Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Turkey Fingers (For Older Infants & Toddlers) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Turkey Fingers (For Older Infants & Toddlers)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2010

      5 stars for making my toddler excited to eat and dip. Mommy and Daddy enjoyed them also. I rolled them in cornmeal for an extra crunch. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy and peas (or ball-balls). I will make them again for sure. I want to try freezing a batch, so I can take them out as part of an easy lunch. A nice way to get the convenience of frozen food without it being processed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      These were good, but I was expecting a different flavor. Using my Pampered Chef chopper, I minced my carrots, apples, onions and garlic cloves. I added celery too. I was hoping for more of a turkey stuffing taste, but I never acheived that. I added some poultry spice and used breadcrumbs instead of the bran. I also used an egg replacer since my DD is allergic. When all was done and cooked, it tasted like turkey meatloaf sticks. We enjoyed it, but next time I think I will use stuffing bread instead of bread crumbs or bran, saute my veggies in a tiny bit of butter, boil some gizards and saute them with the veggies too and add that to the turkey and stuffing bread mixture. Can you tell I'm craving stuffing? Very easy recipe that we all enjoyed and will make again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Did not care for this recipe. Apples and turkey do not go that well together IMO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I really liked them, and told my 18-month old they were chicken nuggets so she'd try them. Jury's still out with her, but I find them delicious! :) I only used 1/2 pound of turkey (it's what I had defrosted), then kind of eyeballed everything else. Only did 1 grated carrot, put in apple sauce instead of apples, one egg... And then I used some breadcrumbs from some homemade potato bread that was starting to get stale. Very, very yummy. My daughter's getting these for dinner, and I might just have a few more, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      YUM! My one year old (who apparently just can't stand the texture of meat yet) still doesn't care for them, but give it a few more weeks and he probably will. I think they are fabulous though!! I just might turn these into burgers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      These are fantastic. My 2 year old loved them and so did my hubby. I really want to try these as burgers, I think they would be great! I used applesauce instead of apples because that was what I had. Had great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      These were very good - no babies here - the adults loved it! Excellent taste and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Wow! These looked disgusting while making them, but turned out really tasty! My 2 year old daughter and I both enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I could not find the unprocessed bran so I used bread crumbs. My 3 year old picky daughter loved these as did my 1 year old son. I will need to double the recipe so I have enough for all of us for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Not just for kids! Excellent flavor (want to try a "burger" pattie next time for grownups, but for adult palates I'd recommend some salt and/or pepper to taste. It does seem as though the temp setting (broiler) is too high, even moving the dish further away from the coils, I had burnt crispies on the edges as well as charred juices which escaped during cooking...even at 8 mins on first and 6-7min on 2nd side. (Still thoroughly cooked) Will try "baking" at a slightly reduced temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      These are very good, but my son wouldn't try them. I couldn't find the bran so I had to use breadcrumbs, but I did throw in a bit of flax, and wheat germ as well as a handful of oats. I also added a bit of poultry seasoning to it. They cooked way faster than expected from the instructions so I had burnt outsides, but luckily I was watching them and at least caught it before it got too bad. We dipped these in an asian sauce and they were just delicious. If these took a little less time to prep I would for sure make these very often, and I will for sure make them again. Even my husband liked them and he hates cooked carrots and apples lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This is a good recipe. I changed it a little by taking out the onion and adding cauliflower, I also added ground flax seed meal to my breading. My daughter is really picky and while I'm lucky if she eats one I will always finish them quilt free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      We liked the flavor very much but my kids had a texture issue with the final product. I will try the suggestion of another reviewer next time and make it into a meatloaf. Thanks for a healthy alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      These turned out very good. My husband likes them even more than my 11 month old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I had no intention of making these for myself--they were supposed to be for my 10-month-old. But they smelled so amazing I had to try one, and I'm definitely going to be making these for the whole family soon! One thing I did differently--I really hate handling raw meat mixtures, so instead I spooned small mounds onto the cookie sheet and flattend them into patties with the back of a spoon. Worked great, and no mess! These would make fabulous hamburgers, but I think I'll also try this as a meatloaf. Definitely very impressed with the taste and texture of these--normally, I don't like ground meat much, but these are really good. UPDATE: I tried making this as a meatloaf (put it in a loaf pan and bake at 350 for an hour or until fully cooked), and it turned out GREAT. It's a lot less messy than making individual patties or fingers. After baking it, I sliced the meatloaf into pieces and froze them, so I can easily take out and defrost a single serving as needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

    • on November 01, 2006

      These are great!!!! My 14 mo. old DD gobbled them up. My very picky 4 year old son wasn't as easy. He did with a lot of prompting eat a few bites. I think if I had made them into balls instead of sticks he would have loved them (he loves meatballs). I made the mistake of trying one myself...I almost didn't have any left to freeze for later! They were so good it was hard to stop eating them. And oh yeah they were really easy to make too! I used italian seasoned breadcrumbs instead of the bran because I couldn't find the bran at my grocery store. I think next time I'll make them in balls and see if that wins over my son. Thank you so much for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Forget the kids, these are delicious! I followed the recipe and got 13 "fingers" using 1/4c scoop. They sliced nicely and 2 1/2 yr old DGD was able to spear them w/ her fork before dipping in ketchup. 11 mo old DGD #2 seemed to like them too. They were soft/tender enough for even a little one. DD and her DH also liked them, as did I. I think I will make these just for myself and make little loaves out of them (I like the browned outside). I particularly liked that they are not greasy at all; when I make meatloaf w/ lean ground beef there is still some fat. These were moist and tender with good flavor but not at all greasy. I will definitely be making this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Not only did my 9month old like these, but so did I! I followed the recipe exactly, except for spraying my baking sheet with some non-stick spray. Wonderful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I have used this recipe again and again. My daughter always enjoys these! I did end up taking out the garlic because it gets a bit stinky when we take these for lunch on the go. Also, I've added shredded spinach which is tasty and boosts the green veggies! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Turkey Fingers (For Older Infants & Toddlers)

    Serving Size: 1 (879 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.1
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    39%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 15.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 19.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites