Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arabic Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arabic Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2004

      I prefer my version (gourmet Mag. April, 2004), which includes 1 c. Italian (flat leafed parsley) and 1/2 c of mint - both finely chopped. These 2 give a very distinct taste. Especially mint is VERY commonly used in Middle Eastern and North Indian cuisine. Christiane M.E.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This is really good. I think, however, that the dressing needs to be added 5 to 15 minutes before serving, to coat the herbs so that they don't feel dry. Thank you so much for posting this! It was a perfect contrast to the Moroccan Chicken and Spiced Couscous that I served with it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      We make this all summer in Morocco exactly as stated though Morocco and the Maghreb never use olive oil for anything such as this. The only difference is that mine uses blended vegetable oil and never mint as suggested! I lived on this and adore it! Look forward to being back in Morocco in May and this WILL be on the menus!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      I felt this was a very simple, tasty salad that was quite easy to prepare. I enjoyed it a lot, although I think that perhaps a bit more dressing (lemon/oil) would give it just a little more flavor and that would be nice. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      I make this salad all the time, although I didn't know it was a "Palestine" salad. Sounds Italian to me! I've always, always, mixed cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, and the other ingredients. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      I had a dear old Lebanese uncle, and this reminded me of him. He ate this with EVERYTHING! I may have cut the dice a bit larger than he would, but it was fantastic-fresh tasting and full of flavour. I especially remember the parsley in it. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      This is really nice! I've had this several times in Oman and always have enjoyed it. I like to drizzle a little regular mustard over this and serve this cold. This is really really nice:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      What is there not to like about this recipe??? I love how easy it is to prepare and how fresh it tasted alongside my Jordanian meal last night. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Fresh and good. I did use a good unrefined extra virgin olive oil & purple onion. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Lovely salad! I am sure I will fix this many times over the summer.I did use a little more oil and used a red small onion,very good. Next day ( we had some leftovers!) I added a few spoons creme fraiche and that was good also. Nice picture Sue Lau,mine salad looked just like that! Thanks for sharing Baraahnz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      A lovely fresh salad which is indeed authentic! I would just like to point out that MANY FAMILIES IN THE MAGHREB WOULD USE OLIVE OIL FOR THIS SALAD - IN FACT ALL THEIR SALADS... my Husband would threaten divorce if I ever dreamed of using anything BUT olive oil ;) However, I can understand that for economical purposes some families may not. As a variation, we often mix the salt, lemon juice & OLIVE oil with a little Dijon mustard to make a nice dressing for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Delicious! Very refreshing. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

    • on August 31, 2004

      Of course I put in the optional onion and oil! A very refreshing crunchie salad. I really think it should be a small dice not sure on that. I did enjoy the parsley in it and think it would have been great with the mint as well. I liked it better after marinating in the lemon and oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      I've tried this at my brother-in-laws house. He was born in Palestine and his mother is the BEST cook ever. Very yummy indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arabic Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (466 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    30%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 597.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites