9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these this morning with Instanst Corn Masa Mix for Tamales (masa harina) as I had seen in another recipe. Mine certainly were not fluffy. I'm not sure the baking powder does anything because it acts with liquids and heat. The rise action would happen with the addition of the boiling water, then the kneading would flatten it just the way a cake falls in an oven. I will try this again with P.A.N. Precooked cornmeal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gfcdn May 27, 2008

I made these and they were very good! Similar to kind they sell in store. I didn't add egg and used white corn flour P.A.N. This is great recipe and I will be using again! Thank-you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefRed March 12, 2006

Terrific! You can't miss with Harina P.A.N.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quentessential August 05, 2005

Gosh some fierce reviews here. I've made plenty of arenas using the correct P.A.N. I really liked these. They came out very well & had nice texture. I've seen steps recipes using baking powder and / or eggs. I just want to say this was a great recipe and I enjoyed them. Cook time 8-10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Somogirl October 07, 2012

Well I know these aren't anything like traditional Venezuelan arepas, but come on guys, the author clearly states that! These are a fun twist if you're tired of having the same old arepa every day, and it might be a great way to do arepa dulce, just don't make them for your Venezuelan mother-in-law! =P

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LexiMStL March 02, 2011

Well, Kathy228 dear, I have yet to try this quite unortodox-wild twist version of which I never heard in my entire long and happy Venezuelan life, but the recipe sounds fashion! Arepa making is way much simpler and still yummy! Thanks Kathy228 for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lorán March 15, 2008

I am Venezuelan and have never heard of putting most of the ingrediants in that are posted. I tried the recipe but it just doesn't taste like the arepas that I grew up with, I guess every family does things differently.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxmary.coles December 28, 2007

not exactly right.... I am Venezuelan and I have had my share of arepas.... so before I say something, I will admit this recipe sounds cool.... but I have never ever had arepas with baking powder on it (sorry but this is not a cake, and yes I am sure I haven't) and the eggs sounds ok (this one i will actually try next time I do Arepas).... but what I am sure I will not do is add baking powder since Arepas are made of precooked cornmeal they stay no time on the frying pan (or as I preffer 10 min in the oven max strengh and then 1 min on a frying pan with no oil just to make it brown on the sides :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joluapsg February 21, 2006
Arepas