Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arepas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arepas

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2008

      I made these this morning with Instanst Corn Masa Mix for Tamales (masa harina) as I had seen in another recipe. Mine certainly were not fluffy. I'm not sure the baking powder does anything because it acts with liquids and heat. The rise action would happen with the addition of the boiling water, then the kneading would flatten it just the way a cake falls in an oven. I will try this again with P.A.N. Precooked cornmeal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I made these and they were very good! Similar to kind they sell in store. I didn't add egg and used white corn flour P.A.N. This is great recipe and I will be using again! Thank-you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      Terrific! You can't miss with Harina P.A.N.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Gosh some fierce reviews here. I've made plenty of arenas using the correct P.A.N. I really liked these. They came out very well & had nice texture. I've seen steps recipes using baking powder and / or eggs. I just want to say this was a great recipe and I enjoyed them. Cook time 8-10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Well I know these aren't anything like traditional Venezuelan arepas, but come on guys, the author clearly states that! These are a fun twist if you're tired of having the same old arepa every day, and it might be a great way to do arepa dulce, just don't make them for your Venezuelan mother-in-law! =P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Well, Kathy228 dear, I have yet to try this quite unortodox-wild twist version of which I never heard in my entire long and happy Venezuelan life, but the recipe sounds fashion! Arepa making is way much simpler and still yummy! Thanks Kathy228 for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I am Venezuelan and have never heard of putting most of the ingrediants in that are posted. I tried the recipe but it just doesn't taste like the arepas that I grew up with, I guess every family does things differently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      not exactly right.... I am Venezuelan and I have had my share of arepas.... so before I say something, I will admit this recipe sounds cool.... but I have never ever had arepas with baking powder on it (sorry but this is not a cake, and yes I am sure I haven't) and the eggs sounds ok (this one i will actually try next time I do Arepas).... but what I am sure I will not do is add baking powder since Arepas are made of precooked cornmeal they stay no time on the frying pan (or as I preffer 10 min in the oven max strengh and then 1 min on a frying pan with no oil just to make it brown on the sides :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Cheese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arepas

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.7
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    63%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 111.0 mg
    37%
    Sodium 693.9 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    precooked cornmeal

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites