Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arroz con Pollo (Baked Chicken and Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arroz con Pollo (Baked Chicken and Rice)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2003

      I used boneless skinless chicken breasts because I had some that neeeded to be cooked. I didn't have any saffron so I added about 1/16 tsp of turmeric. I found it very easy, very good and the type of dish I like to make during the week after I've worked all day. Next time I prepare it I might decrease the red pepper to 1/4 tsp just to compare the difference. I may play around with it and add more tomatoes or then maybe not, however,I don't feel the recipe really needs any changes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      This was a very tasty dish. I really thought the rice especially was very good - I did use saffron but reduced the heat by cutting the cayenne by half (I was serving to a child). It baked up rich and tender and was very attractive. The chicken was also quite flavorful, although I think the 20 minute browning time was a bit too long - some pieces were a little too dry. Next time, I would probably cut the browning time in half. I also wished the peas had been cooked with the rice - they remained colorful by adding them at the end, but didn't have the rich flavors of the other veggies that had been cooked with the rice. Still, this was very enjoyable and was enjoyed by all tasters.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      Very nice! This is filling and great one dish meal with all of the veggies. Very colorful presentation too, and a little kick from the cayenne pepper. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Great, easy recipe. I love cooking chicken and rice together. I thought the flavors were great and enjoyed the addition of saffron. My family really liked this recipe. Made for ZWT8 Spain. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      We really enjoyed this for our dinner last night. I used 4 chicken quarters (leg/thigh) and doubled the rice and chicken stock. I just seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper to our tastes and left out the cayenne pepper. Just loved how moist and tender the chicken turned out and the rice was so nicely flavored from the peppers and veggies. I served this with Adapted Columbia Restaurant 1905 Salad Recipe and some Cuban bread. Made for the "Pick A Pepper" challenge for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Thanks for dinner! We had peppers and tomatoes from the garden and loved using them. I used the saffron, but not the cayenne because I like flavor but not heat. Very easy and can see me making it again. Thanks Nan! Made for ZWT8's visit to Spain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      We really liked this and I think I will put it in my regular rotation. I was wanting arroz con pollo like we get at the restaurants so I sub'd two large chicken breasts for the cut chicken. I found the end result too salty so will reduce the salt next time. Also omitted the green pepper and cayenne altogether due to family preferance. Also I stirred in the frozen peas at step 9 as was suggested by other reviewers and was pleased with the result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Really good. I substituted a can of pinto beans (rinsed) for the peas, and it turned out very well. Will make this again...and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This was pretty good and an easy way to use up peppers and tomatoes from the garden. I used a hot pepper instead of the cayenne pepper. I also added black beans instead of peas as I am on a high fiber diet. I would make this again, it was light and fresh from the use of the garden vegies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I also used boneless skinless chicken breasts and sauted them for just a few minutes. I also substituted 1/2 box of frozen spinach (husband is allergic to peas). I went light on the cayenne and still found it a little spicy so stirred in a little sour cream before serving. Fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arroz con Pollo (Baked Chicken and Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 650.9
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    39%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1091.2 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 34.4 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites