35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made my 2nd batch - delicious! I watched the temp and brought it to 240 degrees. I also added 1/2 tablespoon of butter to keep it from foaming (great trick I learned from recipe 62194!). Turned out fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeyJami July 11, 2008

I always prefer recipies without store bought pectin! This is a great one. Very easy. I, like others, did not boil it for 30 minutes....more like 15. I used the spoon test to check for readiness - dip a teaspoon in and if it jells as it is dripping off the spoon and cooling, then it is ready! This will go fast at my house!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattijunesmith July 19, 2012

We just had our first crop of apricots in YEARS so I couldn't afford to bungle the jam. I took a risk and added two large diced jalapenos to the fruit! Made it come alive!! Easy, easy!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judywith3 June 07, 2010

If you dare to boil this for 30 minutes, you will end up with apricot cotlets (jellied candies). I'm SO bummed! I even watched the temp. to make sure I didn't burn it - never made it past 220 degrees. But I decided to follow the directions as I've never made jam without pectin before. Boiling it for 30 minutes was a big mistake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunnkit July 31, 2011

I made this with only one change- I added a pat of butter while it was boiling like a previous reviewer suggested. I just got a tiny bit of foam that easily stirred back in so that was worth it. Tastes great and set up nicely, thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WithoutContext July 04, 2011

this is a fantastic recipe, I had about 9 cups of apricots and put 5 C sugar and a tiny bit more lemon juice than called for. It cooked up great and beautiful, nice and thick and I have 6 1/2 pints. Oh yeah, added 3 chopped habanaros....yum sweet n spicy!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin D. July 29, 2011

Super easy. I used 12 medium-sized apricots and lowered the sugar to 5 1/2 cups. I didn't have any lemon juice, but I had some FruitFresh on hand and mixed 3 tsp in with the sugar. I didn't need to boil it for 30 minutes - it turned clear and thick in about 15, then I let it go for another 5 just in case. :) I don't have a canner, so I heated my clean jars in a 300 degree oven while I was cooking the peaches and took them out one by one when I needed them. I used a boiling water bath to get them to seal. I got 4 pint jars plus a little extra for my husband and kids to test out on warm bread. They all gave it rave reviews, so I think this one is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moose_kristi June 18, 2011

Mine did not set. I have always used pectin and was curious about this recipe. It is a delicious sauce. Had it on waffles the other morning. Yum! Maybe a tad too sweet for my taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slokiki July 06, 2010

I have made 2 extra large recipes of this and each time it has been WAY better than ANYTHING store-bought! Thanks so much for sharing this. Came out to about 90 cents per half-pint--pretty good savings, if you think about that we will go through over 2 dozen half-pints in six months! Also, non genetically modified since it is without that nasty corn syrup made with toxic gmo corn. We are a non-gmo household and my reason for making our own jams is that all the ones in the store, except the very expensive european imports (genetically modified produce is illegal there due to health studies) have alot of genetically modified corn syrup in them. This has really helped!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texas tweety June 18, 2010

I tried it and loved it! I never thought making jam was so easy. I also added half a stick of cinnamon for that little something extra.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Benchan August 29, 2006
Apricot Jam