Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applesauce Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Brownies

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2010

      These were unexpected winners. Surprised at how moist (but not gooey) these were without shortening. I mixed the wet ingredients in blender then added this to the dry in the stand mixer. So quick to make. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and substituted dried mixed berries for the nuts. Don't know how I'll keep my mitts off these for the rest of the day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      The recipe is easy to follow and very simple. It has a strong enjoyable coco taste. I used Nestle and I find it be less bitter than other brands. However to avoid over mixing and a light airy texture I added the sugar to the flour mixture not the egg mix. Then I broke the yolk into the applesauce and added the egg whites, just barely mix then add it to the dry ingredients. I also added cinnamon. It is good for an applesauce brownie, however if you prefer a fudge like texture this recipe is not for you. I took a photo but it want upload.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      omg so good. no walnuts, added some cinnamon and sprinkled some semi sweet chocolate chips on top. I ate 8 right when i took them out of the oven!!!! oh god

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      YUM!! I also added 1 tsp cinnamon... next time I will cut that amount in half as the cinnamon flavor really stood out, and I would rather have a stronger chocolate flavor. All in all, very yummy. My picky-pants husband didn't care for them, so more for me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      My family loved them! I used the two egg method but instead of regular applesauce I used cinnamon. I think that took care of the bitter taste so many were complaining about. Also, I put as many organic products as I could (the applesauce, sugar, and eggs)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Good cake-like consistency, but very bitter. I think it needs more sugar and less cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Good flavor! I was surprised that I liked the slight applesauce taste to them, didn't think I'd be able to taste that. But unfortunately mine were kinda spongey and rubbery, I think that was just me, I think I under mixed the batter in fear of over mixing it! Nice, healthy, chocolatey brownie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      We loved this recipe and ended up eating the majority of the brownies still warm from the oven! Instructions not to overmix batter were really helpful to avoid the rubbery texture you sometimes get with applesauce-moistened recipes. We also used two eggs, which worked really well (instead of an egg and two egg whites). Thank you for a tasty yet healthy treat, Jennika!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Used 3/4 cup eggs beaters and 8 tablespoons applesauce, no oil and no nuts. These were very good and chocolaty, almost bitter because they were so chocolaty. The were better the next day and I could taste the applesauce in them a little more. Overall a perfectly acceptable healthy brownie recipe to use instead of the fattening others. Thanks for sharing, will make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.2
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    10%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 11.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 49.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites