Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applesauce-Wheat Germ Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce-Wheat Germ Muffins

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2003

      I "slimmed" this down even more using only wheat flour, applesauce and egg whites. They were great - especially as a quick breakfast. Healthier than box cereal, very tasty and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Good recipe. Used what I had which was: whole wheat flour, a real egg, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and extra virgin coconut oil. I usually don't measure spices exactly because I don't mind an extra spicy kick of flavor. I also added a tsp of vanilla extract to the mix. I let the mixture sit for about 2 minutes to let it "rise" a bit. They turned out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe, will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      These are very good and I like how healthy they are. I used whole wheat flour and 1 real egg and non-fat milk. I also cut the brown sugar down to about 1/3 cup. I didn't bother with the sugar/cin on top but I'm sure it would be good. My only complaint is that 425 seems way to high. My muffins were dark on top and bottom. Still good , but next time I'd do maybe 375. Maybe this is because I made mini-muffins?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2004

      I had extra wheat germ to use and am glad I chose to use it on this recipe. The muffins moist just like described. Not too sweet. Perfect for breakfast. I did use skim milk and a real egg and it turned out great! Thanks for the healthy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Very nice muffins. Followed the recipe except used all organic ingredients, and used whole wheat flour. The texture was nice; not too spongy like some muffins turn out to be, and the flavor was not overly sweet which is what I was looking for. I added carob chips to the ones for my daughter. She also gave 5 stars. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Excellent! I cut the recipe in half and it still made 8 good-sized muffins. I used a real egg and 1% milk, doubled the Cinnamon & Nutmeg and added about 1/4 cup of raisins. These made for a delicious breakfast! I will be making these again I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      These were very good. I am diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar, and I added more nutmeg. I did not do the topping, but may try that with Splenda and cinnamon next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I used whole wheat flour but cut the wheat germ amount in half. I doubled the spices, used more applesauce for the oil, skim milk & added 1/3 cup Splenda since I like a sweeter muffin. I also think the cinn/Splenda topping saves the day; it really adds flavor to such a healthy muffin so don't forget about it since it's not listed in the ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      These are very tasty. They are not that flavorful or sweet, but still tasty. Next time I might add raisins just because I found them to not have a strong flavor in any direction (apple-y, cinnamon-y, etc). The tops are yummy, but I think you should have included the ingredients for sprinkling in the ingredients. I used a real egg and half vanilla soymilk and half milk. I like the texture the wheat germ gives. Yummy, healthy breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce-Wheat Germ Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.7
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    32%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 274.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites