Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arabian Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arabian Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2009

      These were good, but they are not close enough to Arabian pitas for me. Like some one else mentioned, they are a soft flat bread. It's probably just that I'm used to the pitas I get in the Lebanese shop that has made them for at least 30 years. Anyway, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      These are so good! They taste great, are easy to make, and look nice too! They seem to turn out better if they are rolled out thicker rather than too thin. If you roll them thinner they do puff up more but they don't seem to brown as evenly. Also I like how it uses the stove top and not the whole oven. Thank you for posting Najwa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      These were simple to make and sooo yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      The flavor was exceptional, but...I ended up adding more than a cup more flour, since it wasn't remotely workable. I don't know what I did wrong so I'm giving 5 stars, it must have been something wrong with me LOL! Wonderful, great texture, delicious hot off the griddle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

    • on November 04, 2008

      Loved it. I was looking for something to take to a girls night where the theme was Mediterranean food. Everyone loved them and they were soooo good warm! I just wish I could make them faster!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Yes, these are terrific, as many others have said. But I had a bit of a hard time with the recipe - not enough information, like what size to roll them out, skillet dry or oil, how high a flame, etc . . .Also, I didn't get 18 pita, because I wanted them to be big enough to make souvlaki with. More like 12. And for health reasons, I used only 3 tb oil in the dough, not 6. I didn't miss the extra oil at all. I used a heavy non-stick skillet, medium-high flame, no oil to cook. I didn't flatten them cause I like the uneven look. And they were great! Wonderful flavor, great texture. I will make often, I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      WOW! i feel like i relly good cook, my husband LOVES these. never thought of making these but they are perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This was wonderful and easy. I may never buy another pita. I followed the directions, except used one cup of wheat flour as some other reviewers did... Thanks so much Najwa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      It was fairly easy, I'm going to have to perfect my method for cooking them - some of them came out as pita pockets and some were just flatbread but I enjoy both so it was nice to have the variety. I had to add extra flour so it wasn't too sticky, I'll have to figure out the perfect amount next round, but i basically used 3 parts wheat flour to 1 part white flour. the whole household loved them, good for sandwiches or dipping in hummus

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      turned out excellent - only thing is next time - i'll try using a more mild oil - i used olive oil - and it was quite strong tasting -- they also made for good little pita pizzas. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      very soft and pillowy! great with some seasonings or some herb flavored oil, very easy too! i used 2 cups whole wheat, 1 cup white flour, i stirred that up, i read that someone else just tossed everything together in the bowl at once, i did this, i poured in warm water(i boiled it and let it cool a bit) and then tossed in the yeast, stirred quickly then added everything else, oil, sugar, salt and liquid milk. I rolled them pretty thick and froze 12 of them. EDIT:: they have been frozen for about 10 days now and i just popped one onto the pan after thawing it in the fridge a bit(tho not neccessary), came out just like they did the first day!!! Will use this again and again! very convenient for a quick snack straight from the freezer yet so fresh tasting! will try with all whole wheat flour next

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This is a lovely soft dough to work with. I preferred to make larger pitas so divided into fewer balls, rolled fairly thin between parchment, and baked at 445 convection for 6 minutes total, turning half way through. Wrapped in a dish towel to keep warm, they flattened out and got softer as the next batch baked. Quite easy, but a bit time consuming. I used all purpose flour today, but think that it would be very good with part or all white whole wheat also. Served with pork souvlaki (#39526 ) and Tzatziki (#51983). ( Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad (#66596 ) would be a good compliment for a company meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This was very good. I did what a few raters suggested: 1/2 whole wheat and half bread flour, oil = olive. Hope this helps anyone else. I'm thinking to try twiggyshell's suggestion of herb flavored oil and seasonings. In Turkey, they would serve this type of bread with goat cheese and honey. Very odd combination, but very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Fantastic! I used half whole wheat flour and half bread flour, my oil was olive oil. I rolled out the first half very thin and let them rest for while. The second half, I rolled thicker and didn't let them rest. We liked the second batch best. I rolled them out on my counter without any added flour and cooked them in my ungreased cast iron skillet. My whole family loved them and they rival the expensive bread I buy at my local Lebonese grocer. It went great with my homemade hummus. Even my picky daughter and young grandchildren loved them. This recipe will be written down by hand in my recipe book (not many make it there). Loved it and thanks so much for sharing! After some thought, I finally realized that this bread is almost identical to "Flat Out" bread! Flat out is an expensive flat bread sold in most grocers, at least around here in Michigan. Love the stuff. I'll be saving some serious money with this gem of a recipe! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      You have a lot of reviews but I wanted to post mine with the variations so people would see how versatile the recipe is! I made this using 1/2 cup potato starter made from #83012 instead of the yeast, reducing the water to 1 cup and omitting the sugar. For the flour I used 11oz unbleached and 4 oz whole wheat (by weight, which is about 3 cups total). Divided into 16 balls rather than 18 because I am lazy ;). Other than letting the balls sit longer to account for a slower rise, the rest was as the recipe stated. I was worried that to get the sizes I wanted I had to roll them so thin, but pleasantly surprised how they fluffed while cooking. I wasn't worried about making them perfectly round - practice will help with that. Excellent recipe, they taste wonderful, and were very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Very good and easy. Thanks for sharing. Also very forgiving - after I had patted out the dough to thin rounds I had to leave it for about an hour and half (covered), it still came out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      First, I think it's unfair for reviews to dock stars on this because it may lack pockets like store-bought pita bread; that's not the point of this bread! That said, this is wonderful, light pita bread like the kind sold at my local farmers' market, but homemade & better! I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup white, and olive oil. I used my cast iron skillet, and kept a barely damp towel on hand, thickly folded, to sweep up the burning excess flour after each one. I also dusted off as much excess flour as I could before putting in the skillet. I think rolling them out thinner (less than 1/4 inch) makes for more bubbles/air pockets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This turns out great. The first time round I made it with a mix of white flour and brown. Second time all brown. It tastes better, and the texture is softer when you use a mix. Course I forgot the milk powder the second time. All in all a great simple recipe to keep on hand....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This recipe is very similiar to the naan bread that I make from this site. It is easy to make, and the ingredients are all something most have on hand already. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white bread flour. Though I didn't quite get 18 pitas (mine made 14, and I would have prefered less bread at a larger size) there is really nothing to change about this recipe. I have always lamented the fact that we cannot get arabian style pita bread in my small town, and this is just as easy to make as it is to buy. We are having it tonight with Kittencal's Greek Salad. Yum! Thank you Najwa for a fabulous recipe that will surely become a staple in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arabian Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (840 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.4
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    35%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 68.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes