10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were yummy! Like soft, creamy, lemony flapjacks! A great success - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave July 27, 2009

Not that these weren't good, I just didn't realize that they would be so oat-y. We really didn't like all the oatmeal, but the lemon center was delicious. Next time I will omit the oatmeal and use more flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakeGirl23 September 28, 2008

What a fabulous lemony taste. I have made lemon bars many many times as this is something we sell as a regular menu item at the coffee shop I work for. This recipe cried out for me for me to try as it is made entirely different than the one I was use to. First of all I"ve never used sweetened condensed milk in lemon bars and secondly oats are not something I've included. Both were a lovely addition with just the right amount of sweet/tart. I followed your recipe as stated with the elimination of almonds. I did put a few x-tra squirts of lemon juice and also zested one lemon. Great lemon taste. DH had his w/a scoop (well, a few scoops) of vanilla ice cream while still just a touch warm. mmmmm~ Glad I tagged for PRMR.~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB August 30, 2008

These are wonderful bars. I made them as the new revised recipe states, including the optional ingredients. It was quick and easy to put together. I found that I had 1/2 cup of lemon juice after juicing 2 lemons and 1 tbsp of zest from 1 lemon. Thanks for posting. This is going to be a regular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 26, 2008

Made these for some weekend guests (a potluck, actually) & they were a big hit! After reading other reviews, I decided to double the filling & also added zest from a 3rd lemon! Took a little more time for it all to bake, but it was well worth it! Thanks so much for this keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 14, 2008

I decided to make this both ways, with the amount of crust/topping in the recipe, and with half the amount of crust/topping. Since we are serious lemon lovers, it is no surprise that more lemon is better, so we did prefer the half version of the crust/topping. I also used Smart Balance for the butter, nonfat sweetened condensed milk, and Meyer lemons from our tree. These are quite good, and best eaten the same day you make them. Thanks, Bird!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 07, 2008

I thought these bars were really good, but I could barely tell there was any filling. Next time, I think I will double the filling. I used a 13x9 pan, but the filling barely covered the crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG April 06, 2008

Made these for dessert tonight. DH and DD loved them, but I thought they could use more lemony flavor. Next time I will make it with the same amount of filling ingredients but half the outside ingredients and baking it in a 8in square pan. Love lemon desserts, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 March 26, 2008

This is soooo good! I am definitely puckering up after tasting this surge of lemon. I made one change, and used 1/2 cup honey instead of sugar, because I am trying to cut back on white sugar. So my crumb layer was a bit more sticky due to the extra fluid from the honey, but I don't think that affected the final outcome much. This is really delicious! I am putting this one in my keeper file, to make again! Thanks, 2Bleu!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too February 29, 2008

This is for lemon lovers, for sure! The verdict is out on this one, as all my lemon lovers raved about this. They even said that this was better than plain lemon bars. When making this the base and topping portion after you mix it all, is literally crumb like. But when you pat it all in the baking pan, it packs in nicely, I didn't even need to use the wax paper. The filling is of cream consistency and you can easily spread it on. This was ready exactly in 30 minutes....make sure you let them cool, because the bars will become more solid. Thanks 2Bleu for sharing. Made this for Photo Tag Winter 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marz February 01, 2008
Arizona Lemon Bars