12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread is very flavorful and moist! Made the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne S. April 18, 2011

This is a 5 star recipe. I made this for my Dad and sense Mom died no body has been able to bake as well as her. But Dad loved this bread and said it was as good as moms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
montanagran August 25, 2008

well I started this recipe with homemade applesauce on the soft chunky side with cinnamon no sugar added, so we will see how it turns out, I had no nutmeg so i used allspice instead, my bread turned out so moist and very tasty, I'm going to use this recipe from now on for my applesauce bread. And I will use it for gife's at christmas as well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dee.dees October 23, 2012

This is really good. Very nice and moist. I did however reduce the butter and sugar by half and increased the applesauce by a half cup. I also baked it an additional 10 mins. Due to my modifications, it's a little crumbly, but I'll try adding an additional egg next time to see if that helps. Very good, I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susytwo October 20, 2009

This is one of the 8 bread recipes I made to give as gifts to the members of my church. It is delicious and easy. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 December 19, 2008

This bread is delicious! I doubled the recipe, left out the nuts and raisins and added double craisins instead. I also added one tsp orange extract per batch and would have added some orange zest, but didn't have any. I gave one loaf to a friend who said YUM! I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe. For the person who used less egg and had a soggy loaf, part of that could have been because you didn't use the correct amount of egg. Egg is a binder and it needs to be added as stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie #3 November 27, 2008

Loved the bread! Moist, flavorful, and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Experimenter November 17, 2008

I made this vegan by using margarine and 1 tbs. of egg/tbs. of water combo instead of egg. I was really good out of the oven. It was soggy in the middle but still so yummy. I think it would be better cooked in an 8x8 pan so it wouldn't be so thick in the middle. The longer it sat the better it tasted. This recipe is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggirl October 22, 2008

I'm not going to give stars because I think it's just me. I have the biggest problem with breads like this! They come out too dark and yet seem uncooked in the center. Maybe it's my oven. It tastes good but it's so darkly colored as to be unappetizing in appearance and it's soggy in the middle. Baked for a 60 minutes at 350 as directed. It was too dark by 40 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie September 07, 2008

This is fabulous!!! I used 2 smaller loaf pans rather than one large. (I recommend parchment paper). I had a jar of applesauce with cinnamon on the shelf to use, but I still used the same spice measurements as given in the recipe. Oh my gosh, it is so, so wonderful. I have enjoyed it stored in the refrigerator. I think the raisins are a must. I also used chopped walnuts. I plan to make these loaves as Christmas gifts for friends. Thanks so much for a GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bina 'n SC July 04, 2008
Applesauce Bread