Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Strudel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Strudel

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2010

      Wonderful, easy recipe. I added cinnamon and sugar to each phyllo layer along with the butter, and exchanged panko for the bread crumbs (very crispy). Also added a simple light glaze over the top. This recipe is a keeper. It actually makes 3 strudels. A huge hit at my dinner party. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I've tried many Apple Strudel recipes over the years and always been disappointed at the lack of taste. This was the exception! It's terrific! I used 4 large apples, peeled, cored and sliced. Because I like LOTS of flavour I tossed the slices in the juice of a lemon as well as adding the lemon rind. I had a handful of ground almonds left over, so I added them to the breadcrumbs and toasted the lot. Just watch Step 7 of the instructions in this recipe. To make two strudels you only put 1/2 the breadcrumbs on the first lot of pastry (not the whole 3/4 cup as stated), and the rest on the second strudel - and remember to reserve a few tablespoons for the crunchy topping. The strudels were really easy to make and rolled up with no problems at all. The taste was everything I could have wished for. Just delicious! I reheated slices of the strudel in the microwave for a minute or so with no ill effects on the pastry. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Delicious stuff! My first time using phyllo pastry, and a resounding success! Used only 1/2 cup of sugar but otherwise followed the recipe. I also find that the thinner the apple slices the better the strudel! Thank you truebrit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This strudel turned out wonderfully! I kept to the recipe and found that with the 6 apples, I was able to roll 3 very thick strudels, each about 12 inches long. Superb! Just the right amount of sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Well! This was my first attempt at a strudel, and family fell overthemselves for more! Literally, there was nothing left! I did do a few things different though. 1) I peeled the apples, and I only used four which made about 4 1/2 to 5 cups, which seemed about right, and I sliced them thin. 2) I didn't have lemon zest, and didn't want to have to go shopping for one thing, so after cutting up the apples, I poured lemon juice over them, making sure they were coated and let them soak, while I got everything else ready, and then drained them as best I could before using them. And 3) I sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on top of the bread crumbs that were on the top of the studel. It added a nice look and a little extra huts-puh (my familys word for "something extra ;). Anyway! We loved it! Smelled wonderful! SO highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      Delicious and fun to make. Do the breadcrumbs first. I used one of the newer corn oil margarines and it worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Finally! A strudel recipe that works! The phyllo dough is easier than making it from scratch, and it comes pretty close to the texture or authentic strudel. I cut back on the amount of butter, and I would only use 1/4 cup of the bread crumbs per strudel (don't forget this makes 2!). I made this for our traditional German Christmas dinner and it was a hit. Serve with warm vanilla sauce and maybe a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Flat out fabulous. I'm freezing the second for later. This is the way an apple strudel should taste (sweet/tart - crispy/moist). Most important ingredient? The tart and thus "dry" apples. I used Granny Smiths. Following one reviewer, I divided the crumbs in half, then pulled out a spoonful from each half to sprinkle between layers and on the top of each strudel. Thanks for an easy way to get a complex and very authentic tasting dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I made this for a Thanksgiving dessert this year. It was delicious. I even liked it better the next day. The apple filling was the best I have ever had--the ground almonds, lemon zest, and raisins put it over the top. (In fact, I am thinking of using this same filling for turnovers, maybe even pie?) This is the only strudel recipe I will ever use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Excellent recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Make this recipe all the time. But as cider makers we do a blend of apples. Wonderful flavor. I also add 1/2 t of cardamon. I add 2 T. of vanilla. (Saw in an old german cookbook) I also, recently have saved on the calories by lightly spraying the sheets with butter flavored Pam like sprays. I always brush a light coating of butter on the filo leaves and lightly dust each with bread crumbs. I have even used substitutes for the sugar like stevia. Oh, yes and we prefer walnuts to almonds in ours.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Delicious breakfast this morning! I couldn't wait until later, so I had a piece. OK so kill me! :) It was so freakin good I had me another piece! The lemon really perked things up and like I said, it was freakin good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Delicious. The lemon zest makes all the difference. I had an issue with the directions for filling and rolling. My other recipe for strudel says to align the filling with the long side of the pastry. Also, 1/2 a box of filo (at least, the brand I buy) is 20 sheets--not 10, so make a little extra filling and come out with 4 strudel if you like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      very easy to make but I think a pinch of salt to the apples would help. Very good anyway.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      They way they do it here, by having a thin layer of strudel in between the filo, the butter enriches the flavor. I believe adding a pinch of salt and butter to the Mix in part 1, would help this recipe go a long way towards getting 5 stars from me. Also note this recipe is for two apple strudels ! Half the ingredients to just make one !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Super easy and super tasty! Great for a dessert or for breakfast! I re-heated one in the oven at 300 until it was warm and it came out perfect. Thank you for posting and for an easy strudel recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This strudel was so easy to make, you can't imagine how great it tasted. Didn't last long here. Definitely worth making again & again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Well written for ease of use. Cheers to the owner of this. Excellent for all Fall potlucks and even just for a special or regular dinner with hubby.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Wonderful recipe! A friend and I made this for our regular "cooking afternoons". She's home with a new baby and this recipe got full marks for being not only delicious but also easy to make while entertaining a child! If you haven't got a 3 month old to look after, this dish will be an absolute breeze. Our filo pastry for some reason was not as big as the standard boxes so we didn't need all the apples but we turned the leftovers into apple crumble.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      really delicious and really easy, in fact, the Strudel lasted only a few hours in my house! Well done and thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Strudel

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.4
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    51%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 53.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 491.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 19.1 g
    76%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, rind of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites