Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applesauce Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Cake

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      Very easy to make, and just the right size for the three of us. This cake reminds me of spice cake, it has a very nice allspice flavor. I served it with vanilla ice cream - YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      I've made this applesauce cake a few times now and thought I had already reviewed it... but nope... so here goes! Absolutely love how easy and quick this is to throw together... I love making it on a Saturday morning for everyone to come down to in the morning. It smells heavenly while baking and is the perfect weekend alarm clock. That being said, I use double the amount of applesauce called for (I love a really moist applesauce cake) and add some chopped up apple (about 1 medium) and a sprinkle of cinnamon (just because I love it!) and this cake is absolutely perfect! Thanks for a great easy recipe, chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Soooooo easy. That's my favorite part. Yummy, moist cake with great flavor. On the advice of a previous poster, I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup. Perfect for us. I didn't have allspice, so I used 1 teaspoon cinnamom and 1/2 teaspoon cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Very good taste, but a little too sweet for my taste. The brown sugar added a molassas taste that I didn't care for, but all the rest of the family loved it. I will be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      You know, I have been meaning to rate this recipe for forever!! I love this, it also makes exactly 12 muffins. It's a great simple, lovely-tasting cake. Thank you chia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Keep this flavorful cake in mind when you need a quick dessert and the cupboard is almost bare. Single-serving applesauce containers are just the right size, and you don't even need an egg! I didn't want a strong allspice flavor so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon cardamon for 1 teaspoon allspice. This would also be a nice breakfast/brunch cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      What an easy and delicious cake! It almost tastes like a spice cake. I doubled it and made it in a 9x13 pan and left out the nuts. I also subbed cinnamon and ground cloves for allspice. Hubby took it to work and everybody loved it! Will keep this one around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Awesome recipe! Very easy! I have slightly adopted it and added nuts and raisins, they make the texture just perfect for those who like crunchy filling inside.<br/>http://www.cakeaddicted.com/applesauce-cake-recipe.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I made this yesterday, and my husband LOVED it. It was very easy to make; but I wasn't very impressed with how it tasted right out of the oven. But I tried it today, after it had cooled, and it was REALLY good. My only complaint is that it seems a little too molasses-y. So, I think I'll use light brown sugar next time. Thank you for a great-tasting, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      I love this little no mess snack cake and my family does too! I always add a little apple pie spice to it to make it just a little spicier. YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      A nice variation on the Wacky Cake. I used half whole wheat flour and cinnamon instead of allspice. I also embedded sliced apples in the top before baking in a pretty design and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Easy to make with things you have at home. Watch the time carefully, easy to overcook and I think the time on the recipe runs too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Wow this was wonderfull.Whent over very well in my house and was convienient.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This was great!! I wanted something yummy and sweet but healthy, so I used almost all whole wheat flour, more applesauce than oil, and substituted half the sugar for honey. It was amazing.. Still light and fluffy, even with whole wheat flour! I love this great versatile recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Amazing and super easy!! Took it to a friends house for dessert and it was gone before dinner was even served! Omitted the nuts because I don't like them. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Wow. This recipe really is bulletproof. Having just moved, I literally had almost NO groceries and no time to go shopping. But of course, had a craving for something sweet today and decided to try this recipe with some major substitutions. I didnt have baking soda, so I used one egg instead. Instead of nuts, I used dried apple slices. Instead of allspice, I used 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. And, instead of vegetable oil, I had to spray in a ton of cooking spray. Talk about bootleg. However, despite all this- the recipe turned out beautifully and tasted wonderful! Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

    • on November 16, 2009

      I needed a cake with no dairy, soy, peanuts, chocolate, corn or nuts in it for a friend who can't eat those things. I wasn't expecting a whole lot, but this cake was delicious! I will definately be making this cake again. Next time I will add a cream cheese frosting if everyone can eat dairy. I omitted the nuts. I used unsweetend applesauce and 1 cup regular flour and 2/3 cup whole wheat flour; I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. The cake was very moist. I think I could have eaten the whole pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This was easy and pretty good. I used apple juice instead of water and added extra ground cloves and apple pie spice. The cake was a little dry for us..next time I will add more applesauce and maybe cinnamon chips. Very nice flavor and I love that it is egg-free....we have allergies over here. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This was really good! Never had applesauce cake before, but enjoyed the flavors! I added 1/2 cup of raisins bc DH loves em and subbed cinn. and nutmeg for allspice (didn't have any) - mine took 40 min to fully cook. Will def make again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Just made this today.ABSOLUTELY delicious!!!! Only thing I added was to lightly spread with butter when cooked and spread with cinnamon and sugar.Will become new family fav I'm sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.3
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    33%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 314.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites