Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Applebee's Crispy Orange Chicken Bowl Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applebee's Crispy Orange Chicken Bowl

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      I made this recipe and it turned out great the first time. All this of course, after I zested myself :-) But the orange sauce was not to heavy, not too lite, just right!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I tasted just like the Orange Chicken at Applebee's, and it was relatively simple to make! Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This is my husband's favorite from Applebee's, and he PREFERS the homemade version! I made the recipe, as is, no changes. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      After eating this at Applebees I looked for the recipe online and found this version. Everytime I make it I get asked for the recipe. I didnt make any substitutions or changes. Great as it is! You can cook the chicken ahead of time and then add the sauce later so that it doesnt get soggy. The chicken is moist and great even without the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      I made this recipe and it was great!! Will be making again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Having never had the Applebee's version of this I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like. I halved the recipe, but made as stated at first. I thought the hoisin sauce was a little much, so I messed around with it, adding more oj and sugar until it was edible. Sounded super yummy, but unfortunately, this was a one timer for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Great weekday recipe! It tasted great, too. I made it exactly as recipe stated and used Birdseye Steamed veggies. I will make this again because everyone LOVED it! Thanks for a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      AWESOME!!! I made this with popcorn chicken to save time and added Birdseye Steamed veggies (with snowpeas and water chestnuts). It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I give this a high five star! I only made the sauce as I was looking for something to glaze our baked skinless chicken breasts with and it was truly delicious. Will make again for sure. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I loved it! I made it with stir fry veggies and served it over a jasmine wild rice mixture. It tasted just like Applebees. The reason for 4 stars in stead of 5 is because my family hated it (but they also hate applebees version too,) I will make it again and freeze extra portions for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Very good chicken bowl. I made half a recipe using chicken tenders but the whole sauce recipe. We had lots of the sauce left. Served it with rice, broccoli, roasted red peppers, and snow peas. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Very, very delicious. This is my favorite meal at Applebees, and I am so happy to be able to make it at home now! I did cheat a little, and use ready-made popcorn chicken from Tyson to reduce the cooking time, but the sauce was perfect! The only change I made was to add a little more spice. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This has become one of our favorite meals for entertaining. It is always a big hit. The orange glaze is wonderful, but I omit the orange rind because the orange flavor it adds can be a bit overpowering. The recipe is very adaptable. You can make it more spicy by adding more cayenne or adjusting the other seasaonings to suit your taste. I think the additon of the stir fry veggies is a must. You can use the ones your family prefers. I like to use red bell peppers, broccoli, and snow peas. Great recipe, Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! I love the restaurant's version, and this one tastes just like it! I make this one often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I absoltely LOVE this orange chicken bowl at Applebee's- and was so excited to make this recipe when I found it. I would say it tastes very similar to the Applebee's version, and my husband and I really did enjoy it. I did not put as much hoisin sauce in, and used broccoli, red peppers and the snow peas. Yummy! Next time I will make a few minor changes but overall- GREAT! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I don't know what the Applebee's version tastes like, but I do know that this is such an easy recipe with a great flavor! Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This is such a wonderful recipe!! Tastes just like Applebee's--I use Tyson Honey Battered Chicken Tenders instead of spending the time to fry the chicken. With using the chicken tenders this is less than a 30 minute meal AND the bonus is that my whole family loves to eat this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This recipe tastes EXACTLY like my favorite meal at Applebees! I add steamed broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. I also stir in sliced almonds before I serve it over a bed of herb rice. I will keep this recipe forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Lots more work than just calling them up and ordering it but fun & very good to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This is such an excellent recipe! We absolutely love it; it's just as good as Applebee's, only you can change the veggies or rice to suit your company. The sauce is simply fabulous! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applebee's Crispy Orange Chicken Bowl

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 544.6
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    14%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 185.8 mg
    61%
    Sodium 1556.8 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 26.5 g
    106%
    Protein 56.5 g
    113%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites