Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Arabian Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arabian Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2010

      Delicious, quick, and easy. I've made these twice now and we love them. I have even wrapped leftover dough balls (already risen) in saran wrap and put them in the fridge for a couple of days. When I cooked the last batch up (straight from the fridge, then rolled out) they came out even fluffier than freshly made ones. I don't know why that is, but I'm happy it worked. Now when I make a batch of hummus, we can have freshly baked pitas with it each day! Oh-- also I only used 3 T. olive oil, 1 T. of milk (not powdered), 1.5 c. whole wheat pastry flour (with white flour for remaining flour) and it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      I loved this recipie! Very easy and tasty. I used olive oil and the second time I made it I used 1 cup of wheat flour instead of white. I'll probably use more wheat flour next time -- it give it just a bit more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2002

      I've made this 3 times now & like it a lot. But is this supposed to make pita pockets? It doesn't for me.I end up with a soft flat bread. You're right najwa, it's great wiyh hummus & falafel - just not what I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Fantastic!! Served gyro-style with falafel, tomato, red onion and tzatziki. If you are making these for Gyros I advise using the pan-method. Baked a few in the oven at first but they were not pliable or "bendy" like you want for gyros. So I moved on to using a pan and got great results. They were softer, more pliable, and prettier too. The trick for making "stuffable" gyro bread seemed to be to roll them very thin, almost too thin it might seem at first, before adding to the pan. They will poof up in the pan to the perfect thickness and the larger diameter is nice. Super recipe! Thank you, Najwa~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      there are so many reviews on here, but I thought my comments might be helpful to someone, so I'm chiming in. So many folks had said the dough was sticky that I decided to use less oil than the recipe called for. I used 4 tablespoons instead of 6, and it was just fine. I used white wheat flour instead of AP white, and added 3 tablespoons wheat gluten. No problems there. I divided the dough into 12 pieces rather than 18, I wanted some fair-sized pitas. The first few pieces I did roll out, as the recipe instructs, but they were thinner than I'd like, so I patted the rest out by hand, and liked them much better that way. Lastly, I would add just a pinch more salt next time ... maybe just a 1/4 teaspoon. Good flavor, rose well, easy to make, would make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      These were fantastic! I didn't try to split them for pita pockets but I did eat them with hummus and they were a big hit at my party! On a personal note: I had trouble getting the bread to brown on my stove with my teflon coated aluminum pan but when I switched to my cast iron pan they were a breeze to make. I did spray my pan between each pita I made but I could just as easily used olive oil to wipe the pan (but I was out). Will definitely make again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      This by far is the best pita recipe I have tried so far. Now I am not a chef, but I do have a couple of tips that I learned through trial and a lot of error. I never, ever use instant rise or rapid rise yeast (the kind you get in those little packets). All it does is make the pita taste like yeast. Find a good active dry yeast (look in the organic section). When activating the yeast, make sure the water is warm (you can hold your finger in the water without the need to jerk it out in 10 seconds or less) not hot and let sit about 5 minutes before using. I decrease the amount of olive oil to 4 tablespoons. Keeps the pita dough from being too sticky. Most important of all, use a pastry cloth to roll out the pita. My pastry cloth came as a cover to a large round board. You rub flour into the board before rolling out the pita on the cloth. Little to no sticking, no excess flour making the pita hard, and you can roll the dough so thin you can see through it! I also have a cloth for my rolling pin, but I am not sure I really need it. Lastly, if you have left over pita (yeah right), I cut it into finger length strips about an inch wide. I then bake them on a cookie sheet in the oven for 6-8 minutes at 350 degrees F until they turn into crispy chips. Yum. Spray a little olive oil and season before baking for added flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Oh my gosh, what a scream these are! I was unreasonably excited to look in the oven and see the first few pitas puffed up like little baloons. And oh, how yummy. We had them for lunch with hummus and sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. I made mine 2/3 whole wheat, and baked them on a pizza stone at 475 for 3 minutes per side. I might try a little shorter baking time on my next try to see if I can get them slightly chewier, but they were a magnificent success today. Thanks a mil, najwa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      This dough was difficult to work with, but tasted great. I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup. The dough was still sticky, and I had to use quite a bit of extra flour. I increased the salt to a scant tsp., which still was not enough because of the extra flour. I pan fried them in a dry cast iron skillet. I brushed the top with olive oil and sprinkled on salt and Italian seasoning, then flipped when the first side was done. The kids loved these! I think next time I will reduce the water to 1 cup and see if that helps with the stickiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      Wow! So quick and easy!! I totally forgot to put the milk in and it was still amazing. I used a cast iron pan coated with olive oil. Lightly sprinkled them with salt when they were done. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      So amazing! And pretty quick to make, although not something I would do on a regular basis we will definitely repeat. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Awesome! These turned out more like naan though, as they didn't really puff up and didn't create pockets. Great bread, though. The dough was quite sticky and I had to add about an extra cup of flour. I think next time I will reduce the oil to 4 tbsp and increase the salt for a bit more flavour, as other reviewers have suggested. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      I loved this recipe, it was so quick and easy to make. Best of all it tastes great...and... I made it. Doing the happy dance. The arabian pita was soft, tender and crisp. It was perfect served with Authentic Hummus. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Tasty and easy. I used this recipe for my gyro testing. Great recipe. Used the dough hook in kitchen aid mixer. It was a humid day and I had to add quite a bit more flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      This is sooooo good! We made three batches for Easter. Two would have been enough but I couldn't keep the kids from eating it! As soon as the bread was fried, someone was eating it! We fried them in an electric skillet. I tried using a cast iron skillet but it was much easier to keep the temperature at a constant level with the electric skillet. This is a new family favorite. Thank you for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Mine didn't puff up either, but they were delicious. Maybe mine were a bit different because I used 1.5 cups of milk instead of water and dry milk. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      I made these today using a griddle. Didn't change much except as others did, used less olive oil and did add a bit more salt. My first few didn't puff because maybe the griddle wasn't hot enough, but I used a fine mist if olive oil and that did it! Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      This was a great combination with (beef) gyro meat and garlicky yogurt sauce. Super easy, doesn't take as long as indicated, which is really nice when you decide late in the afternoon that tonight is Mediterranean night. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      These were very easy to make and tasted great with our dinner. I did have to add a lot more flour than called for (probably at least 4 cups total, instead of 3 cups). I will add a little more salt next time, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      These are amazing! Super simple and they taste delicious.

      I found I needed to add between 1/2-1cp of additional flour to make the dough workable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arabian Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (840 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.4
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    35%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 68.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites