Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apricot Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apricot Jam

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2008

      Made my 2nd batch - delicious! I watched the temp and brought it to 240 degrees. I also added 1/2 tablespoon of butter to keep it from foaming (great trick I learned from recipe 62194!). Turned out fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      I always prefer recipies without store bought pectin! This is a great one. Very easy. I, like others, did not boil it for 30 minutes....more like 15. I used the spoon test to check for readiness - dip a teaspoon in and if it jells as it is dripping off the spoon and cooling, then it is ready! This will go fast at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      We just had our first crop of apricots in YEARS so I couldn't afford to bungle the jam. I took a risk and added two large diced jalapenos to the fruit! Made it come alive!! Easy, easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      If you dare to boil this for 30 minutes, you will end up with apricot cotlets (jellied candies). I'm SO bummed! I even watched the temp. to make sure I didn't burn it - never made it past 220 degrees. But I decided to follow the directions as I've never made jam without pectin before. Boiling it for 30 minutes was a big mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I made this with only one change- I added a pat of butter while it was boiling like a previous reviewer suggested. I just got a tiny bit of foam that easily stirred back in so that was worth it. Tastes great and set up nicely, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      this is a fantastic recipe, I had about 9 cups of apricots and put 5 C sugar and a tiny bit more lemon juice than called for. It cooked up great and beautiful, nice and thick and I have 6 1/2 pints. Oh yeah, added 3 chopped habanaros....yum sweet n spicy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Super easy. I used 12 medium-sized apricots and lowered the sugar to 5 1/2 cups. I didn't have any lemon juice, but I had some FruitFresh on hand and mixed 3 tsp in with the sugar. I didn't need to boil it for 30 minutes - it turned clear and thick in about 15, then I let it go for another 5 just in case. :) I don't have a canner, so I heated my clean jars in a 300 degree oven while I was cooking the peaches and took them out one by one when I needed them. I used a boiling water bath to get them to seal. I got 4 pint jars plus a little extra for my husband and kids to test out on warm bread. They all gave it rave reviews, so I think this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Mine did not set. I have always used pectin and was curious about this recipe. It is a delicious sauce. Had it on waffles the other morning. Yum! Maybe a tad too sweet for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I have made 2 extra large recipes of this and each time it has been WAY better than ANYTHING store-bought! Thanks so much for sharing this. Came out to about 90 cents per half-pint--pretty good savings, if you think about that we will go through over 2 dozen half-pints in six months! Also, non genetically modified since it is without that nasty corn syrup made with toxic gmo corn. We are a non-gmo household and my reason for making our own jams is that all the ones in the store, except the very expensive european imports (genetically modified produce is illegal there due to health studies) have alot of genetically modified corn syrup in them. This has really helped!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      I tried it and loved it! I never thought making jam was so easy. I also added half a stick of cinnamon for that little something extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      I made this the other night and it set beautifully! My family and friends gobbled their way through all but 2 jars... definitely will make this again before apricots are out of season. I cut the sugar back to 5 cups as I had a few less apricots, and I tore the apricots into smaller chunks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Love! Love! Love this recipe! It was so easy. I only made half a batch. I used Black Velvet Apricots which gave this jam a beautiful color. I will try to get a picture posted. I only had two pounds of Apricots & used one cup Splenda and one cup organic sugar. The biggest plus was that it did not require pectin and set wonderfully. I even saved some back this morning to put on my french toast, yummy!
      I am so excited about this jam. My daughter doesn't like apricots but she loved this jam.
      Oh, and since I cut the recipe down, it did not require as much cooking time. I think I only boiled it for about 20 minutes. I ended up with a perfect texture and got five 4 oz jars plus some extra to used right away. Though I doubt that this will last very long in our house. As I type this review I can hear my jars popping letting me know that they are sealed. Ahhh, music to my ears.
      Thank you 'incdeb' for this great and 'so easy' recipe. It is just what I needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I made this yesterday. It was delicious. I may have cooked it a little too much because it's more of a spread; it's really thick. However, it tastes like candy and is really good on toast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      With an over abundance of fresh apricots I made 2 batches of this (and it makes a lot) one as directed and then a 2nd with a large jalapeno pepper added. I did at 1 tablespoon of butter to reduce the foaming. Other than that followed as directed and couldn't be happier. Sure have a LOT of apricot jam to last me all year. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      Wow. Thank God. My husband picked fresh Apricots in our yard and tried this recipe, oh really it's a keeper. This is my first time in my entire life to make an Apricot Jam and it's a big success. Will make it again. I made 10 cups of apricot and added 1Tbsp. butter. Tip: please don't use over ripe Apricot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      Fantastic recipe! Came out perfectly! For those whose didn't set, there are two possible reasons. 1- You didn't cook it long enough, or 2- your fruit was over-ripe. It's always important to have some under-ripe fruit in your jam, as it has more natural pectin in it. (I like to dice it more finely than the ripe fruit.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Great, simple recipe for a pectin-free jam. I added a dash of cinnamon, a pat of butter (to decrease foaming) and I decreased the cook time to 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      This was my first attempt at Apricot Jam. Love it. Used my candy thermometer; brought it up to 220

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      I make a lot of jam and this is a good recipe but a tad sweet. I made a second batch, and since apricot is my wife's favorite, I made a large batch which used 26 cups, (44 apricots), 3/4 cups lemon juice and reduced the sugar from 20 to 16 cups and added 3 Tbs. butter. Butter virtually eliminates the foam. Because I was using less sugar I increased the cooking time to 45 minutes and it came out perfect. This made 26 1/2 pints, enough to keep my wife well stocked and plenty to share with friends and family. Bon Appetit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfectly. When i stopped cooking it I was afraid it might not be thick enough so it seemed a little thin after 25 minutes but it set up fine. The amount of sugar was right for my taste, It's a little tart, not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apricot Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 80

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    52%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.5 g
    66%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes