29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had tried every recipe from Paula Deen to Alton Brown...this one has the best creamy taste with a little of the casserole texture! LOVE LOVE It!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki S February 15, 2010

My husband and I are from Chicago, we know good food, and this is it! Easy to prepare, and the ingredients combine into delicious eating. We used bow tie pasta and it was very good. Give this one at try.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackie.kimball May 30, 2010

Made this recipe for TG this season, after secretly suffering with own mac and cheese for years. But when I saw Army and Lou's name and remembered that out beloved Mayor Harold Washington spent countless hours dining at this Chicago area restaurant. I perused the recipe and found it to be similar to mother's recipes..that is, making a milk and and egg base poured over the macaroni and cheese. I added buttered, seasoned panko crumbs to the top, and voila, a tender, cheesy dish that I had been missing Forever. I tucked this away in my cookbook, and it will be a holiday staple....you say why only holiday? look a t the calorie count. I love it but don't think my system can take it more than 2-3 times per year. Fabulous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sraserrano November 25, 2010

Good stuff. Next time I plan on using less eggs, I don't like my mac and cheese so stiff and pasty. This will be my go to Mac and cheese recipe for now on. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan April 28, 2010

I made this for Easter and did a test run before hand, YUMM! Creamy, yummy and delish! Unfortunately I had oven space issues the day of Easter and had to put it in our microwave using convection, turned out a little dry, so use a conventional oven. I did add a little onion powder, garlic powder along with seasoning salt to the eggy cheese mixture. THX!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom April 05, 2010

This was the first time i've ever made baked mac and cheese, this recipe was so easy to follow. Instead of using the velveeta chesse, I used mild cheddar cheese. That was the only thing I changed, it came out perfect for my first time. Thank you very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nume July 27, 2009

I only like Mac n Cheese if it's truly ridiculously decedent-at least as much calories as dessert. This one is for real. Makes me think of being back in Georgia eating real food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sojourn Sis November 24, 2013

I make this so often, I can't believe I haven't left a review. The only difference I make is that I use 1/2 tsp seasoning salt instead of 1/4 tsp. I only use the white pepper as suggested in the recipe. I buy large boxes of macaroni and measure out 10 oz. on a scale as needed. I cut a 32 oz. brick of Velveeta into quarters for the 8 oz. Two handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese to mix into the sauce, then a handful on top. After 30 mins. I add another handful on top. It's easy and my family loves it. WAY better than the boxed stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earthpet March 10, 2013

I love mac and cheese and can eat it alone!
I decided to try this recipe since it's number one under soul food section.
It was easy to prepare,but it was ok.
If I was to do this over again, I would only use two eggs, not three. Also, a tad more seasoning would help.
I will stick to my normal recipe for macaroni and cheese

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
airlink diva December 11, 2012

This recipe is GREAT!!! It is very cheesy and everyone loved it, I will definitely do this again. You have to try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francesgonzalez November 25, 2012
Army & Lou's Soul Food Macaroni and Cheese