Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applesauce Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2008

      I think one c. of sugar is much too much. The first try was way too sweet. I'm going to try 1/2 c. of sugar and more lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      I was looking for a use for my abundance of homemade applesauce and really liked this recipe. However, it didn't quite fill up a 9-inch pie crush. I think I would do 1 1/2 times the recipe next time. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the filling. It tastes like an apple pie custard - very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I accumulated too much applesauce and couldn't figure out what to do with it! So I googled applesauce pie and this was the first recipe that popped up. This recipe is delightful! My boyfriend loves this pie so much he goes out of his way to buy unsweetened applesauce from the store and sets it in the middle of the fridge as a reminder for me that to make another one.<br/><br/>It seems the filling size has been questionable in some previous reviews, so I will tell you the 3 methods of crust I've used with this filling:<br/><br/>1.) 1 9" homemade pie crust - the filling is the perfect amount for one 9" homemade pie crust.<br/>2.) Great Value frozen crusts (They come in a 2 pack) I ended up having to pour 1/2 the filling into both crusts because they were not as deep as my normal-sized homemade crust.<br/>3.) 1 9" deep dish homemade pie crust - I had to double the recipe, filled the deep dish up perfectly.<br/><br/>One time I ran out of vanilla extract and substituted a tablespoon of pure honey. It tasted so good, it really brought out the natural flavors of the apple.<br/><br/>Instead of cutting back on the sugar I added a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, it gives the filling a lovely "homemade" color, not to mention apples and cinnamon go together like peanut butter and jelly. This pie is quick and easy to make, I recommend it for beginning cooks and cooks who end up spending more time on the main course and run out of time for dessert (that would be me, lol!).<br/><br/>Also goes well with Cool Whip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Having never heard of applesauce pie, I just had to give this a try. Really wasn't expecting much but am absolutely delighted with it. The applesauce I used was homemade and a bit tart, so I did use the fully amount of sugar called for. However, if I were to use commercial unsweetened applesauce, I would certainly cut back on the sugar. For the crust I used Easy As Pie No Roll Pie Crust and am thrilled with the way this pie turned out. It's delicious!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I forgot to review this earlier in the week but here are my notes: This was very quick to prepare and I am happy to have discovered this recipe! Last weekend I used up old pears and apples and made sauce. It worked perfectly in this recipe. Dumped everything in the food processor, blended, poured, baked. A sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg was added to the top of the pie before baking. This is the crust recipe I use all the time: Perfect Pie Crust for Double Crust Pie. The pie recipe was also cut in half and baked in a 7" mini pie pan. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      I love this recipe! it is simple and yet very tasty. I've read the other reviews before attempting to bake this one. So, I added the sugar little by little til I got the sweetness that's right for me. I didn't use the whole amount of sugar stated in this recipe and used a combination of brown sugar and white sugar. I added a tsp of cinnamon and sprinkled a good amount of nutmeg on the top before baking. I also recommend adding in small cubes of apples to give it some texture and more flavour. I used red apples so I opted out on the lemon juice. I also used a 9 inch ready made pie crust...a generic one from Sam's. It fitted perfectly and tasted really good. It held it's shape well too. I think it'll taste even better if the pie crust was homemade. I'll try to make this again and instead of using white sugar...I'll use Truvia. I'm sure it'll taste as good! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      I'm a skeptic and unable to stand long enough to complete complex recipes, but this looked so simple and quick I knew I could do it, but I didn't expect much. Was I ever wrong! This pie is delicious and quick to make. The applesauce I used was rather sweet, so next time I'll use only a half cup of sugar and a bit of lemon juice for a touch of tartness.<br/><br/>I'll be making this again and passing the recipe to friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Fabulous recipe! I substituted half the sugar with light brown sugar and it gave it that extra kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      This was wonderful! It was very easy but you would never know it because it is so good. I will definitely be making this again. I've never heard of an applesauce pie and was pleasantly surprised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This was good. I can't say it is my favorite pie but I give it 5 stars for ease of making and being a fast dessert. I made 2 pies. The first one just as the recipe states except I added a dash or two of cinnamon. The second one I use 3/4 cup of Splenda and 1/4 sugar and I like it better. Not as sweet but yet the taste was not bland. Thank you for a nice, lite and easy dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Delicious pie! And it was so easy. I had all of the ingredients on hand already. Made exactly as directed. Thanks for an AWESOME pie recipe! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      SO delicious and SO easy to make, I'll be making this pie often. I didn't have quite enough applesauce (needed about 1/4 cup more), so I used sweetened stewed rhubarb. I would recommend this to anyone that likes fruit pies and I didn't find it to sweet at all. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Dang, I think I have applesauce for brains! Who wudda thought? Goes to the very top of best recipe for 2010. (Batter is enough to make 4 tartlets.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I would give this SIX stars if I could. My son who loves pies with a passion and is something of a connoisseur of desserts in general said that this is the best pie he has ever had! It's similar to a recipe of my own, but, ahhh I admit... BETTER! The filling holds together nicely, and isn't a bit sloppy. From now on, this is my very favorite pie recipe. The only negative point... I should have doubled the recipe to make 2 of these. Thanks Debe for sharing this gem of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Very good, fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was so good! My husband and I loved it! Kater, I think you might have used a deep dish pie crust, because mine was filled to the very top and I just used a regular one. The only thing I did different from the recipe is that I skipped the lemon juice and sprinkled cinnamon on top. We ate ours with vanilla ice cream! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.7
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    47%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 102.6 mg
    34%
    Sodium 290.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 34.6 g
    138%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes