Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Army & Lou's Soul Food Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Army & Lou's Soul Food Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      I had tried every recipe from Paula Deen to Alton Brown...this one has the best creamy taste with a little of the casserole texture! LOVE LOVE It!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      My husband and I are from Chicago, we know good food, and this is it! Easy to prepare, and the ingredients combine into delicious eating. We used bow tie pasta and it was very good. Give this one at try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Made this recipe for TG this season, after secretly suffering with own mac and cheese for years. But when I saw Army and Lou's name and remembered that out beloved Mayor Harold Washington spent countless hours dining at this Chicago area restaurant. I perused the recipe and found it to be similar to mother's recipes..that is, making a milk and and egg base poured over the macaroni and cheese. I added buttered, seasoned panko crumbs to the top, and voila, a tender, cheesy dish that I had been missing Forever. I tucked this away in my cookbook, and it will be a holiday staple....you say why only holiday? look a t the calorie count. I love it but don't think my system can take it more than 2-3 times per year. Fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Good stuff. Next time I plan on using less eggs, I don't like my mac and cheese so stiff and pasty. This will be my go to Mac and cheese recipe for now on. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I made this for Easter and did a test run before hand, YUMM! Creamy, yummy and delish! Unfortunately I had oven space issues the day of Easter and had to put it in our microwave using convection, turned out a little dry, so use a conventional oven. I did add a little onion powder, garlic powder along with seasoning salt to the eggy cheese mixture. THX!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I only like Mac n Cheese if it's truly ridiculously decedent-at least as much calories as dessert. This one is for real. Makes me think of being back in Georgia eating real food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I make this so often, I can't believe I haven't left a review. The only difference I make is that I use 1/2 tsp seasoning salt instead of 1/4 tsp. I only use the white pepper as suggested in the recipe. I buy large boxes of macaroni and measure out 10 oz. on a scale as needed. I cut a 32 oz. brick of Velveeta into quarters for the 8 oz. Two handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese to mix into the sauce, then a handful on top. After 30 mins. I add another handful on top. It's easy and my family loves it. WAY better than the boxed stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      I love mac and cheese and can eat it alone!
      I decided to try this recipe since it's number one under soul food section.
      It was easy to prepare,but it was ok.
      If I was to do this over again, I would only use two eggs, not three. Also, a tad more seasoning would help.
      I will stick to my normal recipe for macaroni and cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      This recipe is GREAT!!! It is very cheesy and everyone loved it, I will definitely do this again. You have to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      So delicious, cheesy and creamy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Simply awesome, cooked it for a bbq and was gone within 15 minutes. Nuff said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I have searched for a great mac in cheese recipe, trying everything from white sauce recipes to cheese only, to gourmet (very expensive) cheeses. This is the best. Hands down, my family loves it, its simple, cheesy rich and creamy. Has now become my "secret" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Absolutely fabulous and easy to prepare. The only change I made was that I used Everglades Seasoning because I didn't have any seasoning salt. I will definitely keep this as my "secret recipe" :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This was really great. We'd discovered last Thanksgiving that we really liked baked mac and cheese but I had some difficulty with the recipe I was using. I told my stepdaughter that this was probably going to be my new go to recipe before she tried it. After tasting it, she agreed it should be. Will be on our yearly holiday menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This was pretty easy to make. Very creamy and rich. I used Penne pasta instead of Elbow macaroni and it was fabulous! I also just used a metal casserole dish from the dollar store. Everyone loved it and I can't wait to make this for my boyfriend. Thanks for this recipe! Give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

    • on July 27, 2009

      This was the first time i've ever made baked mac and cheese, this recipe was so easy to follow. Instead of using the velveeta chesse, I used mild cheddar cheese. That was the only thing I changed, it came out perfect for my first time. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I will never make another macaroni recipe ever!! Once you've tried the best no need to look at the rest! BIG HIT with my family. THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Army & Lou's Soul Food Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.3
     
    Calories from Fat 270
    51%
    Total Fat 30.0 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 158.3 mg
    52%
    Sodium 984.8 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites