10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I "slimmed" this down even more using only wheat flour, applesauce and egg whites. They were great - especially as a quick breakfast. Healthier than box cereal, very tasty and filling.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristyl August 01, 2003

Good recipe. Used what I had which was: whole wheat flour, a real egg, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and extra virgin coconut oil. I usually don't measure spices exactly because I don't mind an extra spicy kick of flavor. I also added a tsp of vanilla extract to the mix. I let the mixture sit for about 2 minutes to let it "rise" a bit. They turned out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe, will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusanRose December 29, 2009

These are very good and I like how healthy they are. I used whole wheat flour and 1 real egg and non-fat milk. I also cut the brown sugar down to about 1/3 cup. I didn't bother with the sugar/cin on top but I'm sure it would be good. My only complaint is that 425 seems way to high. My muffins were dark on top and bottom. Still good , but next time I'd do maybe 375. Maybe this is because I made mini-muffins?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapsmay February 14, 2009

I had extra wheat germ to use and am glad I chose to use it on this recipe. The muffins moist just like described. Not too sweet. Perfect for breakfast. I did use skim milk and a real egg and it turned out great! Thanks for the healthy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane Penwell May 07, 2004

Fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook October 11, 2008

Very nice muffins. Followed the recipe except used all organic ingredients, and used whole wheat flour. The texture was nice; not too spongy like some muffins turn out to be, and the flavor was not overly sweet which is what I was looking for. I added carob chips to the ones for my daughter. She also gave 5 stars. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey May 27, 2008

Excellent! I cut the recipe in half and it still made 8 good-sized muffins. I used a real egg and 1% milk, doubled the Cinnamon & Nutmeg and added about 1/4 cup of raisins. These made for a delicious breakfast! I will be making these again I'm sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers October 27, 2007

These were very good. I am diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar, and I added more nutmeg. I did not do the topping, but may try that with Splenda and cinnamon next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey August 27, 2006

I used whole wheat flour but cut the wheat germ amount in half. I doubled the spices, used more applesauce for the oil, skim milk & added 1/3 cup Splenda since I like a sweeter muffin. I also think the cinn/Splenda topping saves the day; it really adds flavor to such a healthy muffin so don't forget about it since it's not listed in the ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS May 16, 2006

These are very tasty. They are not that flavorful or sweet, but still tasty. Next time I might add raisins just because I found them to not have a strong flavor in any direction (apple-y, cinnamon-y, etc). The tops are yummy, but I think you should have included the ingredients for sprinkling in the ingredients. I used a real egg and half vanilla soymilk and half milk. I like the texture the wheat germ gives. Yummy, healthy breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie July 11, 2004
Applesauce-Wheat Germ Muffins