121 Reviews

This is our new favorite chicken and I make it at least once a week now! My only problem is I can never find shallots so I use green onion or regular onions instead. Also I have to use an oven instead so I set that to 350 and cook for 35 mins. I have marinated it for 5 hours and 48 and to me it tasted just as good marinating it less! This is sooo good and me and my hubby thank you for the recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
navy wifey July 12, 2008

VERY VERY GOOD! Made exactly as recipe directed but used 1T dried chopped onions. The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is that it just felt overly-oily to me. I'm definitely going to make this again, but will cut the olive oil in half. Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom January 25, 2011

I marinaded my lamb breast for 48 hours in the fridge and then grilled low and slow like pork ribs for 2 1/2 hours...I poured the marinade on top of the fat side of the lamb and it created a crust that my hubby loved the best...I have chicken breasts marinading now that I will grill on Saturday...this is a very good recipe...it frustrates me when I read other reviews that they don't have the right ingredients, make it anyway, and then criticize the original recipe...if you substitute or omit or don't marinade it long enough...please don't give a bad review for your mistake...I also don't understand the complaints of it being too lemony... 1/4 cup??? with all the wonderful herbs in this recipe??? the lemon juice is really just enough to be a tenderizer...this is a tasty and simple recipe and I strongly recommend it...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squeakymarm_10680867 May 17, 2012

This really has to be marinated overnight to get the full flavors meant for this recipe. We loved every bite and got lots of compliments to the chef!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMightyRich September 21, 2011

I was very excited to try this recipe. Why I picked a day where I only had 4 hours to marinate and no marjoram...who knows! BUT - it was still wonderful. Whole family liked it, it was simple and easy with big results. Thank you for posting. (PS- sub'ed oregano for the marjoram)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me & alex June 20, 2008

OMG!!!! This is Mrs. Mooshi's recipe!!! You have to understand that we lived next to the Lazar family as I was growing up. Mrs. Mooshi was Lola Lazar's mother. Fourth of July in our neighborhood was a celebration of Armenian and Persian cuisine at the Lazar household. I watched Mrs. Mooshi as a child making this, but I had forgotten the amounts. Bless you for sharing!!!! T.J.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davinandkennard August 01, 2007

Fantastic, even after only marinating for 6 hours! Husband and toddler approved! Served with acorn squash filled with rice, red onion and chopped baby spinach. Thanks for the winner :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnie808 March 22, 2011

Excellent! Very flavorful. I cut the oil down to 1/4 cup and didn't have any shallots. It was marinaded almost 2 days and cooked on a George Foreman grill. The chicken (boneless, skinless breast) were also very good the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious February 23, 2011

Followed advice and marinated chicken thighs, legs and breasts, all bone in, skin off, for 48 hours. Made this for a family gathering with my man's family. The marinating time is what I think really made this recipe work, as it allowed the herbs to come thru the lemon and olive oil. The lemon juice acted more as a tenderizer than a flavor; it gave me a chance to use and show off bounty of my herb garden. I'll def make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WeddingGirl June 29, 2010

This was so good! All seven of us loved it! You won't be sorry if you try this. I did make a few changes. Instead of the 1/2 cup lemon juice I used 1/4 cup lime and 1/4 cup lemon. I did not have any marjoram, instead I used oregano. I didn't have shallots either so I used 1/3 to 1/2 cup finely chopped yellow onion. This was VERY good! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Essie Jane March 05, 2009
Armenian Herb Marinade Grilled Chicken Breasts