Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Swirl Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Swirl Cake

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2002

      I've made this same recipe for years and there's never a crumb left. The apples just make it so good. I first tasted this at a friend's house at least 25 years ago and I've made it on many occasions since always with good success! A truly terrific cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      I made this cake for the first time today and I have to say it was one of the very best apple cakes I have ever tasted. My husband thought it was terrific. It will be one of our favorites from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      GREAT! We loved it. Made dietary changes as follows: substituted 50/50 sugar/splenda for the sugar, apple juice for orange juice (that was all I had) and used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      This was an excellent cake! Very moist! I used 1/2 melted butter and 1/2 vegetable oil; reduced the sugar by 4 tbsp. (I live in a high altitude area); I used 3 Fuji apples and got a little over 2 cups of fruit. I did not have orange juice on hand so I used nonsweetened apple cider and it came out fine. Once the cake was cooled, I drizzled with a caramel glaze (1/4 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup half & half) and it added a nice little topping to this beautiful cake. Will make this again and try using all butter in the cake batter. To keep the cake from sticking to the pan I used Kittencal's Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!) - I swear by it!! Works like a charm every single time!! Thanks for posting, this was super delish and super easy!! Update: I made three more of these cakes using 1 cup of melted butter and they came out perfectly! Much better than the oil. Will be using butter from now on (and I will be making this cake many more times!!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was everything i was hoping for! i had all these apples sitting around and wanted something sweet for a party- let me tell ya, i picked the right recipe! Everyone loved it! If i could bottle the smell of it baking i would be a wealthy woman! Thanks alot, i will make this over and over i'm sure! Instead of powdered sugar i used a glaze (1stick butter, 1/4c milk, 1c b. sugar melted over the stove and drizzled on) try it you will not regret it! i also substituted apple cider for OJ like another review...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      I love it when I find my recipe on food.com! Then I don't have to input it.

      This is a fabulous recipe. I have been using it for over 10 years. I have had someone ask me for the recipe almost every time I make it... it's delicious.

      I sometimes increase the apple/cinnamon/sugar mixture and I think it's an improvement to an already wonderful cake.

      I like the idea of dusting with powdered sugar or adding a glaze (for aesthetic appeal... I'm going to try it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      Delicious. It tasted like a coffee cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      A family and friends favourite for over 30 years. Wonderful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Wonderful cake. Took the suggestion of an earlier reviewer and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup apple sauce. The baking time is right on spot, the cake is moist, but not too moist, it slices well, in short, a great cake. Wanted to see if it also would freeze well but got no chance, it was gone before I knew it. Will certainly make again.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

    • on May 08, 2012

    • on April 14, 2012

      I thought this cake was ok. It was not a big hit with my family. I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup so perhaps this change made a difference. I prefer healthier recipes so I will try another. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This made a lovely, moist apple cake. I didn't have orange juice on hand, so I substituted apple sauce, and it worked out well. I also added just a pinch of nutmeg to the batter. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I've made this cake twice in as many days. It is delicious and so easy! I used apple juice both times, and closer to 3 cups of apples than the 2 called for. I really enjoyed the fact that the cake is plain and all the cinnamon is right next to the apples. I used a nice tart apple (jonathan) that we got at a local orchard and this cake was a perfect way to showcase the apples. I posted a picture of this cake plain--that's how I ate it, although some people chose to drizzle a salted caramel sauce over it and that was pretty tasty, too. I wish I could say how long this cake will keep, but I haven't been able to keep it longer than a day--it gets devoured. Thanks for a great recipe!! Update: I edited the type of apple used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Wow, was this cake ever good! My family enjoyed every last crumb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Great cake! I added extra apples and had to bake a bit longer but it turned out lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Other than adding in some nuts, I followed the recipe and it was really a great dessert. Even my DS and DD loved it! My dessert loving DH gave it thumbs up, so it's a go again here! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This was a very tasty cake. Texture was great. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Made this for a family get together and everyone loved it! I think next time I will try making in a 13x9 pan with more apples and a streusel topping for a coffee cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      SO YUMMY!!!! I don't even like cake but this one was fantastic! I had to use a tube cake pan and it was a little hard to get the cake out...but I make an orange juice and confectioner's sugar glaze to cover up what had stuck to this inside of the pan. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Swirl Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.6
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    39%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 212.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 39.2 g
    157%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes