8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this twice with good results, using apricots the first time and pears the second. Instead of vanilla I used rum with the apricots, and almond extract with the pears. One important change I make in the preparation is to run the sorbet through the blender again after the sorbet has frozen. I do this twice, freezing the mixture in between. This results in a very creamy texture similar to gelato.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dale L June 09, 2008

This is a great sorbet. I made a 1/2 batch to use up some apricots. The sugar/fruit balance is perfect, in my opinion. The only thing I might do next time is boil the syrup a bit longer so it gets to the short-thread stage. This helps keep the finished sorbet from melting too quickly. I don't have an ice cream maker, but they aren't necessary for this recipe. What you do is put the mixture in a tupperware container in your freezer, and then just stir every couple of hours to make sure it freezes evenly. Once it's frozen, take it out and let it sit on the counter for 30-45 minutes until it is just starting to soften but not melt. Whiz in a food processor to fluff it up and get rid of any crystals and refreeze. Perfection!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville November 01, 2004

I used this recipe with peaches instead of Apricots. It was amazing, so creamy. Everyone was surprised it didn't have any milk/cream in it. A great way to use up overripe peaches.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellaflora September 20, 2003

This would taste much better without vanilla. I had to remake it without vanilla as the vanilla was overpowering, and it was much better, very delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC August 05, 2008

Simple and delicious. Be careful not to overdue the vanilla, as it can easily overwhelm the delicate flavor of the apricots.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB May 15, 2008

This turned out great. In my second batch, I used more fruit and less sugar than the recipe and thought it turned out better. I used the freezing method provided by Sackville and it worked perfectly. The sorbet was creamy and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuteordeath July 13, 2007

This recipe was a wonderful way to use up apricots that were too ripe for jam and canning. I used a small round piece of angel food cake topped with sliced strawberries, then topped it with the sorbet and a mint garnish with a slice of fresh apricot. It recieved rave reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greenglass2dragonflies July 07, 2006

Delicious. The recipe makes more than my ice cream maker can hold, so I've been using the remainder of the base as apricot syrup--works well on vanilla ice cream, for example. I added about 1 Tbsp chopped fresh ginger with the apricots. It adds just the right hint of flavor, but next time I would put in a few slices and remove them after the simmer (thus allowing the flavor to infuse, but not actually incorporating the ginger into the final product). The ginger does not soften as well as the apricots during a 10-minute simmer and I have been finding little pieces still intact that didn't get blended up. Oops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraStar August 14, 2012
Apricot Sorbet