Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applesauce Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2009

      Really good and super quick to make. This is definitely a great addition to our recipe collection. We made it with multigrain bread and unsweetened applesauce. With the cinnamon sugar, it was a perfect combination. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I would rather eat a cup of applesauce, with a side of of buttered toast topped with cinnamon and sugar sprinkle. Not a fabulous recipe if you ask me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Yumyumyum, these are wonderful. I have been on the look out for school morning breakfasts I can make for my kids - stuff I don't have to be wide awake for, stuff that doesn't take a lot of time, stuff that is healthy, and stuff that is delicious. This is definitely in all those categories, and therefore in my breakfast cookbook! Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Wow! This is the kind of recipe your kids will always love their mommy for (even when they are adults!) This was so yummy! My kids are all sick, so for dinner I made them scrambled eggs and these sandwiches. I was so surprised at how good they were...like apple pie! What a great treat. I will be taking this one camping with us too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      These were so good I couldn't believe it I made them with Ezekiel sprouted grain bread and unsweetened applesauce. This will definitely be in my regular rotation of recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      My children also enjoyed these very much! I have made them a couple of times now. I followed Ladypit's changes as well. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      I served this up as a snack for my toddler DD. After eating the sandwich, she emphatically demanded another...I'd say that equates into success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Great nutritious snack for me and my toddler. Thanks for sharing something so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Yummy! I omitted the butter (used butter spray to cook the sandwich in to save calories & fat) and also mixed some Splenda (used it instead of sugar) & cinn into the applesauce itself. I would recommend cooking the sandwich over med/low heat-as mine burnt a little cuz it cooked quickly! I also used whole wheat bread & unsweetened applesauce. A quick, tasty, low calorie snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      It was ok, my toddler didn't really like it, but it may be better just some cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Wow!! I completely LOVED this recipe! I've made it twice already - doubling the cinnamon sugar mixture and just spreading the bread thinly with the butter. The first time, I made one for a quick dinner before racing out to a meeting. I used unsweetened applesauce. I put my sandwich on a plate, sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar on one side, flipped it over & sprinkled the other side, too. Then I ate it with a fork. Begrudgingly, I let my hubby try a bite. We concluded that this tasted like a Tim Horton's apple spice filled doughnut. After my meeting, I couldn't get this delicious treat out of my mind, so I made another one - this time I topped it with Ultra Low Fat Cool Whip - yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      The kids loved these. I used whole wheat bread, unsweetened applesauce, and a lot less butter. The kids really enjoyed it, especially the cinnamon sugar over the top. Since I controlled the amounts, I found this to be a relatively healthy mid morning snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

    • on September 12, 2005

      Nice surprise to find an easy recipe for dessert. Maybe it's better for breakfast, though. I agreed that it seemed quite bland, though the kids thought they were fine. If I do these again, I might give a good dose of the cinn/sug over the applesauce; perhaps a wee pinch of salt too. The ratio given of cinnamon to sugar is probably best; I had my own cinn/sug made up that had WAY too much cinnamon. Healthy little snack, and easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      My two year-old daughter just enjoyed one of these for breakfast. I tasted it and found it to be a little bland- if I was making it for myself I'd add a lot of cinnamon to the applesauce. My daughter liked it just the way it was, though. Thanks for sharing this unique breakfast idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      I used whole grain bread, unsweetened applesauce, and butter. I liked how the applesauce cooked into the bread and became a gooey filling inside the crisply grilled outsides of the sandwich. The sugar and cinnamon were a nice touch, too. I have had this same type of sandwich prepared with apple butter instead of the sauce. While this was a good sandwich, I do think that I preferred the apple butter. Thanks for posting, though. This was a nice snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      These were petty good, I'm not 4, but even to me they were enjoyable:) I also added cinnamon-sugar in and ontop of my sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      Tried these out on my 4-year old. She loved them!! So, did I. These sandwiches were very easy to make and something different. I cut the sandwiches into quarters for her which made them very easy for her to handle. Thanks for a great lunch or snack idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      I made this for my son's afterschool snack yesterday and he enjoyed it. Next time I'm going to mix some cinnamon sugar in with the applesauce and I may even use cinnamon raisin bread just to give it a little more flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.7
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    40%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 440.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites