19 Reviews

I think one c. of sugar is much too much. The first try was way too sweet. I'm going to try 1/2 c. of sugar and more lemon juice.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bfussmann October 20, 2008

I was looking for a use for my abundance of homemade applesauce and really liked this recipe. However, it didn't quite fill up a 9-inch pie crush. I think I would do 1 1/2 times the recipe next time. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the filling. It tastes like an apple pie custard - very yummy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater March 10, 2004

I accumulated too much applesauce and couldn't figure out what to do with it! So I googled applesauce pie and this was the first recipe that popped up. This recipe is delightful! My boyfriend loves this pie so much he goes out of his way to buy unsweetened applesauce from the store and sets it in the middle of the fridge as a reminder for me that to make another one.<br/><br/>It seems the filling size has been questionable in some previous reviews, so I will tell you the 3 methods of crust I've used with this filling:<br/><br/>1.) 1 9" homemade pie crust - the filling is the perfect amount for one 9" homemade pie crust.<br/>2.) Great Value frozen crusts (They come in a 2 pack) I ended up having to pour 1/2 the filling into both crusts because they were not as deep as my normal-sized homemade crust.<br/>3.) 1 9" deep dish homemade pie crust - I had to double the recipe, filled the deep dish up perfectly.<br/><br/>One time I ran out of vanilla extract and substituted a tablespoon of pure honey. It tasted so good, it really brought out the natural flavors of the apple.<br/><br/>Instead of cutting back on the sugar I added a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, it gives the filling a lovely "homemade" color, not to mention apples and cinnamon go together like peanut butter and jelly. This pie is quick and easy to make, I recommend it for beginning cooks and cooks who end up spending more time on the main course and run out of time for dessert (that would be me, lol!).<br/><br/>Also goes well with Cool Whip.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Master of Aprons May 12, 2013

Having never heard of applesauce pie, I just had to give this a try. Really wasn't expecting much but am absolutely delighted with it. The applesauce I used was homemade and a bit tart, so I did use the fully amount of sugar called for. However, if I were to use commercial unsweetened applesauce, I would certainly cut back on the sugar. For the crust I used Easy As Pie No Roll Pie Crust and am thrilled with the way this pie turned out. It's delicious!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra February 13, 2011

I forgot to review this earlier in the week but here are my notes: This was very quick to prepare and I am happy to have discovered this recipe! Last weekend I used up old pears and apples and made sauce. It worked perfectly in this recipe. Dumped everything in the food processor, blended, poured, baked. A sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg was added to the top of the pie before baking. This is the crust recipe I use all the time: Perfect Pie Crust for Double Crust Pie. The pie recipe was also cut in half and baked in a 7" mini pie pan. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 04, 2011

Yesterday I fixed up a pot of my homemade applesauce. Today I was wondering what I could do with it! Stumbled upon this recipe and it is a KEEPER. So easy and that's what I like. Something great tasting and easy. I made my applesauce sugar free but only used 3/4 cup of sugar for the pie recipe. I added about a tablespoon of pure honey like one other reviewer mentioned, but I still used the vanilla extract too. Used a Tenderflake frozen pie shell and all of it fit perfectly in there. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes and let it cool a bit. It is delicious. Hubby said so too! I've made frozen cup fulls of the rest of my applesauce to use for future pies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita S. November 29, 2015

I doubled the recipe exactly except for the applesauce i used a 15oz can of unsweetened applesauce and it was just a little shy of 2 cups, i used 2 great value deep dish frozen pie crusts. Anyway it worked out perfectly and they are the most uniquely delicious pies. Really they are and i will make these again for sure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnna P. October 05, 2015

I have multiple cans of applesauce my mother brought to me from a food pantry. This recipe was easy to prepare, just throw everything in a mixing bowl, stir till smooth and pour in the pie crust. My husband said it's very good. That's proof enough. I couldn't even wait for it to cool all the way. Even good warm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Imelda B. July 03, 2015

I love this recipe! it is simple and yet very tasty. I've read the other reviews before attempting to bake this one. So, I added the sugar little by little til I got the sweetness that's right for me. I didn't use the whole amount of sugar stated in this recipe and used a combination of brown sugar and white sugar. I added a tsp of cinnamon and sprinkled a good amount of nutmeg on the top before baking. I also recommend adding in small cubes of apples to give it some texture and more flavour. I used red apples so I opted out on the lemon juice. I also used a 9 inch ready made pie crust...a generic one from Sam's. It fitted perfectly and tasted really good. It held it's shape well too. I think it'll taste even better if the pie crust was homemade. I'll try to make this again and instead of using white sugar...I'll use Truvia. I'm sure it'll taste as good! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jap_girl July 10, 2014

I'm a skeptic and unable to stand long enough to complete complex recipes, but this looked so simple and quick I knew I could do it, but I didn't expect much. Was I ever wrong! This pie is delicious and quick to make. The applesauce I used was rather sweet, so next time I'll use only a half cup of sugar and a bit of lemon juice for a touch of tartness.<br/><br/>I'll be making this again and passing the recipe to friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmerc801 December 08, 2013
Applesauce Pie