10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this a few weeks ago and served it with a grilled turkey. I thought it was very good. My guests LOVED it. I used fresh herbs from my garden, a little extra broth and added dried cranberries. I did not toast the bread but did toast the walnuts. This will be my stuffing for Thanksgiving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplysimons November 13, 2010

It was good, but when I saw that 8 people had given this recipe 5 stars I was expecting it to be GREAT. I substituted several things to make it gluten and dairy free (rice bread instead of bread crumbs, olive oil instead of butter, and almond milk instead of milk), which no doubt affected the outcome. If I make it again I will take the other people's suggestions to add more liquid (chicken stock) because I also like my stuffing moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllergyGirl February 22, 2010

This turned out great! I also added some stock for extra moistness, since I used more bread. I also added some dried cranberries. Everyone loved it and one guest even asked for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baked Therapy December 02, 2009

I made this tonight to go with our steaks we grilled for our anniversary. I made the stuffing exactly as written, and I wouldn't change a thing! I did use fresh thyme and rosemary because I had some on hand and went with wheat bread. My husband really likes the sausage-added kind of stuffing, but said this one is a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe Sharon123!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLashier October 29, 2006

Outstanding stuffing! We enjoyed everything about this stuffing, the flavour, texture, generous amount, and I enjoyed the ease of prep and baking it in a separate dish. I used rice flour bread and subbed poultry seasoning for the sage and rosemary. I am totally impressed with this recipe. Thanks, Sharon123!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues September 23, 2006

Very good. I used to stuff my Easter Turkey. Nice flavor and I liked the texture which often most stuffings lack. I toasted the bread the night before which worked perfect because it was hard enough for me to get up in the morning yet alone toast then cut the toast lol. My husband cut the apples and I did the rest making this super easy too. With a yummy result.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinS Smith April 16, 2006

This was great. I also added 1 c of raisins and 1/2 can of chicken broth, as I like my stuffing pretty moist. This is a keeper, thank you. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG December 06, 2005

This came out fantastic! I was a little worried that it looked too "wet" from the milk when it went into the oven, but it cooked perfect- I used this as a stuffing for pork chops, and i added raisins to the stuffing before i baked it- was great! I also halved the recipe because there is only two of us, still cooked 30 minutes but used a 9x9 square pan- perfect! Thanks Sharon for the recipe i will definately make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewYorkMama August 24, 2005

Very Good. I did not have any celery so I sprinkled celery salt on the onions while they were cooking. I also only had red apples. The walnuts gave it a nice crunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel December 28, 2004

I thought this was delicious. I used brown German bread that I cubed and toasted lightly in a skillet with a Tbsp of butter. I loved the addition of the nuts and the apples in this. It looked so beautiful when it came out of the oven and tasted great. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 15, 2003
Apple Walnut Stuffing