Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apricot Sorbet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apricot Sorbet

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2008

      I've made this twice with good results, using apricots the first time and pears the second. Instead of vanilla I used rum with the apricots, and almond extract with the pears. One important change I make in the preparation is to run the sorbet through the blender again after the sorbet has frozen. I do this twice, freezing the mixture in between. This results in a very creamy texture similar to gelato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      This is a great sorbet. I made a 1/2 batch to use up some apricots. The sugar/fruit balance is perfect, in my opinion. The only thing I might do next time is boil the syrup a bit longer so it gets to the short-thread stage. This helps keep the finished sorbet from melting too quickly. I don't have an ice cream maker, but they aren't necessary for this recipe. What you do is put the mixture in a tupperware container in your freezer, and then just stir every couple of hours to make sure it freezes evenly. Once it's frozen, take it out and let it sit on the counter for 30-45 minutes until it is just starting to soften but not melt. Whiz in a food processor to fluff it up and get rid of any crystals and refreeze. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      I used this recipe with peaches instead of Apricots. It was amazing, so creamy. Everyone was surprised it didn't have any milk/cream in it. A great way to use up overripe peaches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This would taste much better without vanilla. I had to remake it without vanilla as the vanilla was overpowering, and it was much better, very delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Simple and delicious. Be careful not to overdue the vanilla, as it can easily overwhelm the delicate flavor of the apricots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      This turned out great. In my second batch, I used more fruit and less sugar than the recipe and thought it turned out better. I used the freezing method provided by Sackville and it worked perfectly. The sorbet was creamy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      This recipe was a wonderful way to use up apricots that were too ripe for jam and canning. I used a small round piece of angel food cake topped with sliced strawberries, then topped it with the sorbet and a mint garnish with a slice of fresh apricot. It recieved rave reviews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Delicious. The recipe makes more than my ice cream maker can hold, so I've been using the remainder of the base as apricot syrup--works well on vanilla ice cream, for example. I added about 1 Tbsp chopped fresh ginger with the apricots. It adds just the right hint of flavor, but next time I would put in a few slices and remove them after the simmer (thus allowing the flavor to infuse, but not actually incorporating the ginger into the final product). The ginger does not soften as well as the apricots during a 10-minute simmer and I have been finding little pieces still intact that didn't get blended up. Oops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apricot Sorbet

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    43%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes