44 Reviews

I've made this same recipe for years and there's never a crumb left. The apples just make it so good. I first tasted this at a friend's house at least 25 years ago and I've made it on many occasions since always with good success! A truly terrific cake!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert March 13, 2002

I made this cake for the first time today and I have to say it was one of the very best apple cakes I have ever tasted. My husband thought it was terrific. It will be one of our favorites from now on.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen Scheid October 17, 2002

GREAT! We loved it. Made dietary changes as follows: substituted 50/50 sugar/splenda for the sugar, apple juice for orange juice (that was all I had) and used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D2thaK October 22, 2009

This was an excellent cake! Very moist! I used 1/2 melted butter and 1/2 vegetable oil; reduced the sugar by 4 tbsp. (I live in a high altitude area); I used 3 Fuji apples and got a little over 2 cups of fruit. I did not have orange juice on hand so I used nonsweetened apple cider and it came out fine. Once the cake was cooled, I drizzled with a caramel glaze (1/4 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup half & half) and it added a nice little topping to this beautiful cake. Will make this again and try using all butter in the cake batter. To keep the cake from sticking to the pan I used Kittencal's Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!) - I swear by it!! Works like a charm every single time!! Thanks for posting, this was super delish and super easy!! Update: I made three more of these cakes using 1 cup of melted butter and they came out perfectly! Much better than the oil. Will be using butter from now on (and I will be making this cake many more times!!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve October 21, 2009

This was everything i was hoping for! i had all these apples sitting around and wanted something sweet for a party- let me tell ya, i picked the right recipe! Everyone loved it! If i could bottle the smell of it baking i would be a wealthy woman! Thanks alot, i will make this over and over i'm sure! Instead of powdered sugar i used a glaze (1stick butter, 1/4c milk, 1c b. sugar melted over the stove and drizzled on) try it you will not regret it! i also substituted apple cider for OJ like another review...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cass and sam October 27, 2008

I love it when I find my recipe on food.com! Then I don't have to input it.

This is a fabulous recipe. I have been using it for over 10 years. I have had someone ask me for the recipe almost every time I make it... it's delicious.

I sometimes increase the apple/cinnamon/sugar mixture and I think it's an improvement to an already wonderful cake.

I like the idea of dusting with powdered sugar or adding a glaze (for aesthetic appeal... I'm going to try it).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW December 23, 2012

Delicious. It tasted like a coffee cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 20, 2012

A family and friends favourite for over 30 years. Wonderful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
filh October 12, 2012

Wonderful cake. Took the suggestion of an earlier reviewer and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup apple sauce. The baking time is right on spot, the cake is moist, but not too moist, it slices well, in short, a great cake. Wanted to see if it also would freeze well but got no chance, it was gone before I knew it. Will certainly make again.
Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo September 23, 2012
Apple Swirl Cake