33 Reviews

Daydream, I may not be a Home Coming Queen - but you've made me a DAYDREAM BELIEVER!!! This cake is incredibly tasty - sweet and spicy (but not toooo spicy)! I believe this cake could serve as an all-purpose cake: breakfast, snack or even as a delicious dessert. I used the dark brown sugar, as you recommended - the sour cream, pecans and the optional cinnamon on top. Daydream, your cake is so versatile, it is my opinion you have made a MONKEE out of all other cakes! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with all of us!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 24, 2003

Very, very nice cake. It's really fast because you can do the whole thing in a food processor. What made it good was the quantity of nutmeg. I used a real nutmeg and grated it on the fine side of a box grater. The brown sugar is an essential ingredient - it would not turn out the same using white. It's important to judge when it's done by the skewer test rather than by the time it takes. Thanks for posting this Daydream.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango June 10, 2003

I really think this is a 5 star recipe, except that the crunchy bit was so crunchy it nearly broke a tooth :) maybe next time I will take the advice of the previous reviewer and only use 1/3 of the mix for the crusty bit. I followed the recipe to the letter, but I only had canned nutmeg. This is sooo good I think I will go try and find fresh nutmeg. thanks for a great recipe ********Upped the stars to 5, after being wrapped in alfoil for 24 hours, the crust softened and the flavours melded even better!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills June 10, 2008

This was really good! I used half a teaspoon of nutmeg, and half a teaspoon of cinnamon but I felt the nutmeg was still overpowering, so I will use a 1/4 - 3/4 ratio next time .. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa June 30, 2003

I made this yesterday for my Husband for Father's Day. It's very tasty! I used freah grated nutmeg also - the sour cream and the cinnamon/pecan topping. In my case, I think I may have left it in the oven a little too long. I had it in for an hour but I probably should have checked on it a little earlier. Thanks - I'll be making it again.(and watching it more closely!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP June 15, 2003

Aromatic, simple to make..and it just seemed to keep getting better (not that it lasted much more than 24 hours!). My dairy-free version had Nuttelex margarine and soymilk, instead of butter and sour cream. I realised I had been given a (nearly identical) version of this recipe about 10 years (never used!) and I worked between the two...so... I rubbed the sugar in at the same time as the flour and marg, and I only pressed a third of the dry mix onto the base of the pan instead of half. I was happy with the result, though I'm sure it would work either way. The biscuity base was VERY popular. Thanks for bringing this beauty out of the back of my recipe file, Daydream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catxx May 29, 2003

Hi guys,<br/><br/>I am Armenian. First time I have tried to bake the nutmeg cake on my own, normally my mum or my grandma would do it, but this time I have tried to surprise them and followed your recipe. I used sour cream instead of milk, instead of 1 table spoon of nutmeg I used 3-4, half of a teaspoon of cinamon. I have also added pistachios and hazelnuts. I can tell you honestly, this is the best recipe, even my husband liked it :). Thank you for sharing it with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elena.veronika November 12, 2013

Daydream Thanks for sharing this recipe....it's a GEM! I grated fresh nutmeg and used walnuts....sprinkled the top with cinnamon as suggested. Took it to work and it received rave reviews. This cake is just so lovely and different than the cakes that are currently in vogue. A real keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariacancook April 26, 2013

I made this vegan by swapping the egg for 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds. I burned mine a bit but it was still very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS February 03, 2011

Very good. Delicious with coffee! And just one piece of this really satisfies. My whole family loves this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen May 16, 2010
Armenian Nutmeg Cake