Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applewood Farmhouse Apple Fritters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applewood Farmhouse Apple Fritters

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2011

      I have been making apple fritters since I was 14 (I am now 28), and I have tried SO many different recipes, from old Amish recipes to new modern ones. But these are the BEST fritters I have ever had, and the easiest! I cut the apples into bite size chunks and they were perfectly coated. I made my own self rising flour using Self-Rising Flour. I ignored my greedy eyes and dolloped large tablespoons of battered apple into about 3/4" of hot oil in my cast iron skillet, and they cooked up perfectly golden and melt in your mouth crisp on the outside, with a light, fluffy, moist but not soggy interior. I will be making these every week I am sure, thankyou SO much for sharing!!
      PS I made a half recipe, and it was more than enough for myself and my twin 2 1/2 year old sons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! My first time making apple fritters and won't be the last. Followed the directions exactly, except rolled them in cinnamon/sugar rather than confectioners... I didn't have any. Like another reviewer, I had no self-rising flour, so used Self-Rising Flour, since I can never remember the right amount of baking powder to add. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      The only thing I would change on this recipe is that if you do not have a deep fryer, then make sure you use a heavy bottom pan to fry them in. Thin pans make the oil too hot, even at low setting. Made a second batch using a cast iron pan and they turned out wonderfully. Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      This was the 1st time I have fried apples. They were very easy to put together and so delicious. I coated the apple wedges in cinnamon before dipping them in the batter. I dusted some in icing sugar and some in extra fine granulated sugar, we enjoyed the granulated sugar ones more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Made this 2 times. Once I used milk the other I used soy milk. Both turned out great. I found I had to make smaller fritters (never did this before) so they would cook all the way through. I would probably add cinnamon or nutmeg or both next time just to be adventurous. :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Amazing. These were so good. I followed the recipe as printed. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Very good! I made the fritters bigger (flattened the dough first) and coated the apples in cinnamon. I fried them in a cast iron skillet at 250-300 degrees. Yummm! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for posting this recipe! I don't get to visit the Applewood Farmhouse Restaurant in Servierville (or the newer location in Gatlinburg) as often as I'd like. But when I really get a craving for their fare, I make this recipe and Apple Julep (which they call an Applewood Julep). I feel almost like I'm in the Smoky Mountains!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      These were very good and easy to make, I frosted with a maple cream cheese frosting and had rave reviews!!! Thank You for the Great Recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      I woke up this morning with a craving for donuts. Didn't really want to spend the money or drive to the donut shop, so I decided to make something here. I have lots of apples, and absolutely adore apple fritters, so I went on a quest to find a recipe. This one sounded good, so I made it :) These were very good! I tossed the apples with 1 teaspoon cinnamon. They were very tasty! I used a medium sized (2 Tbsp) scoop and used that for dropping into the hot oil (350 degrees). I didn't count how many total I was able to make, because my family was eating them as fast as I could make them, but my guess is that with the larger scoop, I got 24 or so fritters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      These were super easy. Caution you must watch the temp of your oil very carefully. I fried mine on med/low...After burning a batch. I grinded up my own sugar, which I didnt grind super fine and I think that enhanced the flavor. I also coated the apples with a bit of cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      I've eaten at this restaurant several times and I always get the apple fritters. When making them at home, I always add the zest of an orange along with some of the juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      I made these for our 4th of July cook-out, since I thought they would go perfectly with our homemade blueberry ice cream. They never made it that far. My soon-to-be MIL and her mother and boyfriend got to them even before the dinner started, so I still don't know what they taste like!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applewood Farmhouse Apple Fritters

    Serving Size: 1 (853 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 35.4
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    22%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 10.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 72.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes