Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arroz a la Mexicana-Traditional Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arroz a la Mexicana-Traditional Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2002

      Excellent spanish rice with great flavor. Very easy to make and the taste compares to restaurants. I didn't add cilantro, but I will next time. It should help bring out the taste of the tomato, which isn't very tasty this time of year. Goes great with Diana's Refried Beans recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      The "Fam" loved this rice! My daughter ate 2 helpings. I liked it alot, but it was missing something, which I think is the fact that tomatoes are so crummy around here in December - mostly "wood," as I call it. I am definitely going to make it again, and recommend this as a great side dish to any Mexican treat. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      This is the recipe I've been searching for! My daughter is a spanish rice afficionado, and she likes the kind they serve in Mexican restaurants. All of the recipes I've tried are too tomato-saucy, gloppy, and heavy. This came out perfect! I only used onion, tomato, and 1/2 can green chilis (my bunch don't like food real hot). I followed the recipe exactly, and thought I'd have to add more water, but it came out fluffy and just right. I simmered it over a VERY low flame. After it was all done, I realized I hadn't added salt, but it was right for us. GOOD STUFF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2002

      Whoa...spicy!! But that was a good thing because I love firey dishes! If you aren't up for the heat, make sure you deseed the hot peppers. This was easy to make and the cilantro was a nice touch. I did have to add a lot more stock than the recipe indicated, but that could be down to the type of rice I used. It wasn't a big deal because you can just add a little more until it's cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This is just like the rice my mom taught me how to make. TIP: For those of us who do not like chunks of onion in our rice, but love the flavor, puree the onion and garlic along with the tomato. You get the same great taste without spoiling the texture of the rice!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      This rice was very good. I did not add any of the optional ingredients, but think they would greatly enhance the dish. It was easy to prepare. I will definitely make it again with the optionals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      This turned out exactly like the authentic Mexican restaurants. My family enjoyed this and we will be keeping the recipe. I used most of the optional ingredients, minus the peas, and we served the corn on the side. I did use 2 roasted roma tomatoes instead of 1, chopped carrots, 3 roasted chiles and cilantro, and about 2-1/2 cups of the chicken broth along with the onion and garlic. Served along side my cheese enchiladas. Very, very yummy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

    • on February 13, 2010

      We loved this rice. It was perfect for how we like mexican rice to be. I am so excited we found this recipe, we all loved it. Thank you , thank you, thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Very good mexican rice. I had some leftover sundried tomatoes from some appetizers I made previously, so I also added these. It tasted very good. My picky eaters who do not like rice (except for white rice), really liked it also. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is very good but I did have to add 1T cumin to amp up the flavor. I used a can of drained stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. I used roasted corn, roasted carrots, and a roasted poblano pepper. I ended up using 3 cups of chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful rice. Perfect with any mexican dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      very good! i added most of the optional ingredients and left out the jalapenos. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Yum! Of all of the optional ingredients, I only added jalapenos since I had a bunch from the garden. Also, in place of the tomato, I used a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes /w green chilies. Served with fajitas for a delicious dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      This is a fantastic rice recipe! It works OK in a rice cooker, just skip step 5.. it comes out perfect. My add-ins were roasted tomato, poblano pepper and tomatillo. I highly recommend this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Great rice! I used canned tomatoes rather than fresh. Also, as other reviewers have noted, you might need to add more broth as the rice cooks. I used almost 3 cups of broth. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      this recipe turned out great! just like what you'd find here in okla at a mexican restaurant. my only change was that i sub'd out the tomato for 1/2 cup roasted tomato salsa. added the carrots to the onion mixture to carmelize them and added a dash of frozen peas the last 2 min of cooking time to keep them fresh. in the last posters negative experience, you learn as you go along to keep an eye on the pan and add more moisture as you go, no matter what the recipe calls for. everyones stove top/skillet cooks differently and the type of rice you use will change your liquid needs. i'd recommend they give this great recipe another try. will make this with our weekly Sunday night Mexican Feast! Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Too much onion. i cut the amount of onion in half and this recipe was killer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Liquids dried up quickly and this recipe was ruined. The crunchy dried remains were thrown out. I think the reason was because as the broth was simmering, it was also quickly evaporating. What remained was not enough to finish cooking the rice. I just followed the instructions and it was a disaster. Be careful with this recipe and read the reviews on how others got it to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was FANTASTIC! So fresh and flavorful, I will make again and again. My husband thinks most rice dishes are 'blah' and he loved this one. I used a roated green pepper, roasted tomato, onion, garlic & carrot. I had to add another 1 1/2 cups chicken broth 1/2 way through cooking, but it came out perfectly. This is a winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arroz a la Mexicana-Traditional Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    12%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 579.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites