Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Armenian Nutmeg Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Armenian Nutmeg Cake

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2003

      Daydream, I may not be a Home Coming Queen - but you've made me a DAYDREAM BELIEVER!!! This cake is incredibly tasty - sweet and spicy (but not toooo spicy)! I believe this cake could serve as an all-purpose cake: breakfast, snack or even as a delicious dessert. I used the dark brown sugar, as you recommended - the sour cream, pecans and the optional cinnamon on top. Daydream, your cake is so versatile, it is my opinion you have made a MONKEE out of all other cakes! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      Very, very nice cake. It's really fast because you can do the whole thing in a food processor. What made it good was the quantity of nutmeg. I used a real nutmeg and grated it on the fine side of a box grater. The brown sugar is an essential ingredient - it would not turn out the same using white. It's important to judge when it's done by the skewer test rather than by the time it takes. Thanks for posting this Daydream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I really think this is a 5 star recipe, except that the crunchy bit was so crunchy it nearly broke a tooth :) maybe next time I will take the advice of the previous reviewer and only use 1/3 of the mix for the crusty bit. I followed the recipe to the letter, but I only had canned nutmeg. This is sooo good I think I will go try and find fresh nutmeg. thanks for a great recipe ********Upped the stars to 5, after being wrapped in alfoil for 24 hours, the crust softened and the flavours melded even better!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      This was really good! I used half a teaspoon of nutmeg, and half a teaspoon of cinnamon but I felt the nutmeg was still overpowering, so I will use a 1/4 - 3/4 ratio next time .. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      I made this yesterday for my Husband for Father's Day. It's very tasty! I used freah grated nutmeg also - the sour cream and the cinnamon/pecan topping. In my case, I think I may have left it in the oven a little too long. I had it in for an hour but I probably should have checked on it a little earlier. Thanks - I'll be making it again.(and watching it more closely!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      Aromatic, simple to make..and it just seemed to keep getting better (not that it lasted much more than 24 hours!). My dairy-free version had Nuttelex margarine and soymilk, instead of butter and sour cream. I realised I had been given a (nearly identical) version of this recipe about 10 years (never used!) and I worked between the two...so... I rubbed the sugar in at the same time as the flour and marg, and I only pressed a third of the dry mix onto the base of the pan instead of half. I was happy with the result, though I'm sure it would work either way. The biscuity base was VERY popular. Thanks for bringing this beauty out of the back of my recipe file, Daydream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Hi guys,<br/><br/>I am Armenian. First time I have tried to bake the nutmeg cake on my own, normally my mum or my grandma would do it, but this time I have tried to surprise them and followed your recipe. I used sour cream instead of milk, instead of 1 table spoon of nutmeg I used 3-4, half of a teaspoon of cinamon. I have also added pistachios and hazelnuts. I can tell you honestly, this is the best recipe, even my husband liked it :). Thank you for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      Daydream Thanks for sharing this recipe....it's a GEM! I grated fresh nutmeg and used walnuts....sprinkled the top with cinnamon as suggested. Took it to work and it received rave reviews. This cake is just so lovely and different than the cakes that are currently in vogue. A real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      I made this vegan by swapping the egg for 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds. I burned mine a bit but it was still very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Very good. Delicious with coffee! And just one piece of this really satisfies. My whole family loves this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      I made this last night on a whim, and I'm very pleased with how it turned out. It's very dense and flavorful, and the crunchy base is an excellent complement to the texture. Will definitely make this again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      So easy! And I had everything on hand for a spontaneous cake-making adventure last night. Enjoyed thoroughly and will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      This a fabulous cake! I've made it several times now and it's quick, turns out well every time and is hugely popular wherever I take it. It has become one of my favourites. Thankyou for sharing, Daydream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      I really liked this and all the layers it created. The buttery bottom was amazing. Very unique. I used more cinnamon than required.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This is quite good, Daydream, and quite easy. It is rich without being too sweet. I make mine with sour cream instead of milk or cream, resulting in a very thick batter that cannot be poured. I've made a slight variation to the recipe... I combine the flour, sugar, butter and baking powder all together in the food processor, and then reserve half of the crumb mix. My cake has two cookie layers... one on the bottom, then I spread a cake batter layer, then another cookie layer (it can be compacted with a fork to firm that layer up) then a batter layer. Pecans and cinnamon on top. This has become one of my three dessert-for-company go to recipes (the other two are bread pudding, and a trifle).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Turned out very tasty. Make sure not to push down the crust too hard, I made that mistake and it was very hard to cut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I, too, thought this cake was a winner. It is different to most cakes with the crunchy crust. You have to be a fan of nutmeg though. I used freshly grated nutmeg which was extra strong. My crust was delicious but quite hard which made the cake hard to cut. The nuts didn't help either. I suggest leaning towards 1/3 cake mix for the bottom and chopping the nuts semi fine, The cutting was a bit messy but it was devoured in record time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Wow! This recipe is astonishingly delicious. Plus, it literally gets exponentially better every day. I made it for a dessert buffet, along with some spectacular fancy desserts. This was the most delicious, hands down! Next time, I will make it at least three days ahead to really give the flavor time to perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      This is really good--even when made with whole wheat flour. Vanilla ice cream makes it very special. I used pecans and would not leave out the cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Great cake, I make it to sell at a community event and it is the hot favourite.. I make it with 2 eggs and use sour cream, pecans & cinnamon...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Armenian Nutmeg Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    32%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 38.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 242.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes