Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applesauce Raisin Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Raisin Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2012

      Yummy! As raisin Bran has plenty of sugar on it's own, I cut the sugar in half, used half whole wheat, and half white flour. Somehow I forgot to add the butter and it seemed to make no difference, oddly enough except that it made half of the muffin stick to the muffin paper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I really liked how this one turned out! I did tweak it a little and added more cereal than the recipe called for and also crumbled some on top before baking but otherwise it turned out great and my kids loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      I was pretty excited about these after reading the reviews and made these in the morning to bring to a study group....I did not bring them. The texture is very strange and pasty, not at all muffin-like. I added some cinnamon otherwise followed the recipe. They are not terrible and some will likely get eaten, but will not make this again or recommend it to others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      These were really good! I substituted whole wheat flour and canola oil, and they turned out fine, even here at high altitude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Muffins are easy and delicious. They bake perfectly in the time specified. I used pear puree in place of applesauce since I had it handy. I also added 1/4 teaspoon each of nutmeg and cinnamon. When I make them again, I'll add some extra raisins. It seems most of them dropped to the bottom of the cereal box and didn't get into my muffins this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Tasty recipe but for some reason mine came out quite flat. The only change I made was adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon, the rest I followed exactly. I have uploaded a picture to show how they look. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      These are great! I have a freezer full of frozen pumpkin puree, so I used that in place of the applesauce, and added some ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg. They were SO good, my 4 year old is happily devouring one right now! Also- I completely forgot to add the egg- they still turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Very good! I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Thank you! Made a moist, fluffy, not too sweet muffin that I had to hide so the kiddos wouldn't eat the whole batch. I used 1c ap flour & 1/4 c whole wheat flour. Also only had bran cereal (2c) and raisns (1c).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Followed your recipe exactly. Just the right touch of sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      These muffins are delicious! I made these for my 2 year old son as a way to sneak something healthy into his diet. I love that they are low in sugar. He loves that he can hold them and eat them by himself. I've also made these with just raisin bran and added blueberries instead of raisins and those came out really tasty as well. I notice people complain about bran muffins being "bland" but what I think people don't realize that it's really just the bran flavor. Bran isn't really an exciting flavor! But these are great....the applesauce adds just the right amount of sweetness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Made these muffins for the first time in January/08 and they are now the only muffins we make. It doesn't matter what you add (like chocolate chips, walnuts, spices, apples) you can't go wrong. A huge winner in our house. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      These were pretty good, but still a bit bland. Next time I'm going to try cutting the baking powder by half and adding 3 egg whites instead of one whole egg. Some cinnamon should pep it up with a hint of nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      These were very easy to make but rather bland. My first thought was that next time I'll add a teaspoon of vanilla and a cut up apple to the batter. After reading the reviews I'll also add some cinnamon. Then they will get a 5 star rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Great muffin! I made them into mini muffins and got 36 little gems! I didn't have Raisin Bran cereal, so I used 2 c. bran flakes and 1/2 c. raisins. I also added 1 t. cinnamon since I love it and 1/2 c. packed brown sugar (I initially had the recipe halved and it said 1/4 c. so I doubled it to 1/2) and I used light butter. I'll make this again, maybe as regular size muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Outstanding! I put in half of an apple diced. It was yummy!! I highly recommend the diced apples!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Great healthy muffin recipe. I substituted freshly ground oat flour for the all-purpose and also added a little cinnmaon. I made these several weeks ago - made extra to freeze - and they freeze very well! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      Thanks for a tasty and lowfat way to use raisin bran. My teen son can now eat breakfast again and not be in to much hurry to catch bus. Yumm. Updated, these taste really good but the texture was not cakey I assume this is due to applesauce replacing fat? as it was first time using it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      It is wonderful to find a healthy recipe that also tastes good. I used half white and half wheat flour. This is one I will make often for breakfast and snacks. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      These muffins were great! They weren't overly sweet, they have an awesome flavor, and they are good for you :) I did use whole wheat pastry flour instead of the all purpose flour, but that is the only change I made. Very good recipe! A definite keeper here inour house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Raisin Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    17%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 21.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 214.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes