12 Reviews

We LOVED this dinner. The chicken was incredibly tender and flavorful. The basting sauce, itself, is fantastic. I could have eaten that all by itself! I was expecting 3 for dinner, so had marinated 3 chicken breasts. We ended up having 5 people for dinner. So once I took the picture of a whole chicken breast, I sliced them into strips. I then served the chicken strips over lightly dressed salad greens mixed with crumbled tortilla chips. It was a hit! Thank you. ~Made for Please Review My Recipe~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 18, 2010

OK, I must confess; I've never had Fiesta Lime Chicken at Applebee's. I know, it's a menu staple, but I( always find something else I wanna try :). That said, I tagged this because I was intrigued, and, tho lengthy, the ingredients and instructions are on the MONEY. I marinated my chicken for almost 4 hours, and cooked on my indoor grill. I then topped with sauce mix and cheese, and put under the broiler for 5 minutes. I served over Tostito scoops, with rice, and the chicken was moist and flavorful. I'm so happy you shared this recipe, seesko, as we really enjoyed it, and I'll be making it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl January 21, 2010

This was really tasty, even without the tequila, which is NOT one of my best friends - (see incident at age 17). Besides that omission and halving the recipe, I made it as indicated and, well, we were HAPPY. :o) Thanks for sharing, seesko!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) July 29, 2009

Another 5 stars from the husband. Even though it looks like it will take a long time with the list of ingredients it doesn't. Well worth doing. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jog4me May 02, 2011

this is one of my absolute FAVORITE recipes! i normally hate marinating chicken, because it takes time to plan ahead ... but it is TOTALLY worth it on this one. oh yum! now i know what i'm making for dinner tomorrow!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodi jean June 01, 2009

Delicious version of this Applebee's dish. We don't have a working grill (or a grill pan) so I broiled the chicken on high (7 minutes, flip, 7 more minutes) before adding the sauce and cheese. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslieswabb August 29, 2015

Pretty close to the signature dish at Applebee's. I added a pico de gallo just before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke246 February 23, 2014

I made this for supper last night and it was as the kids would say "awesome". Just like I remembered it from Applebee's.. I fell in love with it there the first time I had it. It has a wonderful flavor and could be eaten with anything for an accompaniment. I had cooked some great northern beans and that's what we had with it. Along with some fresh sliced tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsivertson_12250715 May 19, 2013

We made this last night and it is as close as you can get Without going to Applebee's ,thats what my son of 19 and girlfriend said,they know, because it's the only item they order there.It's a lot less expensive also.This is the first time I have it myself and have to agree as they explained the different taste that comes along with this dish, it is outstanding.I watched the Video on You Tube of what was in the dish then compared it to this one,take a look at the video then come back here and print this one!
There is only one suggestion that I would make! The amount of marinade is enough for twice the amount of chicken listed here.You can easily use make 2-2 1/2 pounds of chicken instead of 1 pound!
No more ordering out for Fiesta Lime Chicken at Applebee's!Thank you for listing the Copycat Recipe seesko.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mit That's Tim December 21, 2012

I have this everytime i go to Applebees. I liked this better!! I fried some tortilla strips. This was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead January 29, 2012
Applebee's Fiesta Lime Chicken Copycat Recipe