50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy to make, and just the right size for the three of us. This cake reminds me of spice cake, it has a very nice allspice flavor. I served it with vanilla ice cream - YUM!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan April 07, 2003

I've made this applesauce cake a few times now and thought I had already reviewed it... but nope... so here goes! Absolutely love how easy and quick this is to throw together... I love making it on a Saturday morning for everyone to come down to in the morning. It smells heavenly while baking and is the perfect weekend alarm clock. That being said, I use double the amount of applesauce called for (I love a really moist applesauce cake) and add some chopped up apple (about 1 medium) and a sprinkle of cinnamon (just because I love it!) and this cake is absolutely perfect! Thanks for a great easy recipe, chia!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hollyism September 15, 2011

Soooooo easy. That's my favorite part. Yummy, moist cake with great flavor. On the advice of a previous poster, I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup. Perfect for us. I didn't have allspice, so I used 1 teaspoon cinnamom and 1/2 teaspoon cloves.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sisty Gin October 06, 2008

You know, I have been meaning to rate this recipe for forever!! I love this, it also makes exactly 12 muffins. It's a great simple, lovely-tasting cake. Thank you chia!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamitosami December 15, 2007

What an easy and delicious cake! It almost tastes like a spice cake. I doubled it and made it in a 9x13 pan and left out the nuts. I also subbed cinnamon and ground cloves for allspice. Hubby took it to work and everybody loved it! Will keep this one around.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 23, 2013

A nice variation on the Wacky Cake. I used half whole wheat flour and cinnamon instead of allspice. I also embedded sliced apples in the top before baking in a pretty design and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Easy to make with things you have at home. Watch the time carefully, easy to overcook and I think the time on the recipe runs too long.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha February 14, 2011

Very good taste, but a little too sweet for my taste. The brown sugar added a molassas taste that I didn't care for, but all the rest of the family loved it. I will be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetz July 28, 2008

Thanks, Chia, for helping me find your recipe! I was looking for a dessert that was healthy and could be prepared in under an hour, so that's what I searched for then I sorted the results by ratings. It was very easy, moist, and tasty. Since I prefer to use whole grains, I used 1 cup of unbleached all-purpose flour and 2/3 cup of whole wheat flour. Next time, I'll try it the other way around. I also didn't pack the cup of brown sugar as I was taught to do a long time ago since I prefer to use less sugar. I also used unsweetened applesauce. My nut of choice was walnut for the Omega-3. Mine was done at 25 minutes, so thanks, Mrs. Rexy for suggesting I check earlier than I might have otherwise. I served it to my sister-in-law and her girls for an impromptu Mother's Day dinner. The girls asked for seconds and my sister-in-law asked for the recipe! We finished the leftovers a couple of days later and it was even more flavorful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Netgirl's Healthy Cookbook May 16, 2007

Keep this flavorful cake in mind when you need a quick dessert and the cupboard is almost bare. Single-serving applesauce containers are just the right size, and you don't even need an egg! I didn't want a strong allspice flavor so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon cardamon for 1 teaspoon allspice. This would also be a nice breakfast/brunch cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Innisfree February 11, 2005

Made this for a co-worker who does not eat eggs. This recipe is awesome. So easy to make and very moist and delicious. I made the recipe as directed. Note* - I have now made this cake several times and everyone love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods January 30, 2015
Applesauce Cake