10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The only problem is that you have to wait so long. Well worth the wait, but it is hard to smell those great smells for 10 hours and not get hungry. Flavor is great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purelabor_11459625 April 20, 2015

Made for gift-giving because I love Christmas...and cinnamon...and cloves...some ginger...and mostly when they're all combined.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 02, 2012

What a winner. Loved the how easy it was to make as well as how good it made the house smell while it was cooking and then the taste yum. Did cut the recipe by a third and made in a mini crockpot and used half Splenda and half sugar. Applesauce Apple Butter has gone into the keeper file and will be made again. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl February 27, 2011

Wow was this yummy Weekender. We really enjoyed this thick, sweet apple butter. It was served with thick slices of toasted bread for a delicious, quick and easy breakfast. This butter was so easy to make. I used a thick, coarse, chuncky, sweet applesauce. It worked well in the dish but, next time, I will make this with a unsweetened smooth apple sauce. I must say that I really enjoyed the spices in the butter, especially the cloves. Thank you so much for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 16, 2010

Very easy to make! I cut the recipe by 1/3 as I only had 1 qt of unsweetened applesauce left. I am thinking though that I could make this again with my regular applesauce omitting the sugar and spices as they were previously added. This went very well my toast for breakfast the other day. :) Thanks so much for sharing! I love apple butter but didn't like the constant attention over the stove top to make it. This method was so much simpler. Made for the January 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast January 14, 2010

Had them with pancakes and it was great!DD ate more pancakes becoz of the apple butter. I have to make another batch to give as gifts for Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 01, 2009

This tastes great and was so easy to make. I made only half the amount. Next time I'll make the full amount because the kids love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* November 18, 2009

Really easy way to use up unsweetened applesauce (I was blessed with lots of apples this year).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen October 11, 2009

Made this the other day & had company to whom I gifted several containers even before it was finished cooking ~ I might have been less generous if I'd known just how great this 'butter' was gonna be, 'cause now I'm ready to make a full batch just to have right here at home! VERY, VERY NICE TASTING APPLE BUTTER, & so easy to make, too! I actually let it cook the full 10 hours & couldn't have been more pleased with the results! Thanks, much, for the great apple butter! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 20, 2009

WC - what a great way to have apple butter without peeling an apple. I was skeptical at first thinking it would be too runny but boy it thickened up nicely. The flavor is GREAT! I used it on top of pancakes in place of syrup and was so happy!!! Now I can have apple butter year round! Made for your win during Summer Spectacular in Cooking Tag Games June 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom June 30, 2009
Applesauce Apple Butter