Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aquavit's Swedish Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aquavit's Swedish Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2013

      While it seems like a lot of steps, it really isn't, and the recipe is completely worth it. I used 1 lb pork, 1 lb chicken for the meatballs since veal wasn't readily available. I will be trying this again with 1 lb. ground venison and 1lb. ground boar/wild hog during hunting season. Like some other reviewers, I added in some all-spice to the meat blend to add that familiar aroma and taste in the meatballs. I would also recommend a small amount of cornstarch added to the sauce, mixed well, before you place the meatballs back into it to help thicken. I served this with some egg noodles, and mushrooms sauteed in butter and sauce/meat drippings. True comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      LOveeed it!!! the honey way a real nice touch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      This dish is certainly one of the best I ever have made and among the best I ever have eaten. 10 star quality, at least. Rather than mashed potatoes I served them over Browned Buttered Egg Noodles which I think is an ideal combination. There was some texture as a counterpoint for that truly unctous sauce. Also prepared and served with the Aquavit's Quick Pickled Cucumbers and steamed broccoli with lemon butter. A very fine dinner indeed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Unfortunately the local Safeway had no lingonberries, so I had to improvise and make a mushroom sauce. It still turned out very delicious. I also added about a 1/4 tsp of ground cardamon to the meatballs as extra seasoning. It really brings out the sweetness of the honey and makes it taste more Christmas-y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      These are very good. We love meatballs so I was excited to try these. I was unable to find the preserves so I had to use the cranberry sauce. We really liked them with the garlic mashed potatoes. I will make again in the near future. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Way good. Strange flavours and at first I was kind of wary, but it really worked. Kids absolutely demolished their plates and husband thought it was incredible. I added a hint of allspice to the meat like they do in Sweden. So good. For the sauce I made a roux and then followed through as instructed just to make sure it was thick. I also baked the meatballs and used the drippings to form the fat part of the roux. Served it with plain fluffy rice. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      These are delicious! The only change I made is that I baked the meatballs for 25 min at 400 degrees instead of frying them, and I added all the pan drippings from baking the meatballs to the sauce. I'd like to try making them with lower calorie ingredients (i.e. milk instead of heavy cream, and perhaps ground turkey for the meat), so I can eat them more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      wonderful I made them in two steps, meatballs first then finished them off in the evening and it was the best swedish meatballs in ages. I just wanted to mention that they are also the moistest textured meatballs I have ever enjoyed. Truly superb. I did thicken the sauce by putting a tbs of cornstarch in with a small amt of stock at the end. Just a preference for a thicker sauce. I will also be making a large amount and freezing them after browning to be ready for this at any time, or anyother meatball recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      We liked this...We were in Stockholm a few weeks ago and I'm trying to find a recipe that as close as possible to the Swedish meatballs we had in a restaurant there. Sadly this isn't it. The meatballs were not as flavourful as I expected and I simmered the sauce for ages and it just wouldn't thicken up. In fact the meatballs simmered for so long that they stared to break up so I had to remove them and then simmer down the sauce by itself, it took another 15 monutes at least. I did use Lingonberry perserves that we bought back from Sweden. The overall flavour was fine but we didn't think it would be worth making again. I did follow the recipe exactly, but used white onion in place of red. Obviously looking at the other reviews personal tastes differ greatly so please do give this recipe a go and judge for yourself. Please see my Rating System: 3 stars for a recipe that I really looked forward to but didn't suit us as much as I had hoped. You don't know until you try, do you? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      This is way more than awesome! It takes a lot of work, but it is worth every minute. Thanks, Kate, for putting this up. The guys like this better than the original reipce. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      this is very easy to prepare and made a quick weeknight meal. leftovers tasted even better the next day. i subbed vinegar for the pickle juice otherwise followed the recipe. i also added some freshly grated nutmeg before serving. picky dd4 enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      A little sweet and unctuous for my taste, but still quite good. Caveat: I did substitute raspberry preserves instead of the lingonberry, which would have given it a more tart flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Loved this version of Swedish Meatballs! The Chef's book - Aquavit has some wonderful recipes! Definitely a 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Add my DH & I to the growing list of those who admire this dish. I made them rather late last nite & found him asleep. I felt alone later, got up & found him sitting at his PC DEVOURING meatballs. He took time out just to say "These are excellent!" I'd put them in 2 bowls so I'd be able to take a pic. After that was done, he grabbed bowl #2 & made them disappear too. The flavor of this sauce is outstanding! I'm glad I made this one just as written - a keeper! Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I reduced the amount of meat to 1lb altogether. I did not reduce the sauce, though. Hey, the sauce is so yummy that I will certainly increase it next time. I served the meatballs with the suggested garlicky mashed potatoes, store-bought pickled cucumbers and lingonberry preserves. Yummy - so glad I've chosen this dish for the Zaar World Tour 06!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I tried this recipe last night and tho' I had to improvise a few of the ingredients, it was one of the most delicious dishes I have ever made. Mine was made with all ground beef, some apple cider vinegar instead of the pickled cucumber juice, and some plum jam instead of lingonberry preserves. The meatballs and the gravy were spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      These are truly delicious Swedish style meatballs! Goes well with his Braised Red Cabbage German Rotkohl - Spiced Red Cabbage With Apples and Wine, and potatoes. Thank you Chef Kate for posting this delightful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aquavit's Swedish Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 812.2
     
    Calories from Fat 505
    62%
    Total Fat 56.1 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 25.8 g
    129%
    Cholesterol 256.6 mg
    85%
    Sodium 344.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 21.3 g
    85%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites