making rice. Once the water evaporates, that's when you add the milk and other ingredients. The other ingredient that's not listed here is butter 1/4 cup. Also it comes out better using whole milk!!! Cant wait to make it again!!1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      excellent easy to make and whole family loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This taste ALMOST as good as the one my mom makes . . . HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!! Very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I adapted this for my rice cooker! I just put it all in, pressed cook and stirred once. I used the measurements on my cooker and used the porridge cycle. I also took other suggestions of using egg yolk. DELICIOUS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Oh yes, this is a must at every Portuguese table when ever is a festivity occasion,but I do agree with Portuguese Mom, you are supposed to put the milk and water together,along with the cinnamon stick and lemon peel. In the northern part of Portugal we add egg yolk to our, that way your rice is nice and yellow. I tried it your way and it turned out lovely, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I added raisins and it was still amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Fabulous recipe! I did not or would not change a thing. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe and a favourite of mine. Traditionally the water and milk are boiled together but other than that you have hit on the nose. I have also had it with vanilla pudding added, it makes for an even richer taste. Thank you Jennie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Adding a pinch of salt also helps enhance the flavour. Portuguese cooks also add tempered egg yolks at the end to make it richer, definitely one of the most nostalgis Portuguese deserts ever, thanks Jennie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      Great recipe. Brought back memories of mom and her rice pudding. I'd like to suggest one tsp of vanilla extract to go with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arroz Doce (Portuguese Sweet Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.7
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    59%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 65.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh lemon rind

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes