33 Reviews

Daydream, I may not be a Home Coming Queen - but you've made me a DAYDREAM BELIEVER!!! This cake is incredibly tasty - sweet and spicy (but not toooo spicy)! I believe this cake could serve as an all-purpose cake: breakfast, snack or even as a delicious dessert. I used the dark brown sugar, as you recommended - the sour cream, pecans and the optional cinnamon on top. Daydream, your cake is so versatile, it is my opinion you have made a MONKEE out of all other cakes! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with all of us!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 24, 2003

Very, very nice cake. It's really fast because you can do the whole thing in a food processor. What made it good was the quantity of nutmeg. I used a real nutmeg and grated it on the fine side of a box grater. The brown sugar is an essential ingredient - it would not turn out the same using white. It's important to judge when it's done by the skewer test rather than by the time it takes. Thanks for posting this Daydream.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango June 10, 2003

I really think this is a 5 star recipe, except that the crunchy bit was so crunchy it nearly broke a tooth :) maybe next time I will take the advice of the previous reviewer and only use 1/3 of the mix for the crusty bit. I followed the recipe to the letter, but I only had canned nutmeg. This is sooo good I think I will go try and find fresh nutmeg. thanks for a great recipe ********Upped the stars to 5, after being wrapped in alfoil for 24 hours, the crust softened and the flavours melded even better!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills June 10, 2008

This was really good! I used half a teaspoon of nutmeg, and half a teaspoon of cinnamon but I felt the nutmeg was still overpowering, so I will use a 1/4 - 3/4 ratio next time .. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa June 30, 2003

I made this vegan by swapping the egg for 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds. I burned mine a bit but it was still very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS February 03, 2011

This is quite good, Daydream, and quite easy. It is rich without being too sweet. I make mine with sour cream instead of milk or cream, resulting in a very thick batter that cannot be poured. I've made a slight variation to the recipe... I combine the flour, sugar, butter and baking powder all together in the food processor, and then reserve half of the crumb mix. My cake has two cookie layers... one on the bottom, then I spread a cake batter layer, then another cookie layer (it can be compacted with a fork to firm that layer up) then a batter layer. Pecans and cinnamon on top. This has become one of my three dessert-for-company go to recipes (the other two are bread pudding, and a trifle).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crowmama June 20, 2009

Turned out very tasty. Make sure not to push down the crust too hard, I made that mistake and it was very hard to cut.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cajun cook 85 April 12, 2009

Great cake, I make it to sell at a community event and it is the hot favourite.. I make it with 2 eggs and use sour cream, pecans & cinnamon...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pagan Andrea June 27, 2006

what a fab way to get you cookies and cake in one recipe! DH suddenly asked for a cake with a nutmeg flavor of all things, and what a super recipe to chance upon as a result. he is still singing its paeans, and even though i was a doubting thomas having never had a cake quite like this, i loved it too. the weird thing though, is that the cake was ready well ahead of the time window specified in the recipe. it was ready in 25min even though i don't have a overheated oven. i was so relieved i peeped into the oven early else i would have cinders instead of this ambrosial cake. moral of the story: do watch the baking time on this one. thanks for another great recipe daydream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood June 02, 2005

I made this yesterday for my Husband for Father's Day. It's very tasty! I used freah grated nutmeg also - the sour cream and the cinnamon/pecan topping. In my case, I think I may have left it in the oven a little too long. I had it in for an hour but I probably should have checked on it a little earlier. Thanks - I'll be making it again.(and watching it more closely!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP June 15, 2003
Armenian Nutmeg Cake