12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awsome Orzo Evelyn! It brought back memories from my childhood. Made exactly as stated - the lamb was definitely well done...next time I will reduce time by 20 minutes for a bit of pinkness. Thank you so much for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson February 21, 2009

Just like Yaya's! I used this recipe a couple of times, once with leg of lamb and the other with Lamb Shanks... (Both Excellent)went a bit heavier on the lemon and used an extra clove of Garlic... My family went nuts!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikes Philadelphia Kitchen October 28, 2007

This was made for Sunday dinner but with some changes. The garlic, lemon juice and oregano were increased, absolutely delicious Evelyn, we really enjoyed this lamb dish, thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen May 21, 2006

The person who complained and compared this dish to a restaurant made dish doesn't understand the difference between a homemade recipe and eating out. I never have a meal I like at a Greek restaurant because I was raised on my mother's home cooked Greek meals, and nothing ever compares eating out. This recipe is traditional and it's delicious. If you don't like it, you just don't like authentic Greek food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosystef December 07, 2013

I am troubled how so many people can rave about this. I have arni youvetsi before from greek restaurants. It's come out bubbling hot, with chunks of lamb and topped with kasseri cheese. I thought this recipe would be the same, and that the lamb would just fall off the bone. It did not. Even after the full cook time I thought i would be able to shred it, but i could not. It was just a big lamb leg sitting in a pot of sauce basically. I mean, maybe im confused, is this how people eat it?? Also, I got a 3lb leg for my husband and me. It was barely enough meat just for me. THe fact that this recipe says 5 lbs for 8 people is crazy. Lamb legs are about $8 per pound and there is not a ton of meat on them. For 8 people I would say you need 6 or 7 lbs for people to get good chunks with their orzo. I had to take the leg off and then cut off the meat, chop it up and put it in the pot. it was a pain. if people give me reccomendations that would be great. I bumped in to a chef at whole foods who told me to use a lamb shank... maybe ill try that next time. I was very disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondieBar January 09, 2011

This was delicious! I had some leftover leg of lamb from a dinner which I cut up and put together with the orzo for more of a casserole-type dish. I was also out of wine so I used beef stock which was almost as good. The kids didn't care for it but that's pretty typical around here. Thanks evelyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAMS_Club January 16, 2008

Excellent recipe! My family would give this more than 5 stars, only thing i did was add more garlic and used a combination of fresh and canned tomatoes. We really couldn't stop eating this!! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara October 30, 2006

I decided to have a "Greek" theme dinner party, and used this recipe for the lamb roast. It was tender, tasty and enjoyed by all my guests and a lovely combination of herbs. The risone pasta is great with the flavours from the roast - Yum!! I generally stick to recipes the way they are written, but since lamb is so expensive, will happily try this sometime with beef or chicken - what a great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tansy. October 28, 2006

Ev, this is wonderful. I can't get lamb so used chicken. The dish is just wonderful, savory and tender. If you use chicken, it's like a Greek version of cacciatore, only better! I would recommend this to anyone...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dragon Mom June 25, 2006
Arni Youvetsi (Lamb and Orzo)